Reporting on New York City: Labor & Economy
NAICS
Businesses in the U.S. are categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) in order to collect statistical data about the economy. NAICS can be between 2 and 6 digits, becoming more specific the longer they are: 2 digits is the broad sector while 6 digits is an industry subsector. For instance, 56 = Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services, 5616 = Investigation and Security Services, and 561612 = Security Guards and Patrol Services.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
- FRED Economic Data
This link opens in a new window
Short for Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an easy-to-use database with hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from the Census, BLS, and more. - Current Population Survey (CPS)
- This link opens in a new window
A monthly survey of households conducted by the Census for the BLS, with comprehensive data on the labor force, employment, earnings, and more. - Economic News Releases
- This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated press releases and charts on various economic indicators. - Northeast Information Office
- This link opens in a new window
Current labor and employment data for the NYC metropolitan area. - Occupational Outlook Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
Details working conditions, earnings, and more for hundreds of occupations. - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- This link opens in a new window
Employment and wage estimates for approximately 800+ occupations. Check out the May 2023 State OEWS for New York.
NYS DOL Labor Data
- Labor Statistics for the New York City Region
- This link opens in a new window
A brief overview of the current month's employment numbers, downloadable (Excel) files of historical and current labor statistics, and reports on a few key areas for New York City. - Occupational Illnesses and InjuriesAn annual survey conducted with the BLS on nonfatal, work-related injuries and illnesses data for both the private and public employment sectors in the state
- Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages (QCEW)
- This link opens in a new window
A quarterly report of employment and wages reported by employers covered under New York State’s Unemployment Insurance Law. Use the interactive table to find, visualize, and download data for New York State, New York City, or individual counties.
Additional Local Resources
- New York by the Numbers: Monthly Economic and Fiscal Outlook
- This link opens in a new window
Monthly newsletter from the NYC Comptroller covering topics like jobs and inflation. Clear and easy-to-understand overview and charts on the national and local economy. - OASDI Beneficiaries by State and County
- This link opens in a new window
Beneficiaries of the Old Age, Survivors, Disability Insurance (OASDI) Program—better known as "Social Security"—by state and county. - WARN Database & Dashboard
- This link opens in a new window
The New York State Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) Act requires covered businesses to provide early warnings of closures and layoffs to all affected employees, their representatives, the Department of Labor and others. See the WARN Database for the notices and the WARN Dashboard for statistics on closures and layoffs.
Labor Unions
- Labor Action Tracker
- This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between Cornell University's ILR School and the University of Illinois' LER School, the Labor Action Tracker provides a comprehensive database of strike and labor protest activity across the United States. The interactive map shows strikes and protests from January 2021 to present. See the Reports section for annual summaries. - Union Membership
- This link opens in a new window
Annual release of national and state labor union membership data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. - Union Membership and Coverage Database
- This link opens in a new window
A database, updated annually, of private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the monthly household Current Population Survey (CPS) using BLS methods. Created by Professors Barry Hirsch, David Macpherson, and William Even.