News Sources: Magazine Collections
Magazine Collections
Find and search across many titles at once through database magazine collections:
- Alt-PressWatch . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of independent and grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. Titles include Artforum, Bookforum, Commentary, Dissent, Labor Notes, Mother Jones, Rolling Stone, Sojourners, and The Texas Observer. - Alternative press index . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of magazine and other articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals, covering 1991 to the present. - Alternative press index archive . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A companion to the Alternative Press Index, the Archive is a bibliographic database of radical and left articles from 1969 through 1990. - Art magazine collection archive This link opens in a new windowA small collection of prominent art magazines, including Art in America (1913-2015), ARTnews (1902-2006), and Magazine Antiques (1922-2016).
- Entertainment industry magazine archive. This link opens in a new windowMore than two dozen music magazines from the mid-20th century to the early 21st century, covering folk, hip hop, punk, rock, and more. Titles include The Blaze, Broadside, Creem, Hot Wire, Option, Maximum Rocknroll, and Vibe.
- Google Magazines
This link opens in a new window
Scanned copies of hundreds of magazines, including The Advocate (1994-2006), Black World/Negro Digest (1961-1976), Los Angeles Magazine (1996-2006), New York Magazine (1975-2007), SPIN (1985-2012), Spy (1986-1998), and Weekly World News (1981-2007). Click the “About this magazine” or “Browse all issues” links under any title to view all available issues. Titles are keyword searchable; right-click a page and choose “Save image as” to download.
- Independent Voices
- This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- Internet Archive Periodicals Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 12,000 digitized newspapers, magazines, and trade journals, many scanned from microfilm. The large range of periodicals includes many major titles as well as health, science, fashion, and industry publications, including: Billboard (1894-2016), The Boston Phoenix (1973-2013), Columbia Journalism Review (1962-2016), Cosmopolitan (1886-2016), Holiday (1946-1977), Popular Mechanics (1902-2016), and Whole Earth Catalog (1968-1971).
- LGBT magazine archive. This link opens in a new windowArchival runs of dozens of publications covering LGBT+ interests, primarily from the US and UK, beginning in the 1950s. Titles include The Advocate, BLK, Gay News, Gay Times, The Pink Paper, and Transgender Tapestry.
- Men's magazine archive. This link opens in a new window
A small collection of men’s interest magazines, including Argosy and M: The Civilized Man.
- OpinionArchives . This link opens in a new windowSearchable archive of 15 prominent U.S. magazines with opinion/essay sections, including Commentary, Commonweal, Harper’s, The New Yorker, and The Weekly Standard. Note: For a number of magazines included in OpinionArchives, direct subscription access to the publisher website is also available—see the Magazines and Finding News Sources sections of this guide.
- USModernist Architecture Magazine Library
- This link opens in a new window
The world's largest open digital collection of major US architecture magazines with over 21,000 issues of titles including Architectural Forum (1892-1974), Architectural Record (1891-2018), Arts & Architecture (1945-1984), and Pencil Points/Progressive Architecture (P/A) (1920-1995).
- Women's magazine archive. This link opens in a new windowMore than a dozen leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Titles include Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Seventeen, and Town & Country.