Film and Television: Reviews
Image
Image Credit: Bette Davis -- https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en
FILM REVIEWS
Alternative Press Index
More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Index of journals (1969-1990) featuring alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals.
Emanuel Levy
Emanuel Levy is an American film critic and writer. This site hosts film and DVD reviews, profiles, interviews and Hollywood news.
Film and Television Literature Index
Annual index covering film and television periodicals with some full-text. International in scope with excellent coverage of American film, this index is useful for the scholar, student and general reader.
Humanities full-text
Indexes articles from over 500 arts and humanities periodicals. Also useful for finding book reviews, movie reviews, play reviews, and creative writing published in journals, magazines and literary reviews. Covers such academic disciplines as archaeology.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
International Index to the Performing Arts
Search and browse nearly half a million citations, abstracts, and selected full text records in a comprehensive range of journals covering the full spectrum of the performing arts. Subjects covered include drama, dance, film, television.
MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
Current and retrospective reviews from a wide variety of resources.
OpinionArchives
OpinionArchives provides electronic archives for journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, Dissent, NACLA, American spectator, National review, Harper's magazine, New York review, and the New Yorker. The OpinionArchives metasearch tool provides cross-journal searching for all titles in the archive.
ProQuest
Coverage of magazines, scholarly publications, and newspapers.
Reader's Guide
Coverage of popular interest periodicals.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Coverage of popular interest periodicals from 1890 through 1982.
Roger Ebert
Reviews
Screen Studies Collection
Provides In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Indexes articles related to television.
- Alternative press index . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change"--Search screen. - Alternative press index archive . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change.""Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects"--Information page. - Film & television literature index with full text . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. - Humanities full text (H.W. Wilson) . This link opens in a new windowHumanities full text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
- International bibliography of theatre & dance . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs. - OpinionArchives . This link opens in a new windowOpinionArchives provides electronic archives for journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, Dissent, NACLA, American spectator, National review, Harper's magazine, New York review, and the New Yorker. The OpinionArchives metasearch tool provides cross-journal searching for all titles in the archive.
- ProQuest . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc). - Readers' guide full text . This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of articles from popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes current events and news, fine art, fashion, education, business, sports, health and nutrition, consumer affairs, and more.Readers' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Indexes begin with 1983, abstracts in 1984, and full text in 1994.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Readers' guide retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. This Phase One coverage includes the years 1969 through 1982." - Screen Studies Collection. This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
