News Sources: News Collections
Search across hundreds or thousands of news titles at once through database news collections. Use these databases if you’re looking for any news coverage about a topic (not sure which outlets will have stories, or are agnostic about the sources) or are looking to compare coverage from various publications.
Find additional regional and country-specific news databases listed in the U.S. Newspapers and International Newspapers sections of this guide.
Major News Collections
These five databases are best bet starting places for news research:
- Access world news / Newsbank Inc. This link opens in a new windowMore than 7,000 publications, historical and current, from around the world, with international, national, regional, and local news. Formats include full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and more.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest news aggregators available, with more than 30,000 sources in more than 30 languages, including many major national and international publications, newswires, and business sources. See the Full Title List for all sources. Date coverage varies by title but the earliest coverage is from the late 1970s.
Links to individual publications are not available in Factiva; to search a specific title(s), select it from the “Source” menu on the homepage. - Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new windowMore than 8,000 news sources, including many major national and international publications and business sources, in more than 15 languages. See Nexis Uni’s Sources - News list for all titles. Date coverage varies by title but the earliest news coverage is from the late 1970s. Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.
- ProQuest news & newspapers. This link opens in a new windowMore than 2,000 of the world's news sources, both current and historical, such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian & Observer, The Globe and Mail, The Times of India, and many more. Note: ProQuest News & Newspapers includes all of the titles in other ProQuest news collections, including all titles in ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- ProQuest historical newspapers This link opens in a new windowA collection of about 80 historical newspapers in article-level PDF format, including major U.S. newspapers such as Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), The New York Times (1851-2020), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), and The Washington Post (1877-2008). Major international titles include ABC (1903-1992), The Guardian (1821-2003), Hindustan Times (1924-2010), The Irish Times (1859-2021), and Le Monde (1944-2000). Subcollections include Black, Chinese, and Communist historical newspapers.
Additional News Collections
These are other popular broad or wide-ranging news collections:
- AP newsroom. This link opens in a new windowLibrary of editorial text, images, and audio from the Associated Press.
- CRL catalog : Center for Research Libraries. This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog for the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) in Chicago. CRL collects primary and rarely-held research materials not targeted by other North American research institutions. Click "Newspapers" from the homepage to search newspaper holdings (filter by "Online Resources" to find only those available digitally).
- EastView universal databases This link opens in a new windowEast View’s platform includes the Global Press Archive, a large collection of digital and digitized newspapers in more than 30 languages, both stand-alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles. Includes digital archives of Al-Ahram (Egypt), El Caribe (Dominican Republic), Pravda (Soviet Union), and more, and databases such as the Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection and Southeast Asian Newspapers.
- EMIS This link opens in a new windowFull-text news, financial and economic information on emerging market countries in Latin America, Central & Eastern Europe, East, South and Southeast Asia, Southeast Europe, Central Asia and Caucasus, Africa and Middle East.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new windowThe FBIS was a U.S. government agency that translated the text of daily radio, television, newspapers and other public news media from non-English sources around the world. This collection includes full-text translations covering 1941-1996.
- Gale primary sources. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA collection of American and British newspapers from the 17th century to the present, both stand-alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles. The titles include the Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004), International Herald Tribune Historical Archive (1887-2013), and the Punch Historical Archive (1841-1992), while subcollections include American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society and Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection.
- Gallica (BnF)
The digital library of the Bibliothèque national de France, with free access to millions of documents in many languages. See the Newspapers (Presse Et Revues) section for news media specifically.
- Google News Archive
Scanned archives of thousands of newspapers, particularly local and regional titles, from the U.S. and Canada. Date coverage varies by title. Notably includes select issues of the Village Voice (1955-2004). Right-click and choose “Save image as” to download.
- Historical Jewish Press
An open access collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. See the Browse by Title page for a full list.
- Internet Archive Periodicals CollectionA collection of more than 12,000 digitized newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, many scanned from microfilm. The large range of periodicals includes many major titles, primarily from the 19th and early- to mid-20th century. Many are scanned from microfilm and are in black & white only.
- Newspapers.com. World collection. This link opens in a new windowMore than 20,000 digitized regional and local newspapers from 1690 to the present, with the majority of coverage from the 20th century. The publications are primarily from the United States, with additional titles from Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, Panama, and the United Kingdom. This collection does not include all newspapers available through the commercial Newspapers.com sites—this is a collection specifically made available to libraries.
Links to individual publications are not available in the Newspapers.com World Collection; to search a specific title(s), search it from the “Papers” menu on the homepage. - World news connection This link opens in a new windowA successor to the FBIS Daily Reports, the World News Connection published English translations of non-U.S. news media from around the world. The World News Connection shut down in 2013; this collection includes an archive from 1995-2013.
- World newspaper archive This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers, mostly from the 19th and early 20th centuries, from around the world. The collection is strongest in newspapers from Latin America, and comprises the subcollections African Newspapers, Latin American Newspapers (Series 1), Latin American Newspapers (Series 2), and South Asian Newspapers.