Research Guides: Reporting on New York City: Elections

2025 Helpful Links

Atlasizer Data Mapper Election Results Maps
Detailed election results from the June 2025 primary election—use the dropdown menu to find Comptroller, City Council, and other races

City & State: Here’s who’s running for New York City mayor in 2025

City & State: Endorsements in the 2025 NYC mayoral general election

The New York Times: New York City Mayoral Election 2025: Latest Polls

THE CITY: New Yorkers to Vote on Affordable Housing Fast Track and Election Calendar This Fall

Redistricting

The U.S. Constitution requires that states redraw their electoral district boundaries following each decennial Census for congressional and state districts. New York’s current congressional boundaries were signed into law on February 28, 2024, following a long and contentious process (see the State Summary from All About Redistricting), and will remain in effect until 2032. Boundaries for State Senate and State Assembly were approved in 2023 and are also in effect until 2032.

Redistricting & You: New York
Created by the Center for Urban Research (CUNY), this interactive map allows you to compare and analyze the currently enacted, previously enacted, and various proposed congressional, State Senate, and State Assembly district maps in New York.

Elections in New York

New York City local elections will take place on November 4, 2025. Offices up for election include the Mayor, all 51 City Council seats, City Comptroller, Public Advocate, and all 5 Borough Presidents. Primary elections were held on June 24, 2025 to choose the major party candidates (Democrat and Republican) for the November general election.

Also up for a vote in November are five ballot measures, most focused on housing affordability, determined by the NYC Charter Revision Commission.

General & Background Resources

Atlasizer Data Mapper
Detailed maps of election results for federal, state, local, and international elections, created by Competitive Advantage Research. Very useful for New York City voting results at the election district level.
Ballotpedia
A free digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. See Ballotpedia’s New York page for coverage of state and local politics and elections.
U.S. Vote Foundation
A nonpartisan non-profit organization, the U.S. Vote Foundation provides information on voting and elections. The State Voter Information tool has state-specific voting guidelines and information, including election dates, voter eligibility, voter ID requirements, and more.
USA.gov
The U.S. government’s official website. See in particular: The U.S. and Its Government and Voting and Elections for helpful overviews.
Vote Smart
A non-profit, non-partisan research organization that collects and distributes information on candidates for public office. Search by candidate name, issue, legislation, or other options.

Local: New York City

Board of Elections in the City of New York
The official website of the NYC Board of Elections. About NYC Elections includes a list of public offices that appear on an NYC ballot. Certified Election Results has detailed official results, from 1999 to present. Voter Enrollment Totals have the total number of voters for New York State (by county) and for each NYC Council District, for 2011-today.
New York City Campaign Finance Board
An independent nonpartisan city agency that provides public funding to candidates participating in the City's public financing program as well as monitors and makes public disclosure of candidates' campaign contributions and expenditures. The Campaign Finance Summary is a straightforward and regularly updated overview of finances for candidates for 2025 Citywide Elections.
Follow the Money from NYCCFB
Extensive, searchable database of candidate contributions and expenditures from 1989 to the present. A great resource and all data can be downloaded. Want to learn more about the campaign ad you just saw or the funders behind the ad?—do that in the Independent Expenditures Portal.
NYC Election Atlas
From the Center for Urban Research (CUNY), the Election Atlas has Maps analyzing elections and other data and analysis, such as Turnout Trends in NYC Democratic Primaries, 2001-2020.
NYC Judicial Elections – A Basic Guide
Many judges in New York City are elected, but judicial elections and the candidates often don't receive much attention. This brief guide from the NYC Bar Association explains the basics of judicial elections.
Ranked Choice Voting
New York City now uses a system called Ranked Choice Voting (RCV) for local offices, in which voters rank up to five candidates on their ballots in primary and special elections. Learn more about what this is and how it works.
Who Represents Me? NYC
Search by any New York City address to find your current city, state, and federal elected representatives. Created by the Center for Urban Research (CUNY) and the League of Women Voters of the City of New York.

State: New York State

FollowTheMoney.org
A resource from the nonprofit National Institute on Money in State Politics tracking state campaign finance data, current through the 2024 election year. (Note: Following a merger, state and local data from FollowTheMoney.org will appear on OpenSecrets starting in 2025.)
NCSL Election Resources
The National Conference of State Legislatures has a wealth of resources on state laws governing elections and voting. The NCSL Statewide Ballot Measures Database is a searchable database of all statewide ballot measures in the 50 states, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands from 1902 to today.
New York State Board of Elections
The official website of the NYS Board of Elections. See the 2024 Political Calendar for election deadlines, Voter Enrollment for enrollment statistics, and Who Filed for a database of candidates that have filed to be on the ballot in the upcoming election. Election Results is an extensive and searchable archive of New York election results, from 1994 to the present.
NYSBOE Public Reporting System
The New York State Board of Elections public system for tracking campaign finance. If looking for campaign donations and spending, start with the "Campaign Disclosure : Contributions" and "Campaign Disclosure : Expenditures" columns.
Searching the New York State Voter Records in One Step (2002-2024)
Created by a genealogist and computer programmer, Stephen J. Morse through FOIL requests (one of his suite of One-Step Webpages), this site allows anyone to look up records for registered voters in New York State by name, and returns address, birthdate, party registration, and recent elections voted in. Fill out at least a last name to search.
State Elections Web Archive
Web archive of candidates’ campaign websites for state legislature elections for 13 states, including New York, from 2018 to present (includes active races). Use the filters on the left to filter by state, election district, year, and other facets.

Federal

See the Columbia University Libraries’ Election Data research guide for a wealth of election data sources, particularly historical data for U.S. federal elections.

Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a nonpartisan agency housed in the Library of Congress, produces authoritative, objective, and plain language briefs and reports for members of Congress. The research and analysis are helpful for understanding complex policy issues, tracing legislation, and more. Search by keyword.

CQ Press library
A longstanding resource on current affairs, U.S. government, and politics. The Voting and Elections collection includes election results for presidential, gubernatorial, and congressional elections from 1789 to present as well as background materials on topics like campaign finance.

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Detailed national results of U.S. Presidential Elections since 1789. See the Elections Results page for state-level and county-level results. For data files (Excel and csv formats) from Dave Leip on Presidential, Congressional, Gubernatorial elections, Registration and Turnout data, and more, see the Election Data guide.
Federal Election Commission
The FEC is an independent agency of the U.S. government that oversees U.S. federal elections and enforces campaign finance laws. Campaign Finance Data includes campaign spending, FEC filings, and more for candidates for federal offices. The Introduction to Campaign Finance and Elections is a useful primer on researching public records.
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2024
More than 300 commercials from every U.S. presidential election since 1952, from The Museum of the Moving Image.
OpenSecrets
A nonprofit group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Search for federal fundraising data by candidate, donor, political party, and more. Also includes financing for ballot measures, political ads, and other activities.

ProQuest statistical abstract of the U.S.
A popular statistical reference tool published annually since 1878. The Elections section has statistics such as “Apportionment Of Membership In House Of Representatives By State: 1800 To 2020” and “Women Holding State Public Offices By Office And State: 2024.”

UF Election Lab
The Election Lab at the University of Florida provides statistics, reports, and other information on voting and elections in the U.S., including state Voter Turnout rates and a Data Archive.

Opinion Polls & Surveys

See the Columbia University Libraries’ Opinion Poll Data research guide for many additional sources!

The Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research: Politics Polling
Pairing social science research and journalism, AP-NORC conducts polling and provides data and analysis on major issues. See the Download Data page for Toplines and some datasets.
Pew Research Center: U.S. Elections & Voters
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan think tank conducting research and public opinion surveys on a variety of topics. The U.S. Elections & Voters contains reports, data, and articles on election issues.

IPoll databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
iPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. The searchable database has questions asked on national public opinion surveys—conducted by organizations such as Gallup and the Pew Research Center—from 1935 to present. From the Data Highlights menu, click “Elections and Presidents” for exit polls and more election resources.