Korean Studies Research Guide Original: Find News
This guide provides valuable information to support students and faculty members at Columbia University as well as scholars conducting research on topics related to Korea.
News
The library provides access to a variety of Korean newspapers, available in print, microfilm formats, and databases. Newly arrived paper newspapers are displayed in the Korean periodicals reading room. Back issues are archived for six months, can be found on the newspaper shelves in the reading room. If you have trouble finding the newspapers, please don’t hesitate to contact the Korean Studies Librarian for assistance. Please be aware that our microfilm is now stored at ReCap for preservation purposes.
The library provides access to the following online newspaper databases that complement our physical newspaper collection, providing a comprehensive range of materials for research and study purposes.
News in English
- Factiva . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database offering access to global news and business information, including newspapers, magazines, journals, trade publications, newswires, company reports, and media programs. Factiva aggregates content from 200 countries and is available in 28 languages. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, full-text database, including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Notably, it includes access to prominent Korean newspapers such as Korea Herald and Korea Times. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- NK news.org . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An independent and private website focused on North Korea. It provides news, news aggregation, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and North Korea-related data in English. It also maintains up-to-date directories of organizations, companies, experts, and practitioners in this specialized field. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
News in Korean
- Big Kinds (빅카인즈)A free online news database, providing full-text articles from major Korean media sources, including national dailies, economic dailies, local dailies, TV news programs, and more. This extensive database covers articles from 1990 to the present and allows users to browse by dates and search by keywords, media name, and more.
- Choson ilbo akaibu chongi sinmun (PDF) sobisu. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database containing the complete archives of the Chosŏn daily newspaper from its inaugural issue in 1920 to the present. Users can easily search this database by keywords, journalist names, dates, and other criteria. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- e Film Museum (e 영상역사관)A digital government audiovisual archives maintained by the Korean Policy Broadcasting Institute, covering Taehan News, films, and voice recordings. The collection spans from the 1950s to the 1990s.
- KPM (조선언론정보기지)
- This link opens in a new window
Providing the full text of 5 newspapers published in North Korea, including the English edition of the Pyongyang Times. It also includes a collection of photos and videos. Users can search by keyword, date and browse content by subject areas or newspaper titles. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Kyŏngsŏng Ilbo (=Keijō nippō)) (경성일보)
- This link opens in a new window
Offering image reproductions in PDF format of the Kyŏngsŏng daily newspaper from its initial issue in 1907 through 1945. As the articles are in PDF format, this newspaper is not searchable. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Kŭnhyŏndae Sinmun Charyo (근현대 신문자료)An integrated full-text database featuring Korean historical newspapers published from 1905 to 1931. It provides browsable full images organized by specific dates.
- Kŭnhyŏndae Sinmun Teit’ŏbeisŭ (근현대신문 데이터베이스)An integrated database that contains newspapers published from the late Chosŏn Dynasty, the Japanese occupation era, and the post-liberation period. This resource is accessible for free through the Korean Studies Data Platform.
- Naver Nyusŭ Laibŭrŏri (네이버 뉴스 라이브러리)A comprehensive full-text newspaper database including Korean five major newspapers: Kyunghyang shinmun, Donga ilbo, Maeil business, Chosun ilbo, and Hankyoreh. It covers the period from 1920 through 1999 and allows users to browse content by dates and provides keyword and advanced searches. The database provides access to original images, text, and Han'gul versions of articles.
- Nodong Sinmun (로동신문)A PDF versions of a significant North Korean newspaper, Nodong sinmun, published from 1945 to 1999. This resource is only available at the Korean workstation in the library reading room. Additionally, the library maintains the print format of the newspaper from 2000 to the present.
- Taehan Min’guk Chŏngch’aek Pŭrip’ing (대한민국 정책브리핑)Providing various government press releases and information such as policy news and government tasks, among others. It serves as a valuable source for policy-related updates and information.
- Taehan Min’guk Sinmun Ak’aibŭ (대한민국 신문 아카이브)A digital newspaper archive that provides access to newspaper articles including "Tongnip sinmun (the Independent)," dating from 1880s through the 1960s. It contains significant historical resources in the fields of politics, economics, society, and culture in modern history and can be searched by newspaper title and article title.
- Tonga Ilbo Ak'aibŭ (동아일보 아카이브)
- This link opens in a new window
A complete full-text database of the Tonga (=Donga) Daily Newspaper Archives, starting from its inaugural issue in 1920 to the present. Users can conveniently search the database using keywords, journalist names, dates, and more. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Tongnip Kinyŏmgwan Han’guk Tongnip Undong Chŏngbo Sisŭt’em (독립기념관 한국독립운동정보시스템)A full-text database developed by Tongnip Kinyŏmgwan, including content from 15 newspapers such as Kungminbo and Tongnip sinmun, published between 1989 and 1945.