Reporting on New York City: Finding Sources & Experts
Finding Sources & Experts
When looking for additional sources, consider which government agencies, advocacy organizations, community groups, not-for-profits, labor unions, activists, academics, companies, individuals, or others might have expertise or knowledge in this topic. Think carefully about and research your sources. Where does their expertise derive from (lived experience, work, education, etc.)? What organizations, universities, or groups are they associated with? Have they been quoted or written about previously?
Finding People
People search websites are one way to find contact information for individuals. People finder websites that are free or freemium include FamilyTreeNow, ZabaSearch, Fast People Search, Radaris, Nuwber, RocketReach, Whitepages, and That'sThem. In addition, creative Google searches such as "john smith" nyc whitepages can sometimes surface directory listings.
See databases and resources below for additional ways of finding people.
- Data Axle reference solutions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Directory listings for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses, health care, and residential listings. From the homepage, choose the "U.S. Standard White Pages" option to search the residential listings by name for home addresses and phone numbers. Choose the "U.S. Businesses" option to search by company name, or use the advanced search to locate businesses by geography or other characteristics. Information is compiled from telephone directories, postal service data, company SEC filings, direct phone calls, and more. - Leadership connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database with contact information for people, primarily those in leadership positions, in U.S. federal, state, and local government; news media; law and lobbying; companies; and nonprofits. Search by name or use the Advanced Search options to browse by job title, sector, or other filters. - Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Includes some professional contact information and biographies. From the homepage, select the "People" option from the All Content Types dropdown menu and search by name.
- NYC Green Book
This link opens in a new window
The city's official directory, with detailed listings for New York City agencies, county offices, and courts.
Finding Experts
There are a number of general online databases and tools for connecting journalists with experts, including ExpertFile, Expertise Finder, ProfNet, and SciLine.
- Columbia Experts for the Media
- This link opens in a new window
A directory of more than a hundred Columbia University faculty members across various subjects areas for journalists to contact. - Finding Underrepresented Sources
- This link opens in a new window
A Columbia Libraries research guide compiling directories of experts in a variety of areas that should be heard from more in the news.
Non-profits and Directories
- Associations unlimited . This link opens in a new windowDirectory of information for international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofits and other organizations in all fields.
- GuideStar
- This link opens in a new window
Financial directory of non-profit organizations, including education, healthcare, special interest groups, and religious institutions. Columbia does not have a premium account; register (for free) for additional access.
- Europa world plus . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including international organizations. Click the "International Organizations" heading to find listings.
- Open Think Tank Directory
- This link opens in a new window
A global directory for finding think tanks and related organizations.
- Think Tank Search
- This link opens in a new window
A Google custom search of more than 1,200 think tanks and research centers, from a Harvard Kennedy School librarian. The "Evaluating Think Tanks" section is valuable, too!