News Sources: International Newspapers
Print Newspapers
The vast majority of current Columbia Libraries newspaper subscriptions are digital. To find physical copies, including older print or microfilm issues of newspapers, see the Finding News Sources section of the guide.
Find a list of region and country-specific research guides, a selection of database news collections, and direct links to some popular international newspapers in this section.
International News
For more in-depth coverage of international news sources, use these subject-specific Research Guides and contact a subject specialist librarian in the relevant area:
- African Studies: News
- British & Irish History: Newspapers
- Chinese Studies: Newspapers
- German Studies: Newspapers & Magazines
- Japanese Studies: News
- Jewish Studies: Primary Sources
- Korean Studies: News
- Latin America, the Caribbean, Portugal, and Spain: News & Newspapers
- Middle East and Islamic Studies: Online Resources
- Slavic, Eurasian, and Eastern European Studies: Online Resources [Section II: Newspaper & Periodical Databases & Miscellanea]
- South Asia: Media & Journalism
- Tibetan Studies: News
Regional and Country-Specific News Collections
A small selection of regional and country-specific newspaper collections are listed below. See the Research Guides listed above and the News Collections section of the guide for many more databases covering news from around the world.
- Africa's historical newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from across Africa, covering 1800-1930s, in Afrikaans, Dutch, English, German, Portuguese, Xhosa, and other languages. - AllAfrica.com . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News aggregator with searchable archive for news on Africa and African issues, posting daily stories in English and French.
- China core newspapers full-text database . This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of more than 650 party newspapers, industry newspapers, and comprehensive newspapers from mainland China published since 2000.
- South Asian newspapers / from the World Newspaper Archive in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A small collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in English, Bengali, and Gujarati.
- Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection
This link opens in a new window
Part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), this open access collection includes digitized versions of newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
- Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876. This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 150 digitized newspapers, primarily in English, from 22 islands.
- Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of current and recent full-text Latin American newspapers and newswires in English, Portuguese, and Spanish. Key newspaper titles include El Universal (Mexico City), O Globo (Brazil), La Nación (Argentina), and El Mercurio (Chile).
- British Library newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sourced from the holdings of the British Library, this collection includes many local and regional papers from around the United Kingdom from 1731-1950.
- Europeana Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Europeana, an initiative of the European Union, provides access to Europe's digital cultural heritage, including millions of pages of digitized newspapers.
- RetroNews This link opens in a new windowRetroNews has more than 2,000 titles of the French press published from 1631 to 1952 plus editorial content highlighting press archives.
- Magiran = Bank-i Itlaat-i Nashriyat-i Kishvar, Majallat-i Iran, Matbuat-i Iran, Nashriyah va Ruznamahha This link opens in a new windowA digital library from Iran, including Persian-language newspapers and magazines.
- Mideastwire.com . This link opens in a new windowDaily news service established in 2005 providing English translations of news from all 22 Arab countries and the Arab media Diaspora.
Popular International Newspapers
Digital access to current and historical issues of a small selection of popular international newspapers is listed below. Online-only articles are not always part of the library’s databases; when available, Print and Online access is listed separately. To find other titles and for more information on searching for news, including physical formats, see the Finding New Sources section.