News Sources: TV & Radio News
TV & Radio News
Below are audiovisual and transcript resources for finding television and radio news. Please read the terms of use, rights, or licensing arrangements for each source for permitted uses of audio and video.
For additional video sources—including documentaries, films, and performing arts videos—see the Columbia Libraries’ Streaming Video research guide.
- 60 minutes This link opens in a new windowThousands of segments from the long-running CBS newsmagazine television program, with coverage from 1997-2023. Part of Alexander Street Press.
- Alexander Street Press streaming video portal This link opens in a new windowStreaming video for educational use, including content from Meet the Press, CNN, PBS, 60 Minutes, and much more.
- American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Digitized historic programs of public radio and television from across the U.S., from the Library of Congress and WGBH Educational Foundation.
- AP Archive
YouTube Channel from the Associated Press with both current and historical videos. Content dates back to 1895 and new footage is added daily.
- AP newsroom. This link opens in a new windowAP Newsroom allows users to search, preview, and download the latest Associated Press content, including audio clips.
- British Film Institute National Archive
A large collection of film and television programs (try the Collections Search), although streaming video is only available in the UK.
- British PathéA newsreel archive of 220,000 news films from 1896 to 1984, including videos from the Reuters historical collection.
- CNN video collection This link opens in a new windowA selection of CNN specials and feature programming on business, economics, technology, environmental studies, health, women’s studies, and human rights. Part of Alexander Street Press.
- C-SPAN Video Library
C-SPAN is a television network created in 1979 that airs the proceedings of the U.S. federal government, covering Capitol Hill, the White House, and national politics. The C-SPAN Video Library is a digital archive of all of the network's programming since 1987 along with select older programming.
- Digital Public Library of America
Digital collections, including video and audio, from U.S. archives, libraries, and other cultural institutions.
- Footage.net
A large aggregator of stock footage clips from more than 20 partners, all licensable for reuse. The Zap Request form for video clips has an option for "royalty free."
- Internet Archive
A nonprofit digital library with free access to millions of items, including video and audio. Use the source search options located under the search bar (metadata, text contents, TV news captions, radio transcripts, and archived web sites).
- Library of CongressThe main search of the world’s largest library has options for searching for “Audio Recordings” and “Films, Videos.” The LOC's Recorded Sound Reference Center has older audio (some digitized), including early commercial music now in the public domain, radio broadcasts, and interviews.
- Meet the press. This link opens in a new windowAll surviving episodes of Meet the Press, a weekly American television news/interview program broadcast on NBC that is network TV’s longest running program, from 1947-2013.
- NYPL Digital Collections
More than 880,000 photographs, maps, videos, and more from the New York Public Library's collections. After searching, under the Type filter, select “Moving image” or “Sound recording.”
- Open Vault from WGBH
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station GBH. Based in Boston, GBH broadcasts local news and is the source of one-third of PBS' prime-time lineup.
- The Paley Center for Media ArchiveThe Paley Archive is made up of over 160,000 television and radio programs and advertisements, covering more than a century of media history and spanning all genres. The online searchable database is a guide to the collections and includes credit information; the collection is only available at the Paley Center in Manhattan.
- PBS video collection. This link opens in a new windowHundreds of documentary films and series from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, and Odyssey. Part of Alexander Street Press.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) CollectionOver 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. The videos are only available for viewing in person at UCLA in Los Angeles; the online database is searchable and can be useful for locating programs.
- Television News Archive / Vanderbilt University. This link opens in a new windowAn index of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, and Fox News. Coverage from ABC, CBS, and NBC begins in 1968, from CNN in 1995, and from Fox News in 2004. The Columbia subscription provides streaming access to clips from NBC and CNN (streaming clips are labeled “Details / Video”), while the rest of the listings are available for digital loans for a fee. More information is available in the Vanderbilt Television News Archive Tutorials guide.
- WNYC Radio
From the Digital Collections of the New York City Municipal Archives, the WNYC Radio collection includes original programming and recordings made at City Hall events and press conferences. These sound recordings comprise lacquer phono-discs and audio tapes from 1937 to 1970.
- WNYC TVFrom the Digital Collections of the New York City Municipal Archives, the WNYC TV moving image collection includes mayoral press conferences, dignitaries visiting City Hall, and educational films about city government from 1949 to 1996.
- World newsreels online, 1929-1966. This link opens in a new windowMore than 500 hours of newsreel content, primarily focused on the World War II era, with newsreel series from the U.S., Japan, France, and the Netherlands.
News Transcripts
News transcripts are helpful research tools, including sometimes as a substitute for the video or audio if the original cannot be found. For written transcripts of various television and radio news sources (ABC, BBC, CBS, CNN, Fox, MSNBC, NBC, NPR, and more), see:
- Access world news / Newsbank Inc. This link opens in a new windowAfter entering a search, click “Transcript” under the “Source type” filter option on the left of the search results page.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowOn the Factiva homepage, locate the Source heading and click the triangle next to “All Sources”; under Select Source Category select By Type from the dropdown and then click “Transcripts: Broadcast.” Enter a search.
- Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new windowOn the Nexis Uni homepage, locate the All Content Types menu then click “News” and then click the box for “Transcripts.” Enter a search. Recommended starting point for news transcripts.
- ProQuest central This link opens in a new windowFrom the search page, scroll down to “Document type” and check the box for “Transcript.” Enter a search.
Broadcaster Digital Archives
To view or license video news content directly from a broadcaster, see:
- BBC ArchiveMost content is limited to streaming in the UK only.
- NBC News ArchivesFrom Getty Images.