Film and Television: Industry

INDUSTRY

Variety Insight 
The Variety Insight portal provides a wide range of information and data for the entertainment industry. It includes production information for feature film and television programming, box office data, Variety Archives dating back to earliest issues. Variety Insight also includes Vscore which allows users to create custom lists of actors around gender, age, ethnicity, and other factors.

Note: This resource requires a two-step login for off-campus access. The first login requires your uni and password. Once in Variety Insight, a unique login and password is required. This login is provided by Variety Insight. Please contact nef4@columbia.edu for additional information. 

HISTORICAL SOURCES

Cinema pressbooks from the original studio collections
Includes pressbooks for United Artists, 1919-1949; Warner Brothers, 1922-1949; and Monogram Pictures, 1937-1946. Microfilm. 

Gallup looks at the movies: audience research reports, 1940-1950
Survey of public needs and wants for the movies. Microfilm. 

Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion PIcture Production Code, 1927 - 1968
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self—regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.

USC - Universal Pictures Company Collection 
Corporate files of Universal Pictures from 1929-1960s. Microfilm. 

Variety Archives
Variety entertainment magazine archives from 1906 to present. Variety has made 104 years of its publication digitally available allowing archive users to trace the history of the entertainment business and its biggest players. Weekly Variety, starting from 1906, and Daily Variety, starting from 1933, are both available up to the prior week. The database has a search function with date ranges in addition to terms and keywords which helps archive users find articles, advertisements and images.

 

OTHER RESOURCES

Kemps International Film and TV Production Services Directory
Essential resource for film and TV program makers the world over.

LA 411
Directory for industry resources in the Los Angeles area. See also New York 411.

Mayor's Office of Film, Theatre and Broadcasting
Essential site for New York City film production. Includes; Tech List (job listing), Street Locator, NYC Studios and Stages, NYC Production Directories, Writer's Guild New York Script Library and much more.

NAMAC: National Alliance for Media Arts and Culture
Listings for independent media, arts, organizations, media centers, film, video, radio, cable TV, funding, jobs, festivals, screenings and more.

New York 411
Directory for industry resources in the New York area. See also LA 411.

New York Production Guide
Searchable business/company directory for all aspects of film production in NYC.

Sundance Institute
Website for the Sundance Institute—dedicated to the support and development of emerging screenwriters and directors, and to the national and international exhibition of new, independent dramatic and documentary film.

BOX OFFICE

Box Office Guru
Compilation of current and archived weekend box office receipts. The archives include figures since 1997. In addition, the site hosts a film database with comprehensive box office data on motion pictures released between 1989 and the present.

Box Office Mojo
Started in 1999, works as an online movie publication and box office reporting service.

ProQuest
Coverage of magazines, scholarly publications, and newspapers.

Variety Insight 
Entertainment and production data and includes box office information dating back to the 1980s. 

Note: This resource requires a two-step login for off-campus access. The first login requires your uni and password. Once in Variety Insight, a unique login and password is required. This login is provided by Variety Insight. Please contact nef4@columbia.edu for additional information.