Finding Underrepresented Sources: Home

A guide to resources for locating expert voices that are underrepresented in the news

Using Underrepresented and Diverse Sources

This page provides resources for identifying experts in a variety of areas that are not heard as often. Including underrepresented experts in your work is essential to ensuring a diversity of thought and opinion, and finding diverse perspectives is a continual undertaking that journalists have a responsibility to engage in.

To learn more, see Diversifying Your Sources Can Improve Your Reporting.

General Directories

Directory of Diverse Databases from Editors of Color collects links to resources for experts on writing, art, science, health, tech, and more.

NPR Diverse Sources Database includes experts for more than 20 different subject areas.

Science and Technology

Diverse Sources is a searchable database of underrepresented experts in the areas of science, health, and the environment.

500 Queer Scientists is a database of LGBTQ+ people in science, technology, engineering, and math.

Request a Woman Scientist from the 500 Women Scientists organization.

Women+ from Sourcelist provides a listing of women technologists and cross-cutting technology policy experts.

AcademiaNet is a tool to access numerous profiles of women academics from every discipline in Europe. 

The Future of Science Film Fellowship aims to create new documentaries about efforts to make science more equitable and inclusive. This project builds on the success of the feature documentary "Picture a Scientist," which chronicled stories of bias, discrimination and harassment against women scientists.

Political Science, Sociology, and International Affairs

InterviewHer aims to connect journalists with women expert sources on issues of global conflict, peace, and security.

Women Also Know Stuff is a database for finding women experts in political science.

Foreign Policy Interrupted includes women representing various areas in foreign policy.

Sociologists for Trans Justice has a Directory of Experts on trans, non-binary, and intersex research.

Media and Public Relations

SheSource from Women's Media Center is an online database of media-experienced women experts who we connect to journalists, bookers and producers.

Women, Nonbinary and POC Media Experts Directory from the Columbia Journalism Review.

Business

The Multicultural Experts Directory is an online directory of expert sources on multicultural marketing.

National LGBT Chamber of Commerce works to actively engage in serving the LGBT business community. 

United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce is America's largest Hispanic business organization.