An international partnership of universities, research institutes and NGOs, which completed its ten-year programme in 2011. This is an archived site. For current site see Chronic Poverty Advisory Network.
A network of researchers, policy makers and practitioners across 16 developing countries focused on tackling chronic poverty and getting to zero extreme poverty and deprivation (Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Nepal, Niger, Pakistan, Philippines, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Viet Nam). CPAN emerged from the Chronic Poverty Research Centre (CPRC).
A global financial platform, that showcases interest bearing products from leading banking. credit unions, p2p and financial providers from around the world. Data sources are from the financial institutions themselves and specifically from their public websites.
EFN Asia is a network of research institutes, influential think-tanks and individuals. It aims to promote the benefits of a civil society, market economy and individual liberty which together enhance human development and economic growth in Asia. EFN Asia provides a platform for political dialogue, public education and academic exchange in order to broaden public policy debate and inform people about the merits of a free economy and civil liberty. Our work revolves around two projects, the Economic Freedom of the World report and our yearly EFN Asia conferences.
"This database is a unique online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)'s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. The reports combine detailed statistical information with expert commentary and analysis from the EIU's analysts, providing high quality summaries of political, economic and commercial developments in almost 200 countries. Reports are reproduced in full and made available as page images with fully searchable text. In addition, figures and tables within each report are captured as separate objects and the data from each statistical table can be downloaded as a spreadsheet. Countries are indexed consistently, making it easy to find the relevant reports despite changes to the nomenclature and grouping of countries across the period. There is one record per report; a single report may cover two or more countries. The reports were produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit's country analysts drawing on a global network of contributors, with data selected and carefully scrutinized from national and international sources. They follow a consistent format for each country, although that structure has evolved over time."
Economist Intelligence Unit country reports archive.
Provides access to several EIU publications including Country Reports, Country Monitor, Country Commerce, Country Finance, and EIU ViewsWire. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts.
Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data.
U.S. Annual Reports is available exclusively through Mergent Online. International Annual Reports module offer access to the most recent annual reports on thousands of non-U.S. public companies, as well as an extensive archive of past years' annuals in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.
Refinitiv workspace provides access to financial data, news and content coverage in a highly customized workflow experience on your preferred device, at home or in the office. Unique workflows are currently available for students, investment bankers, and wealth advisors; additional workflows for analysts and portfolio managers, quants and developers, and traders are coming soon.
The goal of this website is to make data available to everybody in a social, interactive, visually compelling, and machine readable format. The data covers portions of the Bank Group’s investments, assets it manages on behalf of global funds, and the Bank Group’s own financial statements.
The AHRC is an independent, non-governmental body, which seeks to promote greater awareness and realisation of human rights in the Asian region, and to mobilise Asian and international public opinion to obtain relief and redress for the victims of human rights violations. AHRC promotes civil and political rights, as well as economic, social and cultural rights. Includes links to reports, news updates, country websites. Based in Hong Kong.
Explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Australia-Indonesia-East Timor; Bangladesh and India border; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Burma Thailand and Cambodia; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
The Commonwealth Secretariat’s publications are a key part of the organisation’s mission to work as a trusted partner for all Commonwealth people as a force for peace, democracy, equality and good governance; a catalyst for global consensus-building; and a source of assistance for sustainable development and poverty eradication. Each year, The Commonwealth publishes around 30 new titles on a range of topics in which it has particular insight and expertise, especially concerning small states, including globalisation and multilateral trade issues
export and enterprise development, education, gender, public service, management and reform, law and human rights. Columbia University selectively subscribes to this database, so pdf downloads will not be available for all materials.
The Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces is an international foundation whose mission is to assist the international community in pursuing good governance and reform of the security sector. See Asia region and publications links.
A collection of full-text primary source materials on ca. 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious and national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme.
FIDH is an international human rights NGO federating 178 organizations from 120 countries. Since 1922, FIDH has been defending all civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights as set out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Also includes relevant contributions from NISC's Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Also includes links to selected and websites."Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia."
Created in March 2020, at the onset of the pandemic, the Archive documents regional, social responses to the pandemic, which are critical in understanding the scope of the pandemic’s humanitarian, socioeconomic, and cultural impact.
The International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD) is a regional intergovernmental learning and knowledge sharing centre serving the eight regional member countries of the Hindu Kush Himalayas – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan – and based in Kathmandu, Nepal. ICIMOD collates, shares, and links to information on a multitude of topics relevant to mountain development, especially in the Hindu Kush Himalayan region. Links to all ICIMOD's publications online, HimalDoc, mountain geoportal, regional database system, stories, and other various information.
Presents reports prepared by political analysts for the International Crisis Group (ICG), a private, multinational organization. ICG analysts use field research techniques to gather information about various international crises. Reports are distributed to foreign ministries and international organizations. One can sign up for customized briefings alerts.
MPI is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. The research here focuses in particular on how the labor-sending countries of the region, notably the Philippines and other Colombo Process countries, manage these migration flows, engage in bilateral and multilateral cooperation with migrant-receiving nations, and engage their diasporas. The recruitment process and regulation of recruitment agencies also represent a strand of the work offered here.
NBR conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia. The institution organizes its research around three broad topics: politics and security; trade, economics, and energy; and international health.
Research Partnerships for Sustainable Development, headquartered in Switzerland. The NCCR North-South programme formally ended in June 2014 so the website is no longer being updated. Search interface includes filters for publications on South Asia and on Southeast Asia.
ORF research and analysis is rooted in independent, objective inquiry, and covers the fields of foreign policy, economy and development, governance, strategy, traditional and non-traditional security, and the social sector. Geography search facets include India and The Pacific, East and Southeast Asia.
Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.
An international research and communications programme established in 2006 with the aim of understanding and influencing efforts to bring about positive change in women’s lives. The South Asia Hub (based at BRAC University, Bangladesh) is one of four regional centers, and offers a comparative intra-regional enquiry into countries with a common majority Muslim identity.
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, etc. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries. Use advanced search to filter by country.
Archives of the Central British Fund for World Jewish Relief, 1933-1960 -- Records of the Department of State relating to the problems of relief and refugees in Europe arising from World War II and its aftermath, 1938-1949 -- Refugee files from the records of the Foreign Office, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the general correspondence files of the political departments of the Foreign Office, record group 371, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the public and judicial department collections of the British India Office, 1939-1952 -- Refugee records from the War Cabinet, the Colonial Office, the Home Office and the War Office, 1935-1949.
A specialized digital service of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). A leading source for reliable and timely humanitarian information on global crises and disasters. Includes browse by countries search.
SASFOR is an Online Think Tank for rigorous and comprehensive studies of the internal and external challenges to the political, socio-economic and military capabilities and complexities of this region and their impact on the geo-political scenario.
SAAPE’s main focus is poverty eradication through policy research, advocacy, lobbying and campaign works, focusing on food sovereignty, gender justice and demilitarization, democratisation and social justice issues in South Asia.
An NYU project to identify, prioritize, archive, preserve and make discoverable and accessible to scholars curated elements of documentation from and about South Asia produced by government agencies, NGOs, think tanks, community organizations, research centers, underground groups, religious sects, political parties, women’s groups, social activists, human rights organizations, LGBTQ advocacy groups, and other content creators.
Documents and preserves the work of activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas.
A project by the Institute for Conflict Management, an autonomous, non-governmental, non-profit society set up in 1997, based in New Delhi, India.The Institute is committed to the task of evaluating terrorist and violent movements which threaten the fabric of modern states in South Asia and recommend solutions.
A think - tank (founded in 2002) engaged in crafting new policy concepts that enable decision makers to prepare for a future in uncertain times. Works within three areas of focus: 1. Water Diplomacy 2. Peace, Conflict and Terrorism 3. Global Foresight.
An associated Institute of the University of Basel and member of the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences. Swisspeace is a practice-oriented peace research institute. It analyses the causes of violent conflicts and develops strategies for their peaceful transformation.
Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. The regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region. Includes subregional office links, publications, and ESCAP statistical database.
Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Includes material from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies bibliography database, Women's studies database (1972-present), New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-present), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990) and the MEDLINE subset on women (1964-2000). Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.
The World Bank. Published annually since 1978, each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of development—from agriculture, the role of the state, transition economies, and labor to infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty.
Fourteen volumes that contain chiefly despatches addressed to the State Department by U.S. consular officials at Batavia, Java, Netherlands East Indies (Jakarta, Indonesia), between September 25, 1818, and July 23, 1906. Some of the subjects to which the despatches relate are shipwrecks and disposition of castaway or runaway sailors; a tax on arriving vessels to pay seamen's expenses; a request in 1855 from Dutch authorities for compensation for subsidizing marooned American sailors; raids made by the CSS Alabama in the Sunda Strait; Dutch military operations against uprisings in outlying islands of the Malay Archipelago; epidemics; effectiveness of Dutch troops; a revolt in Indochina; the eruption in 1883 of the volcano on Krakatoa Island and the resulting damage; commerce and trade; the establishment of a postal savings bank for the Netherlands East Indies; and the attempt in 1886 by a new company to control imports in petroleum before the discovery of oil fields on the islands.
The records in this collection cover the internal and foreign policies, personalities, and events in a pivotal period of Indonesian history. The charismatic leader of Indonesia, Achmed Sukarno, steered his country between the political machinations of the Army Staff and the Indonesian Communist Party (PKI). These records consist of essential memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia's relations with its neighbors.
This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of U.S.-Southeast Asia relations between 1944 and 1958, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned the American role in Southeast Asia.
"Women and social movements in modern empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women's voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia."
Women and social movements in modern empires since 1820 / edited by Kathryn Sklar and Thomas Dublin.
Alexander Street. Includes just a few South/Southeast Asia films, including (from Bangladesh) The Clay Bird, (from India) One Track Heart: the Story of Krishna Das; Short Cut to Nirvana; West is West, (from Indonesia) Gods of Bali; Legong: Dance of the Virgins, and (from Thailand) Chang: a Drama of the Wildnerness
A collection of the Bijzondere Collecties Leiden. The collection contains 4500 photographs pertaining to the former Dutch Indies in the nineteenth and early twentieth century. avanese temples and other antiquities were photographed by the photographers Schaefer, Céphas and Van Kinsbergen. The photographer Kleingrothe devoted special attention to tropical agriculture. Lastly, Nieuwenhuis concentrated on the indigenous population, showing the various different aspects of their culture.
Hein Online contains the full text of numerous legal journals, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Law Library Microform Consortium.A non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally.
"Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with the 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 450 full-text titles, including all of the full-text titles in ATLASerials (ATLAS), in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries"--EBSCO website.
Editors: Jens Braarvi; Dag T. Haug; Frode Helland; Stephan Guth; University of Oslo, Norwegian Institute of Palaeography and Historical Philology.
A multilingual corpus of historically important texts and a resource to access the global history of concepts as displayed in a number of languages. It demonstrates how concepts diffuse historically into new languages, and thus into new cultural contexts. Sub-libraries include: Arabic texts; Biblia; Bibliotheca Polyglotta Graeca et Latina; Cuneiform multilinguals; Library of Old Norse; Motif library of mythology; Norwegian place names - Norske stedsnavn; Pāli Tipiṭaka; Sanskrit-Persica; The Ashoka library; The Kanjur Buddhist Sūtras in Tibetan; The multilingual Ibsen; Thesaurus Literaturae Buddhicae; Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Microforms format at Burke Library. Files (1955-1993) filmed at the World Council of Churches in Geneva detailing the creation and the development of the Dialogue between People of Living Faiths programme. Includes documents that provide information on the various Multi-faith consultations, including the Christian-Hindu dialogue, the Christian-Muslim dialogue and Christian-Buddhist dialogue. See See finding aid
English language abstracts drawn from a wide range of journals in various languages reflecting a wide array of complementary disciplines. The database is updated with 600 to 750 entries per year. Articles are classified into the following three large sections: method and theory, religions in context by area, and textual and conceptual traditions.
A digital initiative dedicated to encouraging informed public discourse and interdisciplinary scholarship on the culture and history of Muslim societies. Organized into three channels: Project, Pop, and Journal.
Harvard University. "The Pluralism Project is a two decade-long research project that engages students in studying the new religious diversity in the United States. We explore particularly the communities and religious traditions of Asia and the Middle East that have become woven into the religious fabric of the United States in the past twenty-five years."
International Bulletin of Missionary Research with Yale Divinity School Library. includes English-language doctoral dissertations without regard to country of origin. Second, rather than focusing narrowly on missions, it also includes dissertations dealing with Christianity outside the West. Excluded are dissertations about Christianity in Europe, Australasia, and North America, with the exception of aboriginal missions in those areas. Third, it expands the chronological scope to include dissertations presented since 1894. Over 6,250 titles as of May 2014.
Former name: Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center. Each collection contains multiple works on Tibetan literature which have been assembled specifically to be incorporated into institutional libraries. Each collection comprises roughly 1000 volumes from the TBRC holdings selected by E. Gene Smith, Executive Director of the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center. Within each Core Text Collection, each work is provided in both Adobe Acrobat PDF and TIFF formats.
Buddhist Digital Resource Center. Core text collections.
Includes detailed information on 9,000 Christian denominations and on religions in every country of the world. Extensive data are available on 238 countries and 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as on 5,000 cities and 3,000 provinces.
World Christian database / Center for the Study of Global Christianity, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary.
"The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050. The WRD also contains a feedback mechanism so that users can leave comments on sources or methodology related to any figure reported in the WRD. In addition, the WRD will be constantly updated with new sources of data as they become available, such as estimates of religious affiliation at the province level within countries and religious freedom information for all countries. "
World religion database: international religious demographic statistics and sources