History of the Early Printed Hebrew Book: Early Hebrew Printing Houses by Region

This is a guide to the History of the Early Printed Hebrew Book. It was copied with permission from the guide at the University of Pennsylvania, created by Bruce E. Nielsen, and updated for Columbia University by Michelle Chesner

Early Hebrew Printing Houses by Region

The advent and persistence of Hebrew printing establishments in specific geographical areas and towns/cities has been extensively studied. The gazetteers by Adler, Freimann and Rosenfeld, placed at the beginning of this section of the research guide set the stage and demonstrate the spread of Hebrew printing from the Iberian peninsula to the far reaches of eastern Europe, throughout the Mediterranean basin, and all points between.

Ottoman Empire

  • Ben Naeh, Yaron,  “Hebrew Printing Houses in the Ottoman Empire,” pp. 73-96 and 141-67 in, Jewish Journalism and Printing Houses in the Ottoman Empire and Modern Turkey (Istanbul: The Isis Press, 2001) ed. Gad Nassi
  • [repr. pp. 225-275 in, The History of the Book in the Middle East (Aldershot, UK:  Ashgate Publishing Group, 2013) ed. Geoffrey Roper
  • Cohen, Dov, “Hebrew Printing in Izmir,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 64 (1992/3) 1403-1423
  • Freimann, Aron, “Die Soncinaten- Drucke in Salonichi und Constantinople (1526-1547),” Zeitschrift für Hebräische Bibliographie 9 (1905) 21-25
  • Hacker, Joseph, "Authors, Readers and Printers of Sixteenth-Century Hebrew Books in the Ottoman Empire, in Perspectives on the Hebraic Book: -The Myron M. Weinstein Memorial Lectures at the Library of Congress (Washington, 2012), 17-63
  • Hacker, Joseph, “Constantinople Prints in the 16th Century,” [Hebrew] Areshet 5 (1972) 457-93
  • Mehlman, Israel, “The Hebrew Press at Adrianople,” [Hebrew] Alei Sefer 6-7 (1979) 102-06
  • Mehlman, Israel, “Notes and Additions to A. Yaari’s Hebrew Printing in Constantinople,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 43 (1967/8) 571-81
  • Mehlman,Yisrael, “Hebrew Printing in Salonika," [Hebrew] pp. 73-89 in, גנוזות ספרים : מאמרים ביבליוגרפיים = Hidden books : bibliographic articles (Jerusalem: Jewish National and University Library Press, 1976)
  • Mehlman, Yisrael, “Chapters in the history of the Salonika printing press,” [Hebrew] Sefunot 13 (1976) 215-72
  • Meizlish, Isaac, “Addenda to the Hebrew Printing in Constantinope and Riva di Trento,” [Hebrew] Alei Sefer 1 (1975) 95-99
  • Meral, Yasin, “Istanbul'da Basilan Ilk Kitap: Leçons des Enfants (1488) ?,” [The first book printed in Istanbul: Leçons des Enfants (1488)] Mukaddime 5 (2014) 149-152
  • [Referring to an anonymous “מקרי דרדקי  Mikre Dardeki, lectio pravulorum” found in Johann Christoph Wolf, Bibliotheca Hebraea (Hamburg  :  Theodor Christop. Felginer, 1721) II:1367]
  • Meral, Yasin, “Osmanli Istanbulu’nda Yahudi Matbaasi ve Basilan Bazi Önemli Eserler,” [Printing Jews in Ottoman Istanbul and some Important Printed Works] pp. 455-469 in, Osmanli Istanbul II : Uluslararasi Osmanli Istanbulu Sempozyumu Bildirileri (Istanbul :  Istanbul 29 Mayis Üniversitesi Yayinlari ; Istanbul : Istanbul Büyükşehir Belediyesi, 2014) ed. Feridun Emecen
  • Meral, Yasin, “Edirne’de Ilk Yahudi Matbassi: 1554-1556,” [The First Hebrew Printing in Adrianopolis]
  • Meral, Yasin, “Osmanli Istanbul’unda Yahudi Matbaalari,” [Hebrew Printing in Ottoman Istanbul]
  • Nassi, Gad, ed., Jewish journalism and printing houses in the Ottoman Empire and modern Turkey (Istanbul : Isis Press, 2001)
  • Shapira, Dan D.Y., “Karaite printing in the Ottoman Empire,” pp. 1-12 in, Printing and publishing in the Middle East : papers from the second Symposium on the History of Printing and Publishing in the Languages and Countries of the Middle East  (Oxford : published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the University of Manchester, 2008) ed. Philip Sadgrove
  • Shapira, Dan D.Y., "Osmanli Imparatorlugu'nda Karay Matbaasi," [Karaites Printing in the Ottoman Empire] Toplumsal Tarih 156 (2006) 55-59
  • Simon, Rachel, "The Contribution of Hebrew Printing Houses and Printers in Istanbul to Ladino Culture and Scholarship," Judaica Librarianship 16/17 (2011) 125-135
  • Strahil Gicev, “Les débuts de l'imprimerie juive dans les Balkans (1494-commencement du XVIe siècle,” III :785-787 in, Actes du premier Congrès International des Etudes balkaniques et Sud-Est Européennes, Sofia 26 août – 1 septembre, 1966 (Sofia :  Editions de l'Acade´mie Bulgare des Sciences, 1967-)
  • Tamari, Ittai Joseph, “Jüdische Drucke aus Konstantinopel. Ein Druckort und seine Bedeutung,” pp. 118-127 in Das gedruckte Buch im vorderen Orient, (Dortmund : Verlag für Orientkunde, 2002) ed. Ulrich Marzolph
  • Yaari, Abraham, הדפוס העברי בארצות המזרח = Hebrew printing in the East (Jerusalem :  Hebrew University Press [1936-40])
  • Yaari, Avraham, “Hebrew printing at Izmir,” [Hebrew] Areshet 1 (1959) 97-222
  •  
  • Yaari, Abraham, הדפוס העברי בקושטא תולדות הדפוס העברי בקושטא מראשיתו עד פרוץ מלחמת העולם השניה ורשימת הספרים שנדפסו בה = Hebrew printing at Constantinople.  Its history and bibliography.  Supplement to Kiryat Sefer, Vol. XLII (Jerusalem : Hotsa'at sefarim 'al shem Y. L. Magnes, ha-Universit'ah ha-'Ivrit, 1967)

Northern Europe

Areas discussed here include modern day Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom (Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

  • Arnheim, Arthur, “Altonas Hebraiske Bogtrykkerier,” Fund og Forskning i Det Kongelige Biblioteks Samlinger 39 (2000) 67-84
  • Bekius, Rene´, “Polyglot Amsterdam printing presses 1620s-1720s: Armenian and Jewish printers compared,” pp. 23-64 in Printing and publishing in the Middle East : papers from the second Symposium on the History of Printing and Publishing in the Languages and Countries of the Middle East  (Oxford : published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the University of Manchester, 2008) ed.  Philip Sadgrove
  • Biberfeld, Eduard, Die hebräischen Druckereien zu Karlsruhe i.B und ihre Drucke : mit Benutzung der Akten des Grossh. Badischen General-Landes-Archivs (Karlsruhe : Bielefeld, 1898)
  • Boer, Harm den, "Amsterdam as 'Locus' of Iberian Printing in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries," pp. 87-110 in The Dutch Intersection.  The Jews and the Netherlands in Modern History (Leiden :  Brill, 2008) ed. Yosef Kaplan
  • Brann, Markus, “Geschichte und Annalen der Dyhernfurther Druckerei,” Monatsschrift für Geschichte und Wissenschaft des Judentums 40 (1896) 474-480, 515-526, 560-574
  • Brilling, Bernhard, “Zur Geschichte der hebräischen Buchdruckereien in Altona,” Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 13 (1980) 26-35
  • Brilling, Bernhard, “Jüdische Buchdruckerei in Auras (Niederschlesien),” pp. 97-100 in Festschrift für Aron Freimann zum 60. Geburtstage (Berlin : Die Gesellschaft, 1935) ) edd. Alexander Marx and Hermann Meyer
  • Brilling, Bernhard, “Jüdische Buchdruckerfamilien in Frankfurt a.d. Oder,” Archiv für Geschichte des Buchwesens 13 (1957) 1537-1548
  • Brilling, Bernhard, “Letters of a Jewish publisher in Frankfurt on the Oder, 1708-1709,” Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 8.1 (1966) 25-37
  • Brilling, Bernhard “Wann ist der erste hebräische Druck in Dyhernfurth erschienen?, ” Zeitschrift für die Geschichte der Juden in Deutschland (1937) 109-112
  • Brilling, Bernhard “Auras in Niederschlesien als Sitz einer jüdischen Druckerei,”  Zeitschrift für die Geschichte der Juden in Deutschland (1936) 24-28
  • Brilling, Bernhard, “Zur Geschichte der Hebräische Buchdruckerei in Franfurt a. d. Oder / Urkundliche Beiträge (I-IV),” Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 1 (1953-195) 84-94, 145-156; 2 (1955-1956) 79-96, 102-106
  • Brilling, Bernhard, “Gründung und Privilegien der hebräischen Buchdruckerei in Frankfurt a. 0,” Monatsschrift für Geschichte und Wissenschaft des Judentums 80.3 (1936) 262-275
  • Burnett, Stephen G., “German Jewish printing in the Reformation era (1530-1633),” pp. 503-527 in, Jews, Judaism, and the Reformation in sixteenth-century Germany (Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2006) edd. Dean Phillip Bell and Stephen G. Burnett
  • Fuks, Leo and Renate Fuks-Mansfeld, Hebrew Typography in the Northern Netherlands, 1585-1815: Historical Evaluation, and Descriptive Bibliography, 2 volumes (Leiden : Brill, 1984)
  • Glaser, Willie, The Hebrew Printers of Sulzbach in Upper Palatine
  • Gruss, Noé, “L’Imprimerie hébraique en France (XVIe-XIXe siècles)," Revue des études Juives 125 1966) 77-91
  • Heller, Marvin J., “Ambrosius Froben, Israel Zifroni, and Hebrew Printing in Freiburg-im-Breisgau,” Gutenberg-Jahrbuch (2005) 137-148
  • Heller, Marvin J., "A Tale of Two Cities:  Leipzig, Hambrug, and Don Isaac Abrabanel," Gutenberg Jahrbuch (2010) 153-161
  • Hillesum, Jeremias Meyer, Het eerste te Amsterdam gedrukte hebreeuwsche boek (Amsterdam, Levisson, 1910)
  • Künast, Hans-Jörg, “Jüdische Themen im Augsburger Buchdruck bis zur Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts,” pp. 285-297 in, Geschichte und Kultur der Juden in Schwaben II. Neuere Forschungen und Zeitzeugenberichte (Stuttgart : Thorbecke Verlag, 2000) ed. Peter Fassl
  • Künast, Hans-Jörg, “Hebräisch-jüdischer Buchdruck in Schwaben in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts,”, pp. 277-303 in, Landjudentum im deutschen Südwesten während der Frühen Neuzeit (Berlin :  Akademie Verlag, 1999) edd. Rolf Kiessling and Sabine Ullmann
  • Landsberger, Julian, “Zur Geschichte der jüdischen Buchdruckerei in Dyhernfurth und des jüdischen Buchhandels,” Monatsschrift für Geschichte und Wissenschaft des Judentums 39 (1895) 120-133, 187-192, 230-238
  • Offenberg, Adri K., “The Riddle of the Baskets of 1726.  A Glimpse of Jewish Book Production at Amsterdam in the first half of the Eighteenth Century,” pp. 57-80 in, Studies in Hebrew literature and Jewish culture : presented to Albert van der Heide on the occasion of his sixty-fifth birthday (Dordrecht : Springer, c2007) edd. Martin F.J. Baasten and Reinier Munk
  • Prijs, Joseph, Die Basler hebräischen Drucke, 1492-1866 : Im Auftrag der O¨ffentlichen Bibliothek der Universität Basel (Olten : Urs Graf-Verlag, 1964, c1965)
  • Rosenfeld, Moshe Nathan, Jewish printing in Karlsruhe : a concise bibliography of Hebrew and Yiddish publications, printed in Karlsruhe between 1755 and 1840, including a listing of Judaica until the year 1899 based on public & private collections and Genizah discoveries (London : M. N. Rosenfeld, 1997)
  • Rosenfeld, Moshe Nathan, "Jüdischer Buchdruck am Beispiel der Sulzbacher Druckerei," pp. 237 - 244 in, Geschichte und Kultur der Juden in Bayern (München ; New York : Saur, 1988) edd. Manfred Treml and Joseph Kirmeier
  • Rosenfeld, Moshe Nathan; with an appendix 'Archival Notes' by Ralf Rossmeissl, Jewish printing in Wilhermsdorf : a concise bibliography of Hebrew and Yiddish publications, printed in Wilhermsdorf between 1670 and 1739, showing aspects of Jewish life in Mittelfranken three centuries ago based on public & private collections and Genizah discoveries (London : M. N. Rosenfeld, 1995)
  • Rosenfeld, Moshe N., Der jüdische Buchdruck in Augsburg in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts (London, 1985)
  • Schmelzer, Menahem H., “Hebrew Printing and Publishing in Germany, 1650-1750.  On Jewish Book Culture and the Emergence of Modern Jewry,” Leo Baeck Institute Yearbook 33 (1988) 369-383
  • Schmelzer, Menahem H., “Daniel Ernst Jablonski <1660-1741>, the Grandson of Comenius, bishop of the Moravian church and Berlin's Hebrew printing press,” pp. 566-88 in: Studia Comeniana et Historica. Studien zu Comenius und zur Comeniusrezeption in Deutschland. Festschrift für Werner Korthaase zum 70. Geburtstag  (Uherský Brod : Muzeum J. A. Komenského, 2008) edd. Petr Zemek, Jirí Beneš and Beate Motel
  • Schram, Wilhelm, "Die erste hebräische Buchdruckeri in Mähren (1754)," pp. 83-104 in vol. 2, Vaterländische Denkwürdigkeiten (Brünn, verlag des verfassers, 1906-1907)
  • Schwarzfuchs, Lyse, L'Hebreu dans le livre a Geneve au XVIe siecle (Geneve : Droz, 2011)
  • Tamari, Ittai Joseph, “Über die jüdischen Druckereien Sulzbachs,” pp. 202-204 in Ehemalige Synagoge Sulzbach : Festschrift zur Ero¨ffnung am 31. Januar 2013 (Sulzbach-Rosenberg : Stadt Sulzbach-Rosenberg, 2013) edd. Johannes Hartmann and Elisabeth Vogl
  • Tamari, Ittai Joseph, “Sulzbach - eine der bedeutendsten hebräischen Druckereien Europas,” pp. 53-68 in Die Juden in der Oberpfalz (Mu¨nchen : Oldenbourg, 2009) edd. Michael Brenner and Renate Höpfinger
  • Targiel, Ralf-Rüdiger, “Gedruckt mit den Typen von Amsterdam - hebräischer Buchdruck in Frankfurt an der Oder,” pp. 450-481 in, Jüdisches Brandenburg - Geschichte und Gegenwart (Berlin :  VBB, Verlag fu¨r Berlin-Brandenburg, 2008) ed. Irene Diekmann
  • Weinberg, Magnus, “Die hebräischen Druckereien in Sulzbach,” Jahrbuch der jüdisch-literarischen Gesellschaft 1 (1903) 19-202, 15 (1923) 125-55,  21 (1930) 319-70
  • Zafren, Herbert C., “Amsterdam:  Center of Hebrew Printing in the Seventeenth Century,” Jewish Book Annual 35 (1977/8) 47-55
  • Zafren, Herbert C., “Hebrew Printing by and for Frankfurt Jews – to 1800,” pp. 231-69 in, Jüdische Kultur in Frankfurt am Main von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart (Wiesbaden : Otto Harrassowitz, 1997) ed. Karl Erich Grözinger

Eastern Europe

  • Balaban, Majer,  “Zur Geschichte der hebräischen Druckereien in Polen,” Soncino-Blätter 3 (1929/1930) 1-50
  • Cohen, Y.Y., “Hebrew Printing in Czernowitz,” [Hebrew] Areshet 3 (1961) 277-375; 4 (1966) 517.
  • Friedberg, Bernhard,  תולדות הדפוס העברי בפולניה = History of Hebrew typography in Poland Tel-Aviv, 1950
  • Heller, Marvin J., "On the Identity of the First Printers in Slavuta," Gutenberg Jahrbuch (2011) 269-281
  • Hill, Brad Sabin, Hebrew Printing in Ukraine.  <Includes> “A gazetteer of towns of Hebrew printing and publishing in Ukraine.”  [Catalogue of an exhibition held at the George Washington University, Gelman Library from November 2008 - May 2009] (Washington D.C.:  George Washington University, 2008)
  • Marx, Moses, "A Bibliography of Hebrew Printing in Dyhernfurth, 1689-1718," pp. 217-236 in, Studies in Jewish bibliography, history and literature in honor of I. Edward Kiev (New York : Ktav Publishing House, 1971) ed. Charles Berlin
  • Migoń, Krzysztof, translated by Katarzyna Hussar, “The Jewish book in Silesia. A research reconnaissance,” original published in Polish, Śląski Kwartalnik Historyczny Sobótka, 1989, vol. 44, no. 1, p. 89-101
  • Pilarczyk, Krzysztof, “Hebrew Printing Houses in Poland against the background of their history in the World:  an Outline with Refence Books on the Subject,” Studia Judaica 7.2 (2004) 201-221
  • Pilarczyk, Krzysztof, Drukowana książka hebrajska a religia : vademecum bibliologiczne (Krako´w : Wydawnictwo Antykwa, 2012)
  • Pilarczyk, Krzysztof, “Hebrajska ksiazka drukowana w Europie srodkowowschodniej w XVI-XVIII wieku. Topografia, wielkosc produkcji i funkcja,” [The Hebrew book printed in Central - Eastern Europe in the sixteenth to the eighteenth century. Topography, production size and function], Studia Judaica 10 (2007) 1-23
  • Pilarczyk, Krzysztof, Leksykon drukarzy ksiag hebrajskich w Polsce: z bibliografia polono-judaików w jezykach zydowskich (XVI-XVIII wiek) [Lexicon of printers of Hebrew books in Poland : bibliography polono - Judaica in the Jewish languages ( XVI – XVIII centuries)] (Krako´w : Wydawn. Antykwa, 2004)
  • Schwab, Moïse, “Une Editione Rarissime du Talmud,” Revue des études juives 63 (1912) 300-303
  • Teter, Magda and Edward Fram, “Apostasy, Fraud, and the Beginnings of Hebrew Printing in Cracow,” AJS Review 30 (2006) 31-66
  • Wojakowski, Józef, “Jewish Printing in Old Poland (According to Polish Sources),” Revue Européenne des Études Hébraïques 4 (2000) 97-105

Multiple Locations

  • Benayahu, Meir, “The Shift of the Centre of Hebrew Printing from Venice to Amsterdam and the Competition with the Jewish Printing in Constantinople,” [Hebrew] pp. 41-68 in volume 1, מחקרים על תולדות יהדות הולנד = Studies on the History of Dutch Jewry, 5 volumes (1975-1988) ed. Jozeph Michman
  • Freimann, Aron, "Elieser ben Isak und seine Drucke in Lublin, Konstantinopel und Safed," Zeitschrift für Hebräische Bibliographie 11 (1907) 152-157

Italy

  • Amram, David Werner, The makers of Hebrew books in Italy : being chapters in the history of the Hebrew printing press (Philadelphia : J. H. Greenstone, 1909)
  • Andreatta, Michela, The Printing of Devotion in Seventeenth-Century Italy: Prayer Books Printed for the Shomrim la-Boker Confraternities,” pp. 156-170 in The Hebrew Book in Early Modern Italy (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011) eds. Joseph Hacker and Adam Shear
  • Benayahu, Meir, הדפוס העברי בקרימונה : תולדות בית הדפוס של וינצינצו קונטי : הזיקוק ושריפת הספרים = Hebrew printing at Cremona; its history and bibliography (Jerusalem : Mekhon Ben-Tsevi, 1971)
  • Benayahu, Meir, “On the Printing and Distributing of Books in Italy,” [Hebrew] Sinai 34 (1934) 156-202
  • Benayahu, Meir, “Turkish Imprints Actually printed in Italy,” [Hebrew] Sinai 72 (1973) 163-184
  • Bianchi, Isidoro, Sulle tipografie Ebraiche di Cremona nel secolo XVI : col ragguaglio di un salterio Ebraico stampato in detta citta' nel secolo medisimo (Cremona : Tipografia Feraboli, 1807)
  • Bloch, Joshua, Hebrew printing in Riva di Trento (New York : New York Public Library, 1933); [repr. pp. 89-110 in, Hebrew Printing and Bibliography (New York, 1976)
  • Bloch, Joshua, “A Hitherto Unrecorded Hebrew Publication from Riva di Trento,” Jewish Quarterly Review n.s. 26 (1935) 129-132
  • Bloch, Joshua, "Venetian Printers of Hebrew Books," in Hebrew Printing and Bibliography, ed. Charles Berlin (New York, NYPL, 1976), 65-88
  • Bregoli, Francesca, “Hebrew Printing and Communication Networks between Livorno and North Africa, 1740-1789,” Report of the Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies, s.n.  (2007-2008) 51-59
  • Bregoli, Francesca, “Privilegi di stampa e acculturazione: editoria ebraica nella Livorno del '700,” Jahrbuch des Simon-Dubnow-Instituts VI (2007) 67-78
  • Calimani, Riccardo, "Gli editori di libri ebraici a Venezia," pp. 55-62 in, Armeni, ebrei, greci stampatori a Venezia (Venice:  Casa editrice armena, 1989) ed. Scilla Abbiati
  • Carmoly, Eliakim, Annalen der hebräischen typographie von Riva di Trento (1558-1562) Frankfurt am Main : G. Hess, 1868
  • Fortis, Umberto, Editoria in ebraico a Venezia: catalogo della mostra (Venice:  Arsenale, 1991)
  • Frattarolo, Renzo, Tipografi e librai, ebrei e non, nel Napoletano, alla fine del XV secolo (Firenze, Sansoni, 1956)
  • Freimann, Aron, "Die hebraischen Drucke in Rom im 16. Jahrhundert," pp. 53-67 in, Festschrift dr. Jakob Freimann zum 70. geburtstag (Berlin :   Viktoria gmbh, 1937)
  • Fumagalli, Pier Francesco, “Stampa, sequestri e commercio di libri ebraici nel Ducato di Milano,” Annali della Biblioteca Statale e Libreria Civica di Cremona 34 (1983) 67-80
  • Fumagalli, Pier Francesco, Tipografia ebraica a Cremona 1556-1576: mostra bibliografica, Roma: Instituto Poligrafico e Zecca dello Stato, 1985
  • Heller, Marvin J., “A little-known chapter in Hebrew printing:  Francesco dalle Donne and the beginning of Hebrew printing in Verona in the sixteenth century,” The papers of the Bibliographical Society of America 94 (2000) 333-346
  • Heller, Marvin J., “‘There Were in Padua Almost as Many Hebrew Printers as Hebrew Books’ : the Sixteenth Century Hebrew Press in Padua,” Gutenberg-Jahrbuch 78 (2003) 86-92.
  • Heller, Marvin J., “Jedidiah ben Isaac Gabbai and the first decade of Hebrew printing in Livorno,” 165-77 in Studies in the making of the early Hebrew Book (Leiden; Boston:  Brill, 2008) [repr. of  Los Muestros  33 (1998) 40–41, and 34 (1999) 28–30
  • Heller, Marvin J., “Abraham ben Raphael Meldola and the resumption of printing in Livorno,” Studies in the Making of the Early Hebrew Book [repr. of International Sephardic Journal 2 (2005) 83-94]
  • Ioly Zorattini, Pier Cesare, “Iedidia Salomon Gabbai, It’s Printing Office to Livorno and other Jewish Printing Offices in Italy of the 1600s,” La Bibliofilia 111 (2009) 29-48
  • Marx, Alexander, "Ein verschollener Pergamentdruck Riva di Trento 1560 (Aus den Responsen des R. Moses Provenzale)," pp. 81-86 in Festschrift für Aron Freimann zum 60. Geburtstage (Berlin : Die Gesellschaft, 1935) eds. Alexander Marx and Herrmann Meyer
  • Offenberg, Adri K., “The Chronology of Hebrew Printing at Mantua in the Fifteenth Century: A Re-examination,” The Library, sixth series, 16.4 (1994) 298-315
  • Pavoncello, Nello, "Le tipografie ebraiche minori a Venezia" (Rome :  s.n., 1990) Note: Available at Yeshiva University and University of Maryland; request via ILL
  • Pavoncello, Nello “La tipografia ebraica in Piemonte,” La Rassegna mensile di Israel 36 (1970) 96-100
  • Pavoncello, Nello, “La tipografia ebraica nelle Marche,” La Rassegna Mensile di Israel 46 (1980) 49-60
  • Pavoncello, Nello, La tipografia Ebraica in Firenze (Rome :  s.n., 1992) Note: Available at Harvard and Yeshiva Universities.
  • Pieteli, Angelo, “An Unknown Publication from Ferrara,” [Hebrew] Alei Sefer 18 (1996) 147-152
  • Roth, Cecil, “The Marrano Press at Ferrara, 1552-1555,” The Modern Language Review 38 (1943) 307-317
  • Roth, Cecil, “A Jewish Printer in Naples, 1477,” Bulletin of the John Rylands Library 39 (1956) 188-199
  • Rypins, Stanley, “The Ferrara Bible at Press,” The Library 5. ser. 10 (1955) 244-269
  • Shear, Adam, “Judah Moscato’s Sources and Hebrew Printing in the Sixteenth Century: A Preliminary Survey,” pp. 121-42 in, Rabbi Judah Moscato and the Jewish Intellectual World of Mantua in the 16th-17th Centuries (Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2012) eds. Giuseppe Veltri and Gianfranco Miletto   
  • Sonne, Isaiah “R. Moshe b. Shushan and the Sabbionetta Printers” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 8 (1931) 513-519
  • Sonnino, Guido “Storia della tipografia ebraica in Livorno con introduzione e catalogo di opere e di autori,” Il Vessillo Israelitico 59 (1911) 424-430, 506-11, 584- 88, 662-666; 60 (1912) 4-9, 138-40, 211-14, 282-83, 314-16, 458-61, 527-30, 562-64
  • Tamani, Giuliano, “Edizioni ebraiche veneziane dei secoli xvi – xvii,” pp. 29-36 in, La civiltà del libro e la stampa a Venezia.  Testi sacri ebraici, cristiani, islamici dal Quattrocento al Settecento. Catalogo della mostra (Padua:  Il Poligrafo, 2000) ed. Simonetta Pelusi
  • Tamani, Giuliano and Angelo Vivian, eds., Manoscritti, frammenti e libri ebraici nell'Italia dei secoli XV-XVI : Atti del VII congresso internazionale dell'AISG, S. Miniato, 7-8-9 novembre 1988 (Rome :  Carucci, 1991)
  • Toaff, Ariel, “Stampe rare della Biblioteca della Comunità Israelitica di Roma scampate al saccheggio nazista,” La Bibliofilia 80 (1978) 139-149
  • Vivian, Angelo, "Frammenti, manoscritti e stampe ebraiche di Pisa," pp. 215-226 in, Manoscritti, frammenti e libri ebraici nell'Italia dei secoli XV-XVI : Atti del VII congresso internazionale dell'AISG, S. Miniato, 7-8-9 novembre 1988 (Rome :  Carucci, 1991) edd. Giuliano Tamani and Angelo Vivian
  • Vogelman-Goldfield, Naomi, “Some  Reflections on the Hebrew Printing in Italy During the Sixteenth Century,” pp. 99-113 in, Manoscritti, frammenti e libri ebraici nell'Italia dei secoli XV-XVI : atti del VII congresso internazionale dell'AISG S. Miniato, 7-8-9 novembre 1988 (Rome:  Carucci, 1991) edd. Giuliano Tamani and Angelo Vivian
  • Yudlov, Isaac, “Hebrew Printing in 16th Century Mantova,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 49 (1973/4) 236-41 and 636-42
  • Zunz, Leopold, “Drucker und Drucke von Mantua (A. 1476 bis 1662),” pp. 249-261 in, Zur Geschichte und Literatur (Berlin : Veit und Comp., 1845)

Central Europe

  • Bendowska, Magdalena and Jan Doktór, “Der jüdische Buchdruck in Schlesien bis 1742,” pp. 305-326 in Jüdisches Leben zwischen Ost und West. Neue Beiträge zur jüdischen Geschichte in Schlesien (Göttingen : Wallstein 2014) edd. Andreas Brämer, Arno Herzig and Krzysztof Ruchniewicz
  • Braunová, Andrea and Daniel Polakovic, "Additions to the Catalogue of Prague Hebrew Prints from the Collection of the Jewish Museum in Prague," Judaica Bohemiae 33 (1998) 109-131
  • Flodrová, Milena and Bedřich Nosek, “Auswahlkatalog hebräischer Drucke Brünner Provenienz,” Judaica Bohemiae 11.2 (1975) 83-104
  • Freimann, Aron, "Die hebräischen Druckereien in Prag : von 1733 - 1828," Soncino-Blätter 3/2 (1929/1930)  113-143
  • Greenblatt, Rachel L., “Hebrew Printing in Bohemia and Moravia,” Judaica Bohemiae 48 (2013) 127-131
  • Jelínková, Andrea, "Hebrew printing in Moravia at the beginning of the 17th century," pp. 123-151 in Hebrew Printing in Bohemia and Moravia. Academia  (Prague:  Jewish Museum in Prague, 2012)
  • Lieben, Salomon Hugo, “Der hebräische Buchdruck in Prag im 16. Jahrhundert,”  pp. 88-126 in Die Juden in Prag : Bilder aus ihrer tausendja¨hrigen Geschichte : Festgabe der Loge Praga des Ordens B'nai B'rith zum Gedenktage ihres 25ja¨hrigen Bestandes  (Prague : Im Kommissionsverlag bei  “Die Bu¨cherstube,” 1927) ed. Samuel Steinhertz
  • Lieben, Salomon Hugo, “Beiträge zur Geschichte der Zensur hebräischer Drucke in Prag,” Soncino-Blätter 3/1 (1929/1930)  51–55
  • Nosek, Bedřich, “Les imprimés hébraïques les plus anciens de Prague provenant des fonds du Musée Juif d'Etat,” Judaica Bohemiae 16.1 (1980) 42-48
  • Nosek, Bedrich, “Katalog mit einer Auswahl hebräischer Drucke Prager Provenienz. I. Teil: Drucke der Gersoniden im 16. Und 17. Jahrhundert,” Judaica Bohemiae 10.1 (1977) 13-41
  • Nosek, Bedrich, “Katalog mit einer Auswahl hebräischer Drucke Prager Provenienz. II. Teil: Die Buchdruckerei der Familie Bak.  Die Buchdruckerei des Abraham ben Schimon Heida, genannt Lemberger,” Judaica Bohemiae 11.1 (1975) 29-53
  • Nosek, Bedrich, “Katalog mit einer Auswahl hebräischer Drucke Prager aus dem 18. Jahrhundert in den Sammlungen des Staatlichen jüdischen Museums in Prag.  III. Teil: 1700-1799 (Scluss:  Verzeichnis der Drucke,” Judaica Bohemiae 13.2 (1977) 96-120
  • Nosek, Bedrich, “Katalog mit einer Auswahl hebräischer Drucke Prager aus dem 18. Jahrhundert in den Sammlungen des Staatlichen jüdischen Museums in Prag.  III. Teil: 1700-1799 (Scluss:  Verzeichnis der Drucke,” Judaica Bohemiae 14.1 (1978) 35-58
  • Pilarczyk, Krzysztof, “Hebrajska ksiazka drukowana w Europie srodkowowschodniej w XVI-XVIII wieku. Topografia, wielkosc produkcji i funkcja,” [The Hebrew book printed in Central - Eastern Europe in the sixteenth to the eighteenth century. Topography, production size and function] Studia Judaica 10 (2007) 1-23
  • Sidorko, Clemens P., “Zürich und der hebräische Buchdruck in der Frühen Neuzeit – eine verpasste Gelegenheit," Judaica 69 (2013) 109-137 
  • Sixtová, Olga, ed.; tr. by Pavel Sládek et al., Hebrejský knihtisk v Čechách a na Moravě = Hebrew printing in Bohemia and Moravia (Prague : Academia : Jewish Museum in Prague, 2012.)
  • Sixtová, Olga, “Jewish Printers and Printing Presses in Prague,” pp. 33-73 in Hebrew Printing in Bohemia and Moravia (Prague: Academia – The Jewish Museum in Prague, 2012) ed. Olga Sixtová; tr. by Pavel Sládek et al.
  • Sixtová, Olga, ““You won’t need to see a rabbi.”  500 Years of Hebrew Printing in Bohemia and Moravia,” Judaica Bohemiae 48 (2013) 99-108
  • Sládek, Pavel, "The printed book in 15th- and 16th-century Jewish culture," pp. 123-151 in Hebrew Printing in Bohemia and Moravia. (Prague:  Jewish Museum in Prague, 2012)
  • Veselá, Lenka, "Hebrew typography at non-Jewish Bohemian printing houses during the 16th and 17th centuries," pp. 123-151 in Hebrew Printing in Bohemia and Moravia. (Prague:  Jewish Museum in Prague, 2012)
  • Vodsedálková, Martina, “Drei hebräische Drucke gersonidischer Herkunft,” Judaica Bohemiae 23.2 (1987) 92-94
  • Voit, Petr, "Ornamentation of Prague Hebrew Books during the first Half of the 16th Century as a Part of Bohemian Book Design," pp. 123-151 in Hebrew Printing in Bohemia and Moravia. (Prague:  Jewish Museum in Prague, 2012)
  • Zunz, Leopold, “Druckereien in Prag,” pp. 261-268 in Zur Geschichte und Literatur (Berlin : Veit und Comp., 1845)
  • Zunz, Leopold, “Annalen der hebräischen Typographie von Prag, vom Jahre 1513 bis zum Jahre 1657,” pp. 268-303 in Zur Geschichte und Literatur (Berlin : Veit und Comp., 1845)

North Africa

  • Freimann, Aron, “Typographisches:  Die hebraeische Druckerei in Fez in Jahre 1521-1526,” Zeitschrift für Hebräische Bibliographie 14 (1910) 79-80, 15 (1911) 180-182
  • Marciano, Eliahu Raphael, ספר בני מלכים : והוא תולדות הספר העברי במרוקו משנת רע"ז עד שנת תשמ"ט  =  The book of the Sons of Kings. A History of the Hebrew Book in Morocco from 1517 to 1989 (Jerusalem: Mekhon Harasham (Rehov Aviad 18), 1989
  • Tedghi, Joseph, הספר והדפוס העברי בפאס  = The Book and Hebrew Printing in Fez (Jerusalem : Mekhon Ben Tsevi, 1994)
  • Tedghi, Joseph, “Books, Manuscripts and Hebrew Printing in Fez,” [Hebrew] Pe’amim 52 (1992) 47-74
  • Rowland-Smith, Diana, “The beginnings of Hebrew Printing in Egypt,” British Library Journal 15 (1989) 16-22
    repr. pp. 215-221 in, The History of the Book in the Middle East (Aldershot, UK:  Ashgate Publishing Group, 2013) ed. Geoffrey Roper

France

  • Schwarfuchs, Lyse, Le Livre hébreu à Paris au XVIe siècle, Inventaire chronologique (Paris:  Bibliothe`que nationale de France, 2004)
  • Schwarfuchs, Lyse, L'hébreu dans le livre lyonnais au XVIe siècle: inventaire chronologique (Lyon : ENS E´ditions : Institut d'histoire du livre 2008)
  • Weil, Gérard, "Petite Histoire de L'Imprimerie hebraique en Alsace," Bulletin de nos Communautés : organe du judaïsme d'Alsace et de Lorraine 13 (1957)  n°12 p.9, n°13, p.8, n°15, p.8

India

  • Hill, Brad Sabin, Hebrew, Judeo-Arabic, and Marathi Jewish printing in India ; Hebrew and Judeo-Arabic printing in Baghdad : rare printed books from the Valmadonna Trust Library, London (Netherlands : IDC Publishers, 2008)

United Kingdom

  • Roth, Cecil, הדפוס העברי בלונדון: נסיון ביבליוגרפי = The Hebrew press in London: A bibliographical experiment.  The origins of Hebrew Typography in England.

[two offprints bound together, Hebrew and English, repr. from:  Kiryat Sefer 14 (1937) 97-104  and 379-88 [Hebrew], and Journal of Jewish Bibliography 1(1938) 2-9]

  • Last Updated: Apr 27, 2025 2:29 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/HIST-G8132
  • Print Page
Columbia University Libraries
535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
Phone
212-854-7309
Contact Us
lio@columbia.edu
Follow Us