News Sources: Local News Collections
News collections focused on New York City, many open access (
), are listed below.
- Access world news / Newsbank Inc. This link opens in a new windowThis large collection of current and historical news sources includes a number of New York publications, including: THE CITY, City & State, New York Daily News, New York Observer, New York Post, and the Village Voice.
- Brooklyn Newsstand
A free digitized collection of 44 Brooklyn-based newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, made possible through a partnership between Brooklyn Public Library and Newspapers.com.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A searchable and freely accessible digital collection of historic newspaper pages from nearly every state and territory in the United States, from 1756 through 1963. Chronicling America is produced through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- New York State Historic NewspapersCreated by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library, this collection includes select newspapers from every county in New York beginning in 1725. Use the Counties search to locate newspapers from New York City boroughs.
- ProQuest historical newspapers This link opens in a new window
This large collection of historical newspapers has a number of New York publications, including: New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), New York Daily News (1919-2009), The New York Times (1851-2020), New-York Tribune/New York Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Newsday (1940-1995), and The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012).
- ProQuest news & newspapers. This link opens in a new window
This large collection of current and historical news sources includes a number of New York publications, including: New York Amsterdam News, New York Daily News, New York Times, Newsday, Village Voice Note: ProQuest News & Newspapers includes all of the titles in other ProQuest news collections, including all titles in ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- WNYC Radio
From the Digital Collections of the New York City Municipal Archives, the WNYC Radio collection includes original programming and recordings made at City Hall events and press conferences. These sound recordings comprise lacquer phono-discs and audio tapes from 1937 to 1970.
- WNYC TVFrom the Digital Collections of the New York City Municipal Archives, the WNYC TV moving image collection includes mayoral press conferences, dignitaries visiting City Hall, and educational films about city government from 1949 to 1996.