Film and Television: Articles
Image
Image Credit: Movie Theatre - https://pixabay.com/photos/cinema-movie-theater-movies-input-1241422/
ARTICLES
- Communication abstracts . This link opens in a new windowComprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources world-wide. Coverage includes communication literature and literature in other related disciplines, such as international literature in film studies, role of technology in human communications, risk communications, crisis communication and public opinions.
- Film & television literature index with full text . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. - Screen Studies Collection. This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
INTERDISCIPLINARY SOURCES
- EBSCOhost research databases. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various databases indexing journals and other scholarly publications, some with full text. - JSTOR. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis. - ProQuest . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
GLOBAL CINEMA
- American bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies : ABSEES. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications. - Bibliography of Asian studies . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS) contains more than 850,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since. - Free access to Pascal and Francis. This link opens in a new window"The site Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases, produced by the Inist-CNRS between 1972 and 2015 and accessible with a server subscription until 2016. Eventually, the Francis and Pascal databases will bring together close to 23 million bibliographic references: FRANCIS covers strongly 15 keys disciplines in human and social sciences (HSS) with 2,6 million bibliographic references since 1972; PASCAL, for its part, gathers 20 million bibliographic references in the Sciences Technology and Medicine (STM) field since 1973."--Publisher's website [http://pascal-francis.inist.fr/cms/about-2/?lang=en]
- Handbook of Latin American Studies : (HLAS Web). This link opens in a new windowThis Library of Congress database contains bibliographic records from volume 50 of the Handbook of Latin American Studies. The database includes citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. For Humanities, coverage includes: Art, History, Literature, Music, and Philosophy. For Social Sciences, coverage includes Archeology, Ethnology, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, International Relations, Political Economy, and Sociology. All citations that appear in an HLAS print volume contain scholarly annotations written by subject specialists.
- Index Islamicus . This link opens in a new windowThe Index Islamicus indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia. The database currently contains over 250,000 records covering more than 2,000 journals, and is searchable with 31 key indexes, including author, keyword, journal title, publication date, subject, title and record type.
FAN MAGAZINES AND POPULAR MAGAZINES
Media History Digital Library
Non-profit initiative to digitize collections of classic media periodicals. Includes a significant collection of fan magazines.
The Rolling Stone Archive
The backfile of Rolling Stone, one of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, from its launch in 1967 to the present.
- Media history digital library . This link opens in a new windowThe Media History Digital Library contains digital scans of media periodicals and fan magazines from 1904 to 1963.
GENERAL SOURCES
Alternative Press Index
More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Index of journals (1969-1990) featuring alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals.
Essay and General Literature Index
Provides access to nearly 65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections. Some 300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities.
Google Scholar
Search for articles, papers, conference proceedings.
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective
Search journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1907-1983.
Humanities full-text
Indexes articles from over 500 arts and humanities periodicals. Also useful for finding book reviews, movie reviews, play reviews, and creative writing published in journals, magazines and literary reviews. Covers such academic disciplines as archaeology.
Reader's Guide
Coverage of popular interest periodicals.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Coverage of popular interest periodicals from 1890 through 1982.
- Alternative press index . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change"--Search screen. - Alternative press index archive . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change.""Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects"--Information page. - Essay and general literature retrospective . This link opens in a new windowEssay and General Literature Retrospective indexes single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada and Great Britain, covering 8 decades of 20th century literature. Coverage dates: 1900-1984.
- Google scholar . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research."--About Google scholar. - Humanities & social sciences index retrospective . This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Humanities full text (H.W. Wilson) . This link opens in a new windowHumanities full text brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
- Readers' guide full text . This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of articles from popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes current events and news, fine art, fashion, education, business, sports, health and nutrition, consumer affairs, and more.Readers' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Indexes begin with 1983, abstracts in 1984, and full text in 1994.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Readers' guide retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. This Phase One coverage includes the years 1969 through 1982."
