Research Guides: Columbia University Archives: Pulitzer Prizes

Liberty Lighting the World

“Liberty Lighting the World” stained glass window in the World Room, 301 Pulitzer Hall. Photo by University Photographer Eileen Barroso.

Pulitzer Prizes

How to find information about the Pulitzer Prizes

Pulitzer Prizes: Archival Collections

Archival collections are non-circulating and can only be viewed in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library's reading room (RBML). In order to use the RBML collections, researchers are required to register their own Special Collections Research Account and make an appointment. Once you have created your Special Collections Research Account and booked an appointment, you will be able to request the materials directly from the finding aid or from the CLIO online library catalog record. If you have any questions about how to find materials or how to access materials, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

Pulitzer Prize Records
There are two main collections with records related to the Pulitzer Prizes.
- If you are looking for information about the jurors, categories, submissions, correspondence and press releases, the Pulitzer Prize administration records include these administrative records. Do note that this collection does not include: original jury reports, published press releases, entry lists or Board minutes.
- If you are looking for the original items submitted for consideration, the Pulitzer Prizes collection contains the winning exhibits and books from 1917 through 2017. In 2012 the Pulitzer Prizes switched from the bulky exhibits to an online system of submittal and judging.

Central Files
This collection contains the main administration records of the University, which includes the Office of the President. The Pulitzer Prize files from 1911 to 1971 (with some gaps) can be found in boxes 547 and 548. From 1971-1972 on, you can find the folders filed alphabetically in each year’s records or series.

For the earlier years, you can also search for the correspondence of individuals related to the Pulitzer Prizes, such as Carl W. Ackerman and Edward W. Barrett, both deans of the Journalism School and members of the Pulitzer Prize Board; John Hohenberg, professor of journalism and former secretary of the Advisory Board of the Pulitzer Prize; and even Ralph Pulitzer, son of Joseph Pulitzer, on the creation of the Pulitzer Prize. To find all references to the prizes in this very large collection, search the full container list on the term “Pulitzer.”
Office of Public Affairs Records
As the communications and publicity office, these records include press packages and press releases both in draft and final versions. The office also subscribed to a clipping service and collected mentions of Columbia in the press so there are newspaper clippings, magazine articles, etc. The Pulitzer Prize materials date from 1938 to 1997.
University Ceremonies Records
This collection consists of the records related to ceremonies, events, prizes, dinners, including the Pulitzer Prizes. You can find records related to Pulitzer Prize ceremonies from 1954-1958, 1960-1967, and 1971 in Box 12 of this collection.
The Graduate School of Journalism Records
This collection documents the progression of the school from its founding in 1912 through the 1990s. Sub-series III.4: Pulitzer Prizes, 1934-1988 contains all of the information kept by the school about the Prizes.
Historical Subject Files
This is an artificial collection which contains information on a variety of topics related to Columbia University. Files include mostly newspaper clippings and press releases about the Pulitzer Prizes and the winners over the years (Boxes 112-117 and 435). There is also information about anniversary events for the Prizes (Box 113 and 308).

Pulitzer Prizes: Photographs

If you are interested in photographs of the ceremonies, winners, jurors, board members, and even cartoons:

Office of Public Affairs Photograph Collection
This collection contains the photographs taken by the University photographers. While there are some photographic prints (Series I, Boxes 33 and 34), Series II: Negatives include photos from 1947-1967 (Series II, Box 25); 1956-1970 (Series II, Box 27); 1979-1983 (Series II, Box 62); 1985-1998 (Series II, Box 90); 1983-1994 (Series II, Box 99); among others. To find all references to the prizes in this very large portion of the collection, search the container list for Series II: Negatives on the term “Pulitzer”. For Pulitzer Prize photos from 1999 to 2016, search in the Series V: Eileen Barroso photographs.
Historical Photograph Collection
This collection contains photographs of persons, events, and activities associated with Columbia University. Boxes 186 and 187 contain images dating between 1955 and 1999 of the prize itself, winners, jurors, artwork of prizewinning entries and the dinner/luncheon event. Box XL 8 contains large format photographs of the Pulitzer Prize dinners from 1934 and 1935.
Graduate School of Journalism Photographs
This collection contains images specifically created by and for the Graduate School of Journalism, documenting the people, places and events associated with the school. In Box 10 you can find images of Pulitzer Prize mailings, a winner display, and the reception.

Pulitzer Prizes: Additional Resources

Smaller amounts of archival materials related to the Pulitzer Prizes can also be found in the following collections:

Wills and Agreements records, which includes information about Joseph Pulitzer’s will.
Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs records, which includes information about the prizes, 1967-1975.
Office of the Secretary records, Series IV: Honors and Prizes, which includes information about the prizes, 1930-1996.
Grayson Kirk papers, former University President, which includes information about the prizes, 1950s-1960s.
Dwight D. Miner papers on the history of Columbia University, former History professor, which includes Miner’s research notes on the history of the Prizes from the 1950s.

If you are interested in learning more about Joseph Pulitzer and his donations to the Columbia University you will want to consult the following collections:

School of Journalism Founding Documents
This collection contains the correspondence, printed materials, drafts and copies of agreements relating to the establishment and initial organization of Columbia University's School of Journalism.
Joseph Pulitzer Papers
This collection contains correspondence and business documents of Joseph Pulitzer, the Pulitzer family, and the operation of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
The World Records
This collection contains the business correspondence, editorial memoranda, circulation and financial reports of Pulitzer’s newspaper, The World. The earlier part of this collection is made up of all materials brought to the attention of Joseph Pulitzer during his editorship and that of his son, Ralph Pulitzer.

About the image

Two women putting together mailings of bulletin board notices and nomination blanks for 1950 Pulitzer Prizes and mailings of books to Letters Juries, 7 December 1949. Photo by Manny Warman, University Photographer. (Scan 2654) Graduate School of Journalism Photographs, University Archives.