History of the Early Printed Hebrew Book: Introductory Texts in Hebrew Bibliography

• Amram, David Werner, The Makers of Hebrew Books in Italy (originally published 1909). https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/2589230

Note that this work is often cited as the quintessential introduction to the study of the Hebrew book, and some of it still stands, but many of its chapters and notes have been superceded by work produced in the 100+ years that followed its publication.

• Charles Berlin, ed., Hebrew printing and bibliography (New York : New York Public Library : Ktav, 1976) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/4275735
• Brisman, Shimeon, A history and guide to Judaic bibliography (Cincinnati : Hebrew Union College Press, 1977) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/4431271 
• Habermann, Abraham Meir, Studies in the history of Hebrew printers and books [Hebrew] (Jerusalem : R. Mas, 738, 1978) (available via ILL)
• Habermann, Abraham Meir, History of the Hebrew book [Hebrew] (Jerusalem : R. Mas,1968) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/2592996
• Harris Constance, "The Sixteenth Century: Let There Be Books," pp. 40-78 in The Way Jews Lived: Five Hundred Years of Printed Words and Images (Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Company, 2009) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/7035001 
• Heller, Marvin J., The seventeenth century Hebrew book : an abridged thesaurus, 2 volumes (Leiden; Boston : Brill, 2010) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/14172454
• Heller, Marvin J., Studies in the making of the early Hebrew book (Leiden; Boston : Brill, 2008) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/6460570
• Marx, Alexander, Studies in Jewish history and booklore, (New York, The Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 5704-1944) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/3057661
• Posner, Raphael and Israel Ta-Shema, The Hebrew book : an historical survey (New York : L. Amiel ; Jerusalem : Keter Pub. House, 1975) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/133907
• Schmelzer, Menahem, "The aims of Hebrew bibliography in historical perspective," pp. 143-149 in Threescore and Ten; Essays in Honor of Rabbi Seymour J. Cohen (Hoboken, NJ: Ktav, 1991) edd. Abraham J. Karp et al. https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/1043023
• Schmelzer, Menahem H., ed., Bibliographical studies and notes on rare books and manuscripts in the library of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America.  Alexander Marx (New York : Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 1977) https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/4770
• Sonne, Isaiah, “Journeys through History and Bibliography,” [Hebrew] pp. 209-235 in Alexander Marx Jubilee Volume on the Occasion of His Seventieth Birthday.  Hebrew Section (New York :  Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 1950) ed. Saul Lieberman https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/3057663
• Tamari, Ittai Joseph, “Notes on the Printing in Hebrew Typefaces from the 15th to 19th Centuries,” pp. 33-52 in Middle Eastern Languages and the Print Revolution: A Cross-Cultural Encounter (Westhoven:  WVA Verlag Skulima, 2002) edd. Eva Hanebutt-Benz, Dagmar Glass and Geoffrey Roper https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/3345647
• Pollak, Michael, "The invention of printing in Hebrew lore," Gutenberg-Jahrbuch (1977) 22-28 https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/524451

• Baruchson-Arbib Shifra and Gila Prebor, “Sefer Ha-Ziquq (An Index of Forbidden Hebrew Books) -The Book's use and its influence on Hebrew Printing,” La Bibliofilia 109.1 (2007) 3-31:
• Baruchson, Zipporah, “In search of the Lost Books of the 15th-16th Centuries,” [Hebrew] Alei Sefer 16 (1990) 37-58 (broken link)
• Hacker, Joseph R. and Adam Shear, eds., The Hebrew book in early modern Italy (Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c2011)
• Heller, Marvin J., The sixteenth century Hebrew book : an abridged thesaurus, 2 volumes (Leiden; Boston : Brill, 2004)
• Heller, Marvin J. Further studies in the making of the early Hebrew book (Leiden: Brill, 2013)
• Heller, Marvin J. “Unicums, fragments and other Hebrew book rarities,” Judaica Librarianship 18 (2014) 130-153
• Hill, Brad Sabin, “A Century of Hebraica at the Library of Congress,” Jewish Quarterly Review 106 (2016) 101-129
• Prebor, Gila, "Sefer HaZiquq" as a Source for Hebrew Bibliography," [Hebrew] Alei Sefer 23 (2011) 63-80
• Schrijver, Emile G.L., “New Dimensions of Hebrew Bibliography,” [important review article] Studia Rosenthaliana 31 (1997) 175-182
• Schrijver, Emile G.L., "Jewish Book Culture Since the Invention of Printing (1469 – c. 1815)," in The Cambridge History of Judaism, Part II - Themes and Trends in Early Modern Jewish Life (Cambridge, 2017), pp 291-315

An important - and recent - overview of the field.

• Steinschneider, Moritz, “Jüdische Typographie und Jüdischer Buchhandel,” pp. 21-94 in sect. 2, vol. 28 of, Allgemeine Encyklopaedie der Wissenschaften und Kunste (Leipzig:  F.A. Brockhaus, 1851) edd. Johann Samuel Ersch and Johann Gottfried Gruber
• Vinograd, Yeshayahu, “Hebrew Printing in the Years of ‘Shin’ 1540-1640,” [Hebrew] Alei Sefer 15 (1989) 129-32
• Zafren, Herbert C., "Was Gutenberg Jewish? and Other Conundrums: Exploring The Margins of Judaica Bibliography," Judaica Librarianship 11 (2003) 28-55
• Zwiep, Irene E., Emile G.L. Schrijver and Frits J. Hoogewoud, eds, Omnia in Eo:  Studies on Jewish Books and Libraries in Honour of Adri Offenberg, Celebrating the 125th Anniversary of the Bibliotheca Rosenthaliana in Amsterdam = Studia Rosenthaliana 38/9 (2006)