History of the Early Printed Hebrew Book: Important Collections

United Kingdom

• Adams, Herbert M., Catalogue of Books printed on the continent of Europe, 1501-1600 in Cambridge Libraries, 2 volumes (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1967)
• Catalogue of Hebraica & Judaica in Library of the Corporation of the City of London, (London:  The Library committee, 1891)
• Cowley, Arthur Ernst, A Concise Catalogue of the Hebrew Printed Books in the Bodleian Library (Oxford:  The Clarendon Press, 1929, reprint 1971)
• Oates, John Claud Trewinard, “Hebraica,” pp. 231-240 in, Cambridge University Library: A History: From the Beginnings to the Copyright Act of Queen Anne (Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1986) [In 1647 John Selden convinced Parliament to appropriate ?£500 in order to purchase from George Thomason a major collection of Hebrew books from Italy formerly belonging to Rabbi Isaac Pragi and had presented it to the Cambridge University.]
• Rowland-Smith, Diana, Second supplementary catalogue of Hebrew printed books in the British Library, 1893-1960 (London: British Library, 1994)
• Schaeper, Silke, “Inventory of Hebrew Incunabula,” pp. 2715-2747 in volume 6, A Catalogue of Books Printed in the Fifteenth Century now in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, 6 volumes (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005), edd. Alan Coates, Kristian Jensen, Cristina Dondi, Bettina Wagner, and Helen Dixon
• Steinschneider, Moritz, Catalogus Librorum Hebraeorum in Bibliotheca Bodleiana (Berlin:  A.D. Friedlaender, 1852-60)
• Van Straalen, Samuel with indexes and an introduction by Brad Sabin Hill, Catalogue of Hebrew printers (ca. 1500-ca. 1900) : as represented in the holdings of the British Museum (now British Library) : reproduced from the unpublished manuscript held in the Hebrew Section, Oriental and India Office Collections, 3 volumes (London : British Library, 1995)
• Zedner, Joseph, Catalogue of the Hebrew Books in the Library of the British Museum (London:  The British Museum, 1867)

France

• Baurmeister, Ursula, Catalogue des Incunables:  Bibliothèque Nationale.  Tome II : H-Z et Hebraica (Paris : Bibliothe`que nationale, 1985)

Italy

• Bramati, Daniela et al., edd., Biblioteca della comunita` ebraica di Verona. Il fondo ebraico (Verona, Italy : Biblioteca Civica Di Verona, 1999)
• Busi, Giulio; preface by Giuliano Tamani, Edizioni ebraiche del XVI secolo nelle biblioteche dell'Emilia Romagna / (Bologna : Analisi, c1987)
• Busi, Giulio, Libri ebraici a Mantova, 4 volumes, Fiesole (Firenze) : Cadmo, 1996-2003
• Di Nola, Annalisa, Le cinquecentine ebraiche : catalogo.  Bbiblioteca Casanatense Roma (Milano : Aisthesis, c2001)
• Piattelli, Mordechai Angelo, “Edizioni ebraiche del XVI secolo nella Biblioteca Angelica di Roma,” Accademie e Biblioteche d’Italia 59.1 (1991) 24-49
• Tamani, Giuliano, Libri ebraici dei secoli XVI-XIX nella Biblioteca Universitaria di Padova catalogo (Padova : Biblioteca universitaria di Padova, Editoriale programma, 2005)
• Ugolini, Mariano, Inventario dei libri stampati palatino-vaticani: pte. 1. Libri ebraici, Libri latini, n. la-1650g (Roma: Tipografia Vaticana, 1889; repr. Nieuwkoop : B. de Graaf, 1966)

Germany and Northern Europe

• Dannhauer, Paul Gerhard, Die jiddischen Drucke der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek : alphabetischer Katalog mit einem Verfasserregister in hebräischer Schrift = The Yiddish printed books in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek : alphabetical catalogue with an index of names in Hebrew script. (München : K.G. Saur, 2004)
• Offenberg, Adri K., Emile G.L. Schrijver and F.J. Hoogewoud, edd., Bibliotheca Rosenthaliana : treasures of Jewish booklore : marking the 200th anniversary of the birth of Leeser Rosenthal, 1794-1994 (Amsterdam : Amsterdam University Press, 1996)
• Roest, Meijer Marcus, Catalog der Hebraica und Judaica aus der L. Rosenthal’schen Bibliothek, 2 volumes (Amsterdam: J. Clausen, 1875; repr. 1966)

Central Europe

• Hill, Brad Sabin, “The Bulgarian State Collection of Hebraica,” Judaica Librarianship 8 (1994) 139-41,144
• Sixtová, Olga, “Hebraica and Judaica at the Research Library in Olomouc,” Judaica Bohemiae 45 (2010) 71-85
• Sixtová, Olga, “Hebraika ve Vedecké knihovne v Olomouci,” [Hebraica in the Scientific Library in Olomouc] pp. 13-24 in, Problematika historických a vzácných knižních fondu Cech, Moravy a Slezska : sborník z 18. odborné konference Olomouc, 14. - 15. ríjna 2009 (Olomouc: Research Library in Olomouc et al ., 2010) ed. Krušinský, Rostislav

Russia and Eastern Europe

• Iakerson, Shimon M., Evreiskie inkunabuly.  Opisanie ekzempliarov, khraniashchikhsia v bibliotekakh Moskvy i Leningrada / Hebrew Incunabula.  Description of publications in libraries of Moscow and Leningrad (Leningrad:  Biblioteka Akademii nauk SSSR, 1988)
• Iakerson, Shimon M., Katalog inkunabulov na drevneevreiskom iazyke biblioteki Leningradskogo otdeleniia Instituta vostokovedeniia AN SSSR (Leningrad:  Biblioteka Akademii nauk SSSR, 1985)
• Wiener, Samuel, קהלת משה אריה ליב פרידלאנד : רשימת ... הספרים העברים ... הנמצאים באספת-פרידלאנד ... בס"ט פטרבורג / ערוכה ... תחת השגחת דניאל חוואלזאן = Qohelet Mosheh Aryeh Lieb Friedland. A list of the Hebrew books ... assembled by Friedland ... in St. Petersburg under the supervision of Daniel Khvolʹson, 2 volumes (St. Petersburg, 1893-1918; aleph to kaf.) A volume with the letter lamed was published by Joseph Bender Leningrad :  s.n., 1935; repr. 1968)
• Merzbacher, Abraham, אהל אברהם רשימת ספרים אשר אסף וקבץ אברהם מערצבעכער = Ohel Avraham.  List of books Abraham Merzbacher gathered and collected (Munich:  A. Huber, 1888)

Iberia

• Mucznik, Lúcia Liba, Judaica nas coleções da Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal : séculos XIII a XVIII (Lisboa : Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal, 2014)
• Valle Rodríguez, Carlos del, Catálogo de hebraica, impresos, y de judaica, manuscritos e impresos, de la Biblioteca Nacional de Madrid: Letras A-I (Madrid: Aben Ezra Ediciones, 2004)

Israel

• Schaeper, Silke, “'S’ridei Schocken' - 'Einbandfragmente' of Hebrew incunabula and postincunabula at the Schocken Institute for Jewish Research,” pp. I:627-635 in, Jewish Studies at the Turn of the Twentieth Century: Proceedings of the 6th EAJS Congress, Toledo, July 1998 (Leiden: Brill, 1999) edd. Judit Targarona Borrás and Angel Sáenz-Badillos

• Sixteenth-Century Hebrew Books at the Library of Congress.  A Finding Aid
• Berlin, Charles, Catalog of the Judaica collection of the Harvard College Library, 11 volumes (Cambridge: Harvard College Library, 2004)
• Iakerson, Shimon M., אהל חיים : קטלוג כתבי־היד העבריים בספריית משפחת מנשה רפאל ושרה ליהמן = Ohel Hayim.  A Catalog of Hebrew Manuscripts of the Manfred and Anne Lehmann Family, 3 volumes; 3. Sefarim nidpasim : ink?unabulim v?e-sifre ha-me?ah ha-shesh-?e'sreh = Printed Books.  Incunabula and Sixteenth Century Books (New York:  Manfred and Anne Lehmann Foundation, 1988)
• Iakerson, Shimon M., קטלוג האינקונבולים העבריים מאוסף ספריית בית המדרש לרבנים באמריקה = Catalogue of Hebrew incunabula from the collection of the Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 2 volumes (New York ; Jerusalem: The Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 2004-2005.)
• Kaplan, Mordecai Menahem, Panorama of Ancient Letters:  Four and a Half Centuries of Hebraica and Judaica.  Bibliographical notes and descriptions of 1,000 rare books and manuscripts (New York [Prepared and photo-offset by Academy Photo Offset] 1942)
• Marwick, Lawrence, “The Hebraic Collection in the Library of Congress,” Jewish Book Annual  36 (1978/79) 60-66

General Catalog

Benjacob, Isaac, אוצר הספרים = Ozar ha-sepharim : Thesaurus librorum hebraicorum tam impressorum quam manu scriptorum (Vilna, 1880; repr. New York:  Hotsa'at Yerushalayim, 1944)

Friedberg, Bernhard, בית עקד ספרים : לקסיקון ביבליוגרפי לידיעת הספרות העברית בכלל ושמות הספרים העברים וביהודית-אשכנזית (יידיש-דייטש) בפרט, וכמו-כן אלה בשפות איטלקית, טטרית, יונית, ספרדית, ערבית, פרסית = Bet Eked Sepharim bibliographical lexicon of the whole Hebrew and Jewish-German Literature, inclusive of the Arab, Greek, French-Provencal, Italian, Latin, Persian, Samaritan, Spanish-Portuguese and Tartarian works, printed in the years 1474-1950 with Hebrew letters, 4 volumes (Israel :  s.n., 1990)

Marx, Moses, History and annals of Hebrew printing [1501-1600], 13 reels Reel 5. Venice-Bomberg bibliography (plus earlier draft of Bomberg-Cavalli).
Cincinnati : Library, Hebrew Union College, 1989.  The collection has been digitized and is available at HUC: https://mss.huc.edu/search/moses+marx

Moria, M., בית עקד ספרים החדש = The new bibliographical lexicon, (K?iryat-Shemonah :  Mekhon Tsiyon, [1974-1976])

Slatkine, Menahem Mendel, אוצר הספרים. חלק שני  = Thesaurus of books, part two (Jerusalem : Kiryat Sefer, 1965)

Wachstein, Bernhard, Katalog der Salo Cohn'schen schenkungen (Wien, Gilhofer & Ranschburg, 1911-)

Wachstein, Bernhard, “Geographisches Register zu “Katalog der Salo Cohn'schen Schenkungen”,” Wien 1911, 1914 (Wien : Selbstverlag der Bibliothek der Israel. Kultusgemeinde, 1934.)