Film and Television: Books, Journals, and DVDs

Begin your search for books, journals, newspapers, DVDs, screenplays, and other items held in the Columbia University Library collections by using the Catalog. 

You can browse books by subject by searching on the subject term "motion pictures" or other related keywords.   

You can search for individual journal and newspaper titles using the Catalog. To search for articles, see the section "Articles".

BFI Film Classics
The collection includes titles from the BFI Film Classics series which introduces landmark works of world cinema. 

BFI Film Studies 
The titles in this collection include works published by the BFI that focus on film history, theory, national cinemas, genres, filmmakers, and actors. 

Duke University Press
Duke University Press website, including searchable database of print and electronic books and serials in the humanities and social sciences, and full-text access to electronic collections including e-Duke Books Collection and e-Duke Journals collection.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Searchable collection of current electronic books from university and commercial publishers and electronic books in the public domain.

JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Browse within Performing Arts or search by keyword or title. 

Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Taylor & Francis eBooks
Contains eBook collections in wide range of subject areas. The collection is strong in arts. 

You can search for published screenplays by searching on individual titles or browse the collection by entering a "subject"  search using the subject heading "motion picture plays".

Film Scripts Online 
The Film Scripts Online Series contains more than 1,000 scripts in digital format. 

You can browse the collection of feature films by entering a "subject" search using the subject heading "feature films."  Feature films are currently held in DVD and Blu-ray formats and are accessible from Butler Circulation. 

See section for Streaming Video.