Middle East and Islamic Studies: Online Resources

CLIO Catalog
WorldCat
Databases
Google Scholar
Ask A Librarian
Citing Sources

Novoverus Arabic OCR
(installed on PC#7 in DHC in Butler)
 

Selected Interdisciplinary/General Journals

Al-Abhath : Journal of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, American University of Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon
Arab Studies Journal
Arabic Sciences and Philosophy
Arabica
ArabLit Quarterly
Al-Bayān : journal of Qur'ān and Ḥadīth studies
British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies
Contemporary Arab affairs
Critique: Journal of Critical Studies of Iran and the Middle East
Domes: digest of Middle East studies
Hawwa : journal of women of the Middle East and the Islamic world
Holy Land studies
International Journal of Middle East Studies
Islamic law and society
Journal of Islamic studies
Journal of Middle East women’s studies : JMEWS
Journal of Palestine Studies
Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient
MERIP-Middle East Report
Middle East economic digest - MEED
Middle East Journal
Middle East Policy
Middle East Quarterly
Middle East Report
Middle Eastern Studies
Palestine-Israel journal of politics, economics, and culture
Studia Islamica
The journal of Islamic law & culture
The Muslim world
Washington report on Middle East affairs

Literature and Linguistics

Journal of Arabic Linguistics
Journal of Arabic Literature
Middle Eastern Literatures (Edebiyat)
 

Medieval Islamic Studies

Al-Masāq
Al-Qantara
Anaquel de estudios árabes
Arabian archaeology and epigraphy
Journal of Abbasid Studies
Journal of Islamic Manuscripts
Mamluk Studies Review
Studia graeco-arabica
 

Turkish and Ottoman Studies

European Journal of Turkish Studies 
International journal of Turkish studies
Journal of Turkish studies
The Turkish historical review
Turcica
Turkish studies
 

Iranian and Persian Studies
Iran  : journal of the British Institute of Persian Studies
Iranian Studies
Iranica antiqua
Journal of Persianate studies
Studia Iranica

Islamic Law
Arab law quarterly
Berkeley journal of Middle Eastern and Islamic law
Electronic journal of Islamic and Middle Eastern law
Journal of Islamic law
Journal of Islamic law and culture
Journal of Islamic law studies
Journal of Islamic state practices in international law
Islamic law and society
UCLA journal of Islamic and Near Eastern law
Yearbook of Islamic and Middle Eastern law

Islamic Art
Ars Orientalis
Journal of Islamic Manuscripts
Journal of Turkish Art Research (JTAR) / Türk Sanatlari Arastirmalari Dergisi (TSAD)
Muqarnas

Arabic literature of Africa online​
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought
Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an
Brockelmann in English : the history of the Arabic written tradition online
Brockelmann Online
Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology
Cambridge Companion to Muhammad
Cambridge Companion to the Qurʼān
The Cambridge History of Modern Arabic Literature
The Cambridge History of Egypt
The Cambridge History of Iran
The Cambridge History of Islam,
The Cambridge History of Turkey
Christian-Muslim Relations: a Bibliographical History
Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia
A Comprehensive Persian-English dictionary
Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Early Arabic printed books from the British Library
Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers 
Encyclopedia of Islam
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
Encyclopedia Iranica
Encyclopedia Judaica 
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic world
Encyclopedia of the Qur'ān
Historical Atlas of Islam
​International encyclopedia of the social sciences
Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon
LexiQamus - Ottoman dictionary
New Persian-English dictionary
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
Oxford Dictionaries Online Arabic
The Oxford handbook of Islamic theology​
 

Annotated legal documents on Islam in Europe online
Cumhuriyet archive 1924-2022
Egypt and the Rise of Nationalism: 1840–1927
Global Press Archive
Iran (Persia) : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1883-1959
Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944
The mapping of Israel : bibliography, finding aid and index
Philosophy in the Islamic World Online : 8th-10th Centuries
Sezgin online : a bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition
South Asia commons
Theology and society online : the 2nd and 3rd centuries of the Hijra

al-Ahram Digital Archive
Cambridge Archive Editions - collections primary sources for the Study of the Middle East
Dar al-Mandumah = al-Manẓūmah = المنظومة -  Search full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations and academic journals from 1921 to present day.
Kotobarabia - Arab Leaders, Historian and Philosophers
MagIran - Index to Persian language newspapers and periodicals

Recommended Online Databases

Index Islamicus 
Anthropology Plus
Art & Architecture source
ATLA Religion Database
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Central Asian Survey
Historical abstracts with full text
International Bibliography of Periodical Literature
JSTOR
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
MLA international bibliography
Project MUSE
Periodicals Archive Online
Worldwide political science abstracts

Find Primary Sources in : 

AccessUN
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963 : records of the U.S. State Department Central classified files
Afghanistan in 1919 : the Third Anglo-Afghan War
Cambridge Archive Editions
Chatham House Online Archive
CIA covert operations : from Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
Confidential Print : Middle East 
Digital National Security Archive
East India Company​
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Foreign Relations of the United States (US State Dept. Office of the Historian)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), 1861-1960 (U Wisconsin)
U.K. Parliamentary Papers
Middle East Online. Series 1: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970
Middle East Online. Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974
Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online
Muslim World Manuscripts (Columbia University. Rare Book and Manuscript Library)
Records of the Persian Gulf War
​United Nations Official Documents System (ODS)
World News Connection
Yearbook of the United Nations, 1946-2005

Find Images in : 

A Guide to Online Visual Sources in Middle East, North Africa and Islamic Studies
Visual Resources of the Middle East from Yale University
AP Images
ArchNet
ARTstor
Artnet.com
Oxford Art Online

Arabic Collections Online
Early Arabic printed books from the British Library
Kotobarabia modern Arab renaissance collection
Middle East and Islamic Studies E-Books Online, Collections (Brill)

Selected subjects from Taylor and Francis E-Book collection :

• Arab-Israeli conflict
• Arab Spring, 2010-
• Arabic Literature
• Hadith
• Islam
• Islamic Art
• Islamic Law
• Islamophobia
• Middle East History
• Palestine
• Persian Literature
• Turkish Literature
• Women in Islam
• Yemen