Southeast Asia: Data

A gateway to Philippine Statistics Authority's survey, census, and administrative-based microdata and documentations. A systematic repository of the data generation activities of the agency, PSADA hopes to ensure that all collected microdata are proficiently documented, widely-disseminated, and properly preserved. The collection spans about 20 years of recent history dating back to 1991. OpenSTAT is PSA's Open Data Portal. It aims to make the statistical data collected and compiled by the PSA to be available to the general public. It was sponsored by the government, organized using open standards and are machine readable. It is free of copyrights and can be accessed easily.

King, Gary; Lowe, Will, 2008. The data available here include almost 10 million individual events, each coded to the exact day they occur or become known. Each event is summarized in the data as "Actor A does something to Actor B", with Actors A and B recording about 450 countries and other (within-country) actors and "does something to" coded in an ontology of about 200 types of actions. The data are coded by computer from millions of Reuters news reports.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), 2014.
IFPRI's Agricultural Science and Technology Indicators (ASTI) initiative is one of the few sources of statistics and other information on agricultural research in low and middle-income countries. ASTI provides comprehensive quantitative and qualitative information on and analyses of investment, capacity, and institutional trends in agricultural research. ASTI data and analyses help research managers a nd policymakers improve policy formulation and decision making at the national regional, and international levels.

Global water information system, developed by the Land and Water Division of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Use "assets by country" interface to search by country and product

ICPSR 5404. Principal Investigator: Leiss, Amelia. This study contains data on the transfer of arms to 52 developing nations in the period 1945-1968. The Arms Transfers data (Part 1) provide information on donor and recipient, date and site of transfer, quantity, system classification (e.g., aircraft, helicopters, missiles, artilleries, small arms, or naval systems), and date production began and ended. The Weapons Systems data (Part 2) contain detailed coded information about each weapons system. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

Inoguchi, Takashi, 2008-06-24
The purpose of the survey was to study, in 18 countries of Asia and Europe, how democracy (or quasi-democracy) functions in response to various domestic and international stimuli, with a focus on the rise of civil society and the deepening of globalization. The 18 countries surveyed include from East and Southeast Asia: Japan, South Korea, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, and the Philippines, and from Western Europe: the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, Germany, Sweden, Italy, Spain, Portugal, and Greece. The questionnaire covers generally five topics: (1) identity, (2) trust, (3) satisfaction, (4) beliefs and actions, and (5) socio-economic attributes. Requires free ICPSR MyData account.

The AsiaBarometer represents a cross-national effort to study the lives of the peoples of East, Southeast, South, and Central Asia on physical, psychological, and sociological dimensions. ICPSR has data only for 2003 (ICPSR 4300) and 2004 (ICPSR 20420) Requires a free ICPSR MyData account. Other years for 2003-2007 can be downloaded from the AsiaBarometer website.

Regional survey covers Bangladesh, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mainland China, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

Bicol River Basin Development Program, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 1997.
The Bicol Multipurpose Survey (BMS) was designed to assess the impact of the Bicol River Basin Development Project (BRBDP) on one of the poorest regions in the Philippines. Using data collected from both semi-urban and rural areas of the Bicol Region, the BMS sought to examine the impact not only of the various development projects of the BRBDP such as irrigation, electricity, and road repair, but also the economic, social, and health issues faced by the residents of the Bicol Region. The survey gathered data for 17 project areas and 3 cities in the provinces of Albay, Camarines Sur, and Sorsogon. Household-level information (Part 1) covers household characteristics, physical environment, income and expenditures, distance from schools, and respondents' feelings about household conditions and the progress of the barangay in which they lived (a barangay is a political subdivision equivalent to a village in rural areas and to a neighborhood in urban areas). Information on topics such as attitudes about foods during pregnancy, infant and child care, prenatal care, community involvement, and work history are contained in a separate Mothers Data file (Part 2). The individual-level data (Parts 3-5) contain demographic information such as age, sex, and education, and include time spent on household and occupational tasks. Information was collected from persons as young as 6 years of age, but was coded for individuals 15 years and older for tasks such as selling, food preparation, farm work, raising livestock and poultry, and the type and amount of fishing. Morbidity data from over 17,000 individuals are also included. The Household Production files (Parts 6-11) cover agriculture and business, crop production, rice farming, raising livestock and poultry, type of fishing done, and quantity of fish caught. Also included are income figures, assets, and liabilities. The Barangay Survey (Part 12) examines the physical aspects of the barangay and the use of social services in the area to determine the impact of the BRBDP and outside influences. The barangay captain or official records provided information on the physical characteristics, community services, medical services, social services, sanitation, and educational systems available within the barangay. The Extension Workers Survey (Part 13) asked 324 workers about their knowledge and activities regarding agricultural practices such as fertilizer use, pest and disease control, and other aspects of planting and transplanting. Through the Medical Practitioners Survey (Part 14), 426 practitioners were asked questions on their education and training, general health knowledge and experience, and knowledge and attitudes about birth control. Data collected in 1978, 1983, and 1994 can be used individually or merged together on a unique household identifier found in Part 15 (with the exception of the Medical Practitioners and Extension Workers data).

Popkin, Barry M., Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 1997.
During 1981, the survey gathered data from 100 barangays. Barangays are political subdivisions equivalent to villages in rural areas and to neighborhoods in urban areas. Data were gathered at the community level from barangay heads, health care providers (both public and private), traditional birth practitioners (hilots), traditional healers (herbolario), and barangay residents using a questionnaire divided into six different sections, each with its own particular focus. The six sections correspond to the six data files in this collection. Part 1, Infant Food Prices, contains information from one store in each barangay on content, availability, and price information of infant foods. Part 2, Health Services: Availability and Distance, contains one observation for each barangay from either barangay captains, barangay officials, or housewives regarding the time and cost of travel to health providers, both public and private. Part 3, Health Services: Prices and Quality, provides information from 518 heads of health care facilities, private health care professionals, traditional birth practitioners, and traditional healers about travel costs, costs per visit, and costs for prescribed medication. Part 4, Promotional Practices of Infant Food Companies, offers responses from hilots, heads of health facilities, and private professionals about brands of infant formula available, whether free samples and pamphlets were provided, and whether supplies such as pads, pencils, equipment, or posters were donated. Part 5, Environmental Sanitation, provides data from sanitary inspectors on water availability, water conditions, and garbage disposal within the barangay. For Part 6, Health Professionals Survey Data, heads of facilities and private professionals were given a self-administered survey regarding the demographic, educational, and employment characteristics of workers, along with their knowledge of and attitude toward breast-feeding. Interviews conducted with hilots by field workers using the same questionnaire are also included.

Bicol River Basin Development Program, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 1998.
The 1983 Bicol Multipurpose Survey (BMS) was designed to revisit the residents of the Bicol Region of the Philippines who were surveyed during 1978 in an effort to review the progress of the Bicol River Basin Development Project (BRBDP). The Bicol Multipurpose Survey (BMS) was designed to assess the impact of the BRBDP on one of the poorest regions in the Philippines. Using data collected from both semi-urban and rural areas of the Bicol Region, the BMS sought to examine the impact not only of the various development projects of the BRBDP such as irrigation, electricity, and road repair, but also the economic, social, and health issues faced by the residents of the Bicol Region. The survey gathered data for 17 project areas and 3 cities in the provinces of Albay, Camarines Sur, and Sorsogon. The 1983 BMS follows the same design as Bicol Multipurpose Survey (BMS), 1978, with the data being organized into 31 "blocks" or series of questions. A total of 1,901 households were surveyed in 1983, most of which were previously surveyed in 1978. An additional replacement sample of 420 was drawn from the 1978 rosters for the 1983 survey. Respondents were again asked about income, employment, education, health status, and health services. Additionally, the 1983 survey gathered extensive information on fishing, business expenses, and small business activities, along with fertility, pregnancy, and mortality histories. Due to time and cost considerations, detailed questions on credit, some health-related items regarding beliefs, chronic illnesses, and breast-feeding, and detailed questions on crops were not included in the 1983 BMS. Section I, Household Data (Parts 1-32), focused on background information, transportation, environment, morbidity, and health services. Information was gathered about people living in the household six months prior to the survey as well as people who had left the household five years prior to the survey. Expenditure data on schooling were gathered for individuals 6-30 years of age. Marriage and pregnancy histories were elicited from women aged 15-49 along with family planning and birth interval information. Section II, Agriculture/Income/Labor Data (Parts 33-87), posed questions on employment, wages, and hired labor for men, women, and children aged 6-15. Data on coconut, sugar cane, and abaca crop production were also gathered, along with information about livestock and poultry, and extensive data were collected about fishing activities. Fishing boat owners were interviewed, along with capture fisherman who fished both inland and marine waters. The Barangay Survey (Parts 88-96) provided information about characteristics of the barangay in which the respondent lived (a barangay is a political subdivision equivalent to a village in rural areas and to a neighborhood in urban areas), services available in the community, types of social services or practitioners, the availability of public utilities and transportation, different types of organizations present within the barangay, employment conditions, and environmental sanitation conditions.

Lanzona, Leonard, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2013-05-15.
The objectives of the 1994 Bicol Multipurpose Survey were to gather information on income, earnings, mobility, fertility, farm production, and health from the residents of the Bicol Region in the Philippines. Households in the province of Camarines Sur were surveyed, with a primary focus on household characteristics, adult and child health, value and income of assets or properties, expenditures on education and liabilities, income such as cash and in-kind transfers, and income from household members not residing in the household, along with agricultural production of rice and other crops. Information about the barangay (a barangay is a political subdivision equivalent to a village in rural areas and to a neighborhood in urban areas) in which the household was located includes environmental sanitation, availability of community services, and cost for community services or family planning. Data regarding successor households (households where the children had taken over the management and supervision of family assets) were examined, along with intergenerational income mobility data (the impact of parental income and investments on children).

Bloomfield, Lincoln, and Robert R. Beattie, ICPSR05301-v1. Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 1999
This study contains data on local conflicts for 52 nations in the period 1945-1969. Data are provided for approximately 500 factors affecting the course of each conflict, such as the situations, conditions, or relationships that tend to influence a conflict toward or away from violence. The factors are coded into three phases, the dispute, conflict, and hostilities phases. They are also grouped into several categories: previous or general relations between sides, great power involvement, general external relations, military and strategic, internal organizations, ethnic, economic, internal political pressures or situations, characteristics of one side, communication and information, and actions or controls in the disputed areas. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

Conducted by a team of researchers from the United States and the Philippines, the CLHNS is part of an ongoing study of a cohort of Filipino women who gave birth between May 1, 1983, and April 30, 1984. The CLHNS was originally conceptualized as a study of infant feeding patterns, particularly the overall sequencing of feeding events (i.e., of both milk and non-milk items), the various factors affecting feeding decisions at each point in time, and how different feeding patterns affect the infant, mother, and household. The idea was to study these topics within as natural a setting as possible and to analyze how infant feeding decisions by the household interact with various social, economic, and environmental factors to affect health, nutritional, demographic, and economic outcomes.

ICPSR 7555. This data collection contains information gathered in five annual surveys that assessed the degree of freedom in 218 nations and dependencies from 1972-1976. The number of cases with data varies from year to year, due to annexation, amalgamation, or the addition of further territories to the roster. The data include assessments of the political and civil rights of the general population, an overall freedom rating for the country, and the direction in which this rating appeared to be moving. Surveys after 1972 have added variables that indicate whether a change in the evaluation since the previous survey was due to internal events in the country or to new information about existing conditions. Before 1973, only the presence or absence of change is noted. The 1976 data include four additional variables applicable to 142 cases and provide information about the system of government and the economy of most of the nations studied. The rationale used in assigning the seven categories on the continuum of most to least freedom can be found in Appendix III of the codebook, including which civil and political rights were considered critical in order for a nation to garner each rating. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

A database of mortality and malnutrition rates - the most commonly used public health indicators of the severity of a humanitarian crisis. Field agencies use mortality and nutrition indicators to identify and measure the severity of needs in order to prioritize human and financial resources. Use Map and Timeline to select country specific data for Pakistan.

Includes Militarized Interstate Disputes data sets and National Material Capabilities data sets

This study contains data on 409 assassination events that occurred in 84 countries in the period 1948-1967. The data cover plotted, attempted, or actual assassinations of prominent public figures, such as top government officeholders and military figures, leaders of large trade unions or religious movements, and leaders of minority groups. For each event, information is provided on the country, date, and location of occurrence, the issue involved, the identity of the assassin and of the target, such as the type of group to which the assassin belonged and the political and social position of the target, and the outcome of the event.

ICPSR 31461. Dataset 1, Data on International Election Monitoring (DIEM), codes the assessement and activities of international election monitoring organizations to national-level legislative and presidential elections in 108 countries from 1980-2004. Dataset 2, Quality of Elections Data (QED), codes the quality of national-level legislative and presidential elections in 172 countries from 1978 to 2004. Dataset 3, Supplementary Election Data, includes supplementary information on all direct presidential and legislative elections in 182 countries from 1975-2004. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries. Requires free registration to download data. See list of data by country and year. DHS data is also available at the Integrated Demographic and Health Series (IDHS). Requires registration as a DHS data user (specifying country of interest) to download datasets.

ICPSR 21302. Principal Investigators: Subhayu Bandyopadhyay, Howard J. Wall. The authors estimate the responsiveness of aid to recipient countries' economic and physical needs, civil/political rights, and government effectiveness. They look exclusively at the post-Cold War era and use fixed effects to control for the political, strategic, and other considerations of donors. They find that aid and per capita income have been negatively related, while aid has been positively related to infant mortality, rights, and government effectiveness. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

USAID-funded machine readable data. Subcategories include Democracy, Human Rights and Governance; Economic Growth; Education and Social Services; Health; Humanitarian Assistance; Peace and Security; Program Development and Oversight

Comparative survey of attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, democracy and citizens' political actions in East Asia. Cross-national comparative surveys have been implemented in nine East Asian political systems -namely Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Mainland China, Mongolia, the Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand.

Comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures and equity.

Part of the DevInfo system. Includes indicators for primary and secondary education.

EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies. Includes disaster by country search interface.

Provides a regional perspective on development issues in Asia and the Pacific. The database, covering the 58 regional ESCAP Member States and Associate Members, contains 900 data series on a wide range of topics on population, education, health, poverty and inequalities, gender, economy, environment and connectivity. The online database is updated twice a year.

ICPSR 5214. Principal Investigator: Rummel, Rudolph J. This study contains data on over 13,000 foreign conflict acts of 113 nations in the period 1950-1968. Data are provided for actor and object, either of which may refer to nations, colonies, international organizations, or groups in rebellion against national authority and involved in international relations. Data are also provided for official and unofficial acts, which are categorized into violent and nonviolent acts. Violent acts are further categorized into planned and unplanned acts, as well as unclassified acts. These include warning or defensive acts related to a developing conflict situation, threat, war, clash, or negative behavior such as blockade, embargo, or diplomatic rebuff of one nation by another. Nonviolent acts include boycott and anti-foreign demonstrations. The source of the data as well as measures of its reliability is also coded. Requires free ICPSR MyData Account.

a project funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to measure how people around the world - including the poor, women, and rural residents - manage their day-to-day finances and plan for the future. The Global Findex indicators are drawn from survey data collected by Gallup, Inc. over the 2011 calendar year, covering more than 150,000 individuals in more than 140 economies and representing more than 97 percent of the world's adult population. The second round of Global Findex indicators was collected in 2014 and is forthcoming in 2015. The set of indicators will be collected again in 2017.

An annual effort to measure the state of open government data around the world. 122 countries in the sample as of 2015.

ICPSR 22600. Principal Investigators: Gary LaFree, Laura Dugan. The researchers sought to code and verify a previously unavailable dataset composed of terrorist events recorded for the entire world from 1998 through 2004. The goal of the GTD2 was to create a comprehensive and sound data set on global terrorism that can be used to derive methodologically robust insights into the phenomenon of terrorism and how to counter it. Information in the GTD2 was drawn entirely from publicly available, open-source materials.

ICPSR 23562. Principal Investigators: Philip N. Howard, Laura Busch, Spencer Cohen. Contains two types of indicators for the global distribution of information, communication and technology (ICT) resources. The data includes gini coefficients for the distribution of Internet access within countries, and a technology diffusion index that weights the distribution of broadband subscribers, personal computers, mobile phones, Internet users, and international Internet bandwidth by economic output. The data are secondary source data, based on the analysis of primary data from 204 surveys fielded in 47 countries.

Rich, Timothy, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2014-02-20.
What institutional factors influence turnout among mixed member electoral systems? This dataset includes institutional factors within mixed systems as well as co-existing electoral structures for mixed legislative elections from 1990-2010 labeled "Free" or "Partially Free" by Freedom House. In addition, this dataset includes two separate measures of turnout: registered and voting age population. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

The project was set up to fill the gap in adequate recording of offenses by the police for purposes of comparing crime rates in different nations and to provide a crime index independent of police statistics as an alternative standardized measure. The ICVS is the most far-reaching program of standardized sample surveys to look at a householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations. It also allows for analysis of how risks of crime vary among different groups of populations across social and demographic lines. The first wave, developed by a working group set up in 1987, led to fieldwork in early 1989. The second ICVS wave took place in 1992. The third wave occurred in 1996-1997 and involved 12 industrialized nations, all but one of which were in central and east Europe, and 15 developing nations. Also see The International Crime Victims Survey, 1989-2005 and ICVS: International Crime Victim Survey. Requires (free) ICPSR MyData account.

IFPRI is often involved in the collection of primary data and the compilation and processing of secondary data. The resulting datasets provide a wealth of information at the local (household and community), national, and global levels. IFPRI freely distributes as many of these datasets as possible and encourages their use in research and policy analysis.

This file contains aggregate measures from the ARDA’s coding of the 2001, 2003, and 2005 U.S. State Department’s International Religious Freedom Reports. This coding produced data on 196 different countries and territories (see below for list of countries coded), but excluded the United States. It also includes three indexes calculated from these data: Government Regulation of Religion index (GRI), Social Regulation of Religion index (SRI), Government Favoritism of Religion index (GFI) (see Grim and Finke, 2006). Data in this file represent mean coding responses for each variable from all three years of coding.

A continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research. The Data Catalogue DBK holds study descriptions of all studies that are available at the Data Archive.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series,
International, census microdata for social and economic research. An effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research. IPUMS-International makes these data available to qualified researchers free of charge through a web dissemination system.

In the 1960s and 70s, the Knowledge, Attitudes, and Practices studies surveyed women and men across the world about family planning, birth control, pregnancy, and sex. The majority of the samples are of women under the age of fifty, married women, and women living in cities and metropolitan areas. The featured countries are Mexico, the United States, Israel, the Philippines, France, Brazil, Ecuador, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Argentina, Colombia, Panama, Venezuela, and Peru. Explore the family planning preferences of women across the world.

Averch, H. A., J. E. Koehler, and F. H. Denton, Manila, Philippines: Asia Research Organization, 1969. Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 197?
Contains information for the following ten major topic areas. Part 1. Survey (Pegasus) File. 182 variables for 1,550 respondents in 1969. Part 2. General Province Data. Part 3. Province Election Data. Part 4. City Voting Data. Part 5. Municipio Data Part 6. Barrio Data. Part 7. City Socioeconomic Data. Part 8. Province Crime Data. Part 9. Province Economic Data. Part 10. Province Manufacturing Data. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

ICPSR 29602. Principal Investigator: Joel Selway. There are 128 countries in the dataset. The Cross-national Indices of Multidimensional Measures of Social Structure (CIMMSS) contains 69 new indices for the following dimensions: Race, Ethnicity, Language, Religion, Income, Geography. There are six different characteristics contained in the dataset. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data.
U.S. Annual Reports is available exclusively through Mergent Online. International Annual Reports module offer access to the most recent annual reports on thousands of non-U.S. public companies, as well as an extensive archive of past years' annuals in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.

Richard B. Freeman, Remco H. Oostendorp. This database contains occupational wage data for 161 occupations in 171 countries from 1983 to 2008. The occupational wage data are derived from the ILO October Inquiry database. You will need a major database, statistical program, or programming language to use these files. Also available on the Open Knowledge Repository.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

Since its inception in 2002, Pew Global Attitudes Project has surveyed nearly 300,000 people in 59 countries. This interactive database provides users with the ability to access key trends on questions ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people's assessments of their own lives and views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. These key trends can be accessed by question topic or by country. Use Question Search Database to filter by country. Also see countries surveyed and sample sizes by year.

National Statistics Office, Philippines.
A nationwide survey designed to provide access and impact indicators that can be used as inputs to the development of an integrated poverty indicator and monitoring system. It was conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO) as a rider to its October 1999 Labor Force Survey (LFS).

The 2004 APIS is a nationwide survey designed to provide data representative of the country and its 17 administrative regions. It covered all de jure family members (usual residents), members 6 - 24 years old, and members 5 years old and over.

The 2007 APIS is the fifth in the series of annual poverty indicators surveys conducted nationwide. The survey covered all households.

The 2008 APIS is the sixth in the series of annual poverty indicators surveys conducted nationwide.

National Statistics Office, Philippines.
To provide key measures on the performance and structure of businesses and industries that will be used for planning and policy formulation by the government and private sectors. The data collected from the ASPBI will constitute bases upon which the government and the private sector can formulate policies and evolve economic development plans.

Scott McNiven; Agnes Quisumbing, 2012.
This data set contains the 2003 and 2004 rounds of the Bukidnon Panel Survey, a survey spanning 19 years. Bukidnon is a landlocked province in the Philippines comprising 20 municipalities and two cities, Malaybalay and Valencia, on the island of Mindanao.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), 2008.
The research strategy was to sample cash crop adopting (sugarcane households) and non-adopting households (corn households) and to compare household resource allocation and nutritional outcomes in the two situations.

A nationwide survey of households undertaken by the National Statistics Office (NSO). The reporting unit was the household.

A nationwide survey of households undertaken by the National Statistics Office (NSO).

A nationwide survey of households undertaken by the National Statistics Office.

A nationwide survey of households undertaken by the National Statistics Office.

A nationwide survey of households undertaken by the National Statistics Office.

A nationwide survey of households undertaken by the National Statistics Office. The reporting unit was the household.

A nationwide survey of households undertaken by the National Statistics Office. The reporting unit was the family.

A nationwide sample survey conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO) as a rider to the April 1999 round of the Labor Force Survey (LFS). It involved interviewing all female members age 15-49 years in the sample households of the LFS. It was the fourth in a series of annual family planning surveys that the NSO had conducted from 1995 to 2000.

A nationwide sample survey conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO) as a rider to the April 2000 round of the Labor Force Survey (LFS). It involved interviewing all female members age 15-49 years in the sample households of the LFS. It was the fifth in a series of annual family planning surveys that the NSO had conducted from 1995 to 2000.

A nationwide sample survey conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO) as a rider to the April 2001 round of the Labor Force Survey (LFS). It involved interviewing all female members aged 15-49 years in the sample household of the LFS. It was the sixth in a series of annual family planning surveys.

The 2002 FPS presents up-to-date figures on the use of contraceptives, unmet need for family planning and high-risk fertility behavior. It also aimed to provide information on contraceptive prevalence rate (CPR), contraceptive methods, contraceptive discontinuation, reasons for not using contraceptive, the source of supply of contraceptive method used, and high-risk fertility behavior. The survey also generates important information on maternal and child health indicators.

A national survey that gathers information on basic and functional literacy status of the population, their educational and skills qualifications, and their exposure to mass media. The 2003 FLEMMS is the third in as series of functional literacy surveys conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO). About 26,000 sample households in 1,589 enumeration areas were interviewed.

A national survey that gathers information on the basic and functional literacy rates, and the educational skills qualifications of the population. The 2008 FLEMMS is the fourth in a series of functional literacy surveys conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO). The survey covered all households and all household members 10 to 64 years old.

A nationwide undertaking designed to collect and update data on household (residential) energy consumption patterns, preferences and application, among others. In addition, accounting of fuel consumption for transport uses in the household sector was also gathered.

Robert S. Chase, Julien Labonne.
The KALAHI-CIDSS program was set up in 2002 to alleviate rural poverty in the Philippines. The program's impact evaluation was designed in 2003 to evaluate general impacts on poverty reduction, social capital, empowerment, and governance.

A nationwide survey of households conducted regularly to gather data on the demographic and socio-economic characteristics of the population. It is primarily geared towards the estimation of the levels of employment in the country.

A nationwide survey of households conducted regularly to gather data on the demographic and socio-economic characteristics of the population. It is primarily geared towards the estimation of the levels of employment in the country.

A nationwide survey of households conducted regularly to gather data on the demographic and socio-economic characteristics of the population. It is primarily geared towards the estimation of the levels of employment in the country.

A nationwide survey of households conducted regularly to gather data on the demographic and socio-economic characteristics of the population. It is primarily geared towards the estimation of the levels of employment in the country.

The survey is designed to provide statistics on levels and trends of employment, unemployment and underemployment for the country as a whole, and for each of the administrative regions, including provinces and key cities.

The survey is designed to provide statistics on levels and trends of employment, unemployment and underemployment for the country as a whole, and for each of the administrative regions, including provinces and key cities.

The survey is designed to provide statistics on levels and trends of employment, unemployment and underemployment for the country as a whole, and for each of the administrative regions, including provinces and key cities.

The survey is designed to provide statistics on levels and trends of employment, unemployment and underemployment for the country as a whole, and for each of the administrative regions, including provinces and key cities.

The survey is designed to provide statistics on levels and trends of employment, unemployment and underemployment for the country as a whole, and for each of the administrative regions.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), 2008.
The study draws on household survey data collected in 2000-2001. The survey was conducted in three hog producing cities in the provinces of Batangas and Laguna in Southern Luzon, Philippines. To understand why some smallholders participate in hog production and others do not, a total of 291 households were randomly identified from a stratified sample frame, of which 150 households were hog producers (including 50 small-scale contract farms) and 141 households were non-livestock raisers. The sampled smallholders are household-based backyard growers (who use their own capital and family labor) and/or semi-commercial growers (who employ hired labor and use external financing for livestock production) holding an inventory ranging up to 300 head of hogs at any given period. Some of the variables collected are: farm-specific output and inputs prices, quantity of output in kilograms liveweight, different types of activity, family and hired labor, value of breeding stock; value of buildings and equipment, different market outlets, household characteristics, access to information, credit, and veterinary services.

The survey aims to obtain national estimates on the number of overseas Filipinos including overseas workers and their socio-economic characteristics and to provide estimates on the amount of cash and in kind transfers received by the families and the modes of remittances.

The survey aims to obtain national estimates on the number of overseas Filipinos including overseas workers and their socio-economic characteristics and to provide estimates on the amount of cash and in kind transfers received by the families and the modes of remittances.

ICPSR 27581. Principal Investigator: Michael G. Hall. This study looked at whether opportunistic and partisan business cycles influence fiscal policy in 28 developing countries when controlling for de facto exchange rate regimes and capital mobility. Several issues were investigated: 1) opportunistic business cycles, whether elections cause the governments budget balance (taxes minus spending) to experience fiscal expansion (lower taxes and higher spending) in order to stimulate the economy; 2) partisan business cycles, whether left-wing parties engage in more fiscal expansion; 3) whether growing capital mobility (the ability of financial capital to move across borders) will encourage or inhibit a government's ability to engage in fiscal expansion with an impending election or left-wing party; and 4) whether the exchange rate regime (the rules for determining the exchange rate) is a mitigating factor. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

The objective is to provide an independent source of data on Philippine economic and social conditions. The definitive language used in the survey questionnaire is Tagalog. When necessary, the questionnaire is translated into Ilocano, Bikol, Cebuano, and Ilonggo, as well as English.

This multi-country survey was commissioned by the Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life to investigate the religious, political, and civic views of renewalists (i.e., Pentecostals and Charismatics) around the world. The project includes surveys in ten countries with sizeable renewalist populations: the United States; Brazil, Chile and Guatemala in Latin America; Kenya, Nigeria and South Africa in Africa; and India, the Philippines and South Korea in Asia.

Smith, Herbert L., Sharon J. Ghuman, Helen J. Lee, and Karen Oppenheim Mason. 2000. A Comparative Study of Women's Status and Fertility in Five Asian Countries. Datasets available for India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Thailand.

A service of NBR's Strategic Asia Program. The database contains data for 70 indicators across 10 themes for 37 countries from 1990 to 2012. The database supplements the annual Strategic Asia volume. Public access temporarily suspended as of 08/05/2015.

Schmidt, William, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2011-04-07.
TIMSS was a comparative study of education in mathematics and the sciences conducted in over 40 countries on five continents. The goal of TIMSS was to measure student achievement in mathematics and science in participating countries and to assess some of the curricular and classroom factors that are related to student learning in these subjects.

United Nations Office at Vienna. Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Branch, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 2010-07-22.
Surveys were distributed to officials in every member country of the United Nations. Designated officials completed the surveys to the best of their abilities given the country's available data.
Also available via UNOCDC site.

A central source for U.S. foreign assistance data, international socioeconomic data, and data-driven analysis. Links to data portals: Foreign Aid Explorer, International Data & Economic Analysis, Trade Capacity Building, Microenterprise Enterprise Reporting

Annual survey conducted by Gallup International Association to solicit public opinion on social and political issues. Every year the survey will be conucted in approximately 50 countries, with a minimal sample size of 500 per country. Wherever possible, within each country a nationally representative sample n=500 adults, male and female, aged 18 and older will be used. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

A compilation of mortality data by age, sex and cause of death, as reported annually by Member States from their civil registration systems.

The United States Bureau of the Census initiated a series of studies on women in development in 1970 with data drawn primarily from national censuses, surveys, statistical abstracts, and international statistical compendia. The aim of this data series was to provide a reliable, up-to-date, accessible database on women in development which can illuminate the discrepancies in the roles and status of women against those of men throughout the world in order to serve as a basis for the promotion of both intranational and international parity between the sexes. The studies that comprise the Women in Development series consist of national-level data concerning female/male differentials over a range of demographic and socio-economic variables. Wherever possible, the data are broken down by age and urban/rural residence to facilitate further analysis. The series is cumulative and the data are presented in basic tabular format. Initially, the data tables were compiled for 69 developing nations from Asia, Latin America, Africa, and the Near East that were recipients of the United States Agency for International Development aid. The first collection, Women in Development, 1979-1980 (ICPSR 8053), included all the aid-recipient nations regardless of population size. Subsequently, data were compiled for all remaining nations of the world with a population of five million or more, and statistics for the original nations were updated to reflect more recent information. The second collection in the series, Women in Development IV, 1983 (ICPSR 8155), covered approximately 120 nations from Asia, the Pacific, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa, the Near East, North America, Europe, and the Soviet Union.

Select by date to access archived data. For the most recent data, see tables compiled by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and comparative data by country.

ICPSR 24340. Paxton, Pamela, Jennifer Green, and Melanie Hughes. This data collection provides information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. The dataset allows for extensive, large-scale, cross-national investigation of the factors that explain women's attainment of political power over time and provides educators with comprehensive international and historical information on women in a variety of political positions. Information is provided on female suffrage, the first female member of parliament, yearly percentages of women in parliaments, when women reached important representational milestones, such as 10 percent, 20 percent, and 30 percent of a legislature, and when women achieved highly-visible political positions, such as prime minister, president, or head of parliament.

project generated content-coded data from the full population of book-length English language organizational ethnographies. Drawn from Australia, Canada, China, Colombia, France, Great Britain, Hungary, India, Israel, Japan, Norway, the Philippines, Scotland, South Africa, Sweden, Taiwan, United States, and Zambia, these ethnographies provided deep descriptions on a wide range of topics, such as worker behavior, management behavior, coworker relations, labor process, conflict and resistance, citizenship behavior, emotional labor, and sexual harassment. Coding of these characteristics yielded variables based on descriptions of worklife in specific organizational settings. The study data was collected in mainly two periods: the early 1990s and the early 2000s. The study generated 204 ethnographic cases. Requires free ICPSR MyData Account.

An ongoing effort to systematically gauge and track the perceptions and views of the World Bank Group’s clients and partners across the globe. This collection hosts open, accessible survey data from 29 countries collected in FY12 (July 2011 - June 2012) and 41 countries in FY13 (July 2012 - June 2013). In FY14 (July 2013 – June 2014), PORG will conduct surveys in another 43 countries. All data will be regularly updated and more countries will be added as data become available.

The Microdata Library is a service established to facilitate access to microdata that provide information about people living in developing countries, their institutions, their environment, their communities and the operation of their economies. It includes datasets that have been produced by the World Bank, such as impact evaluation of the Bank’s operations or research on development issues. It also includes datasets from other international organizations, statistical agencies and other agencies in low and middle-income countries.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2011). Provides a comparable and up-to-date set of national data on contraceptive prevalence for almost all countries and areas of the world. It also provides estimates of unmet need for family planning.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2012). Provides a comparable and up-to-date global set of survey-based data on contraceptive prevalence and unmet need for family planning and also presents model-based estimates and short-term projections of contraceptive prevalence, unmet need for family planning, total demand for family planning and percentage of demand for family planning that is satisfied.

Veenhoven, R., Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands. An archive of research findings on subjective enjoyment of life which brings together findings that are scattered throughout many studies and provides a basis for synthetic work. For country specific date use nations/regions list interface.

The World Bank: indicators for 214 countries. Also available on CD-ROM (Lehman Data Service: CD-ROM HC59.69 .W683) for 1997, 1999-2001, 2003, 2005, 2007. Also available on ProQuest for 01/2009 to present.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2009)

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2013)

Office of Population Research. Participating countries from Africa, Asia, America, and Europe. Click on the link to learn about the available data and documentation for the country's survey.

World Health Organization. The WHS was implemented between 2002 and 2004 in countries selected to represent all regions of the world. The total sample size, using nationally representative samples, includes over 300,000 individuals aged 18+ years. For six countries, China, Ghana, India, Mexico, Russia and South Africa, WHS also serves as SAGE Wave 0. Household data includes a household roster, health insurance coverage, health expenditures, and indicators of permanent income or wealth. Individual level data include sociodemographic information, health state descriptions, health state valuation, risk factors, chronic conditions, mortality, health care utilization, health systems responsiveness and social capital.

Prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat. Free download in MS Excel format.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division, Fertility and Family Planning Section

United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Population Division. Downloadable pdf format.

United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Population Division. Downloadable pdf format. Assesses changes in mortality risks at the global, regional and country levels, focusing in particular on the implementation period of the Programme of Action of the International Conference on Population and Development, from 1990-1995 to 2010-2015. The mortality estimates presented in this report are available in digital form. Electronic version web tool offers interactive access to the charts from the print version.

"The 2012 Revision of the World Population Prospects is the twenty-Third round of global demographic estimates and projections undertaken by the Population Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat."--from 14 April 2014 update. Also availalable in CD ROM format: Offsite CD-ROM HA155 .W682

An international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. WorldPublicOpinion.org seeks to reveal the values and views of publics in specific nations around the world as well as global patterns of world public opinion. While the studies of the WorldPublicOpinion.org network figure prominently, the website draws together data from a wide variety of sources from around the world.

Business CD-ROM HE7601 .W675 . 11th ed. (2007) Shelved in Business Course Reserves
13th ed 2009 Shelved in Business Course Reserves. Contains time series data for the years 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975 to 2013 for more than 150 telecommunication/ICT statistics covering fixed-telephone networks, mobile-cellular telephone subscriptions, quality of service, Internet (including fixed- and mobile-broadband subscription data), traffic, staff, prices, revenue, investment and statistics on ICT access and use by households and individuals. Selected demographic, macroeconomic and broadcasting statistics are also included.

European Values Study Group; World Values Survey Association. designed to enable a crossnational, crosscultural comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. This data collection contains the survey data from the four waves of the World Values Surveys and European Values Surveys, carried out in 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2004. These survey responses have now been integrated into one dataset, to facilitate time series analysis. This is a link to ICPSR 4531. The data is not directly on ICPSR, but available from banco de datos ASEP/JDS Home Page.

A global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. The WVS consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire. The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents. Data also available via UKDA.