Southeast Asia: Myanmar
Scholarly resources for the region of Southeast Asia
Economics & Finance--Myanmar (Burma) specific links
- Asian Development Bank--MyanmarADB country operation page.
- National Bureau of Asian Research--Burma/MyanmarBurma/Myanmar region links
- The World Bank--MyanmarMyanmar country page
South Asia Economics and Finance Multiregional Resources
Politics/Public Policy (Myanmar)
- Amnesty International MyanmarAI Myanmar site
- Asian Human Rights Commission--Burma/MyanmarAHRC Myanmar page
- Business & Human Rights Resource Centre--MyanmarMyanmar country page
- Council on Foreign Relations--Burma/MyanmarAn independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.
- Human Rights Watch--BurmaBurma/Myanmar country page
- ReliefWeb--MyanmarDisaster and crisis updates and analysis.
- United Nations Development Programme in MyanmarUNDP is the UN's global development network. Use search box and links to locate documents
Politics and Public Policy Multi Regional Resources
For multi regional politics and public policy resources across South Asia,
see the Cross Regional South Asia Politics and Public Policy listings
History--Burma/Myanmar
- Asian Economic History Series One: The Opium Trade and the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, 1945-48Butler microforms, 4 reels. Foreign Office Files relating to the Opium Trade and the United Nations Commission on Narcotic Drugs. The material is truly international with memoranda, papers and correspondence reflecting activity in Burma, Syria, the Lebanon, Cyprus, the Middle East, the Persian Gulf, India and Ceylon, Afghanistan, Ethiopia, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia, the Philippines, North Borneo and Sarawak. See online guide.
- U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian AffairsThis collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of U.S.-Southeast Asia relations between 1944 and 1958, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned the American role in Southeast Asia.
Media--Myanmar (Burma)
- Bond Photograph LibraryDSAL, University of Chicago. Photographs taken during World War II by Frank Bond while serving in the Army Air Corps, 40th Photographic Reconnaissance Squadron, stationed in India and Burma.
- The Keagle Photograph LibraryDSAL, University of Chicago. Photographs taken during World War II by an American serviceman.
Parliament
- U.K. Parliamentary PapersIncludes House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes those Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees. Click on "find terms" link for subject delimiters, including an "India, Ceylon, Burma and Afghanistan" expandable subject category.
Politics/Public Affairs Myanmar/Burma
- Burma/Myanmar Elections Web ArchiveA collection of websites that document the General Elections of 2010, the by-elections of 2012, and the General Elections of 2015.
- Online Burma/Myanmar LibraryClassified and annotated links to more than 60,000 full text documents
Religions Multiregional Resources
Multiregional Asia religion resources are available here.
Multiregion Legal Databases
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHein Online contains the full text of numerous legal journals, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
- LLMC digital This link opens in a new windowLaw Library Microform Consortium.A non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally.
- South Asian Legal History ResourcesA website by Mitra Sharafi, legal historian at the University of Wisconsin. Mostly focused on the later colonial period of South Asian legal history, when British India was under the Raj (1858-1947).