Southeast Asia: Home
Scholarly resources for the region of Southeast Asia
Bibliographic Reference Guides--Multiregional
- Bibliography of Asian studies . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS) contains more than 850,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since. For 1941 through 1970, see print subject bibliography and author bibliography in the South Asian Studies Reading Room; additional print issues are Offsite.
- Genamics JournalSeek"The largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. The database presently contains 104870 titles [as of 11/1/2016]. Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as allow you to find new journals of interest to your field."
- Guide to the Indexing of South Asian Studies PeriodicalsIdentifies and lists indexed South Asian periodical titles. Hosted by University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
- Indica et Buddhica Publishers : Materials for Indology and Buddhology.
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Scholiast (a bibliographic database for Asian and Buddhist Studies), Tabulae (journals with Buddhist Studies material), Lexica (definitions from two Sanskrit-Tibetan word lists and a Sanskrit-English dictionary), and Repositorium (materials for Indology and Buddhology).
- JSTOR. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
- Online Museum Resources on Asian Art (OMuRAA)An initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University. Identifies online visual resources and indexes them in ways that are familiar to teachers and students in world history, world literature, and general art courses.
- PANDiT : Prosopographical Database for Indic TextsA digital humanities project with a unique and ambitious task: to create a database for the vast world of South Asian letters. PANDiT seeks to store, curate, and share reliable data on works, people, places, institutions, and manuscripts from premodern South Asia, in addition to relevant secondary sources, and to do so across period, language, discipline and subject matter. It is designed as an interactive web-based repository that scholars of every South Asian specialty and interest can contribute to and as a basic tool on which they will routinely come to rely.
- PARADISEC CatalogPacific And Regional Archive for DIgital Sources in Endangered Cultures curates digital material about small or endangered languages.
- Royal Asiatic Society's Digital LibraryRoyal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland. The site features archives, manuscripts, artwork, photographs, and more, from a variety of Asian cultures, as well as materials showing some of the ways Europeans have responded to Asia over the centuries.
- SALToC: South Asian Language Journals Cooperative Table of Contents ProjectA cooperative project among participating libraries to provide browsable tables of contents of journals in South Asian languages. Hosted and archived with permanent URLs by NYU Libraries.
- Siddham: the South Asia inscriptions databaseA resource for the study of inscriptions from South and Central Asia, which focuses on the period of the Guptas (circa 320 to 550). The project is based at the British Museum, British Library and the School of Oriental and African Studies.
- South and Southeast Asian literature : classic and postcolonial writers in English, 1825 to present. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The collection comprises literature written originally in English by writers who either were born in or identify themselves culturally with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji. Because the South and Southeast Asian Diasporas are so widely cast, the collection also includes the work of writers living or working in Africa, the United Kingdom, North America, and the Caribbean. The collection will focus upon literature written during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, but it will also include earlier work that is essential to scholarship in this area.
- Vaz̤āḥatī Urdū kitābiyāt (ʻimrānī ʻulūm) = Annotated Urdu bibliography (social sciences)tartīb va tahz̲īb, Anvar Muʻaẓẓam, Ashhar Farḥān.
Offsite Z7161.A22 2008g (v. 1-4) - South Asian Manuscripts at the Library of CongressProvides information about rare manuscripts in various South Asian languages (e.g., Sanskrit, Urdu, Tamil, Sinhalese) available for research in the Asian Division of the Library of Congress.
- The Treasury of lives : a biographical encyclopedia of Himalayan religion
- This link opens in a new window
A biographical encyclopedia of all known past masters of Himalayan religion, both Buddhist and Bo
- Worldwide political science abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.
- The WWW Virtual Library Asian StudiesSubcategories include Asian and Pacific Studies electronic journals, Burma (Myanmar), Papua (Indonesia), Philippines, Tibetan Studies
Multiregion Legal Databases
- HeinOnline . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hein Online contains the full text of numerous legal journals, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government. - LLMC digital . This link opens in a new windowLaw Library Microform Consortium.A non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally.
- South Asian Legal History ResourcesA website by Mitra Sharafi, legal historian at the University of Wisconsin. Mostly focused on the later colonial period of South Asian legal history, when British India was under the Raj (1858-1947).
Reference
- Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language. - America in World War Two : oral histories and personal accountsCollections sourced from the National WWII Museum, New Orleans. Documents how World War Two changed American society and the economy, the war's impact on individuals and their families, and the legacy of the war in human terms. From enlistment and training to deployment on the US Home Front or on campaigns overseas, the personal stories of these men and women demonstrate the broad spectrum of American involvement in the conflict. Chronology includes a Southeast Asia facet.
- Border and Migration Studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
Explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Australia-Indonesia-East Timor; Bangladesh and India border; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Burma Thailand and Cambodia; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
- Buddhist Digital Resource Center. This link opens in a new windowArchive of digital images of scanned Buddhist literature in Tibetan and other languages from the Buddhist Digital Resource Center. Access to digital texts provided by detailed indices called outlines. Literature can be retrieved by author, title, and subject. Also includes information in a knowledge base about relationships among works, people, institutions, and places.
- China and the modern world. This link opens in a new window"Diplomacy and Political Secrets comprises a compilation of rare China-related historical documents selected from three series within the India Office Records now held at the British Library: the Political and Secret Department Records, the Burma Office records, and the Records of the Military Department. These documents consist of manuscripts and monographs in the form of reports, memoranda, correspondence, pamphlets and official publications, intelligence diaries, accounts of political and scientific expeditions, travel diaries, handbooks and maps.
- Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1959-1979This collection of Foreign Office Files provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict. Published in two sections, Conflict in Indochina explores the rising tension across Indochina after 1959: Crisis and Upheaval, 1959-1964; Escalation, Reunification and Withdrawal, 1965-1979
- DREAMSEA RepositoryDigital Repository of Endangered and Affected Manuscripts in Southeast Asia (DREAMSEA) is a Programme that strives to preserve the content of manuscripts in the entire region of Southeast Asia. The Programme is carried out by the Center for the Study of Islam and Society (PPIM) Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta State Islamic University (UIN) Jakarta, Indonesia, in cooperation with the Centre for the Study of Manuscripts Culture (CSMC), University of Hamburg, Germany. The Programme is supported by Arcadia, a philanthropic institution based in London, England. The programme lasts for up till five years (2017-2022) and takes place throughout the year on a full-time basis.
- East View Global Press ArchiveEncompassing newspapers in more than 30 languages, GPA will ultimately include thousands of titles from across the globe, all presented in full-image and full-text format optimized for scholarly use.
- Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
- This link opens in a new window
The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments being played and in isolation. This resource provides a wealth of materials for the interdisciplinary study of ethnomusicology; whether the focus is on music, anthropology, dance, religion or spirituality.
- Foreign Office files for South East Asia, 1963-1980. This link opens in a new windowThis resource comprises British Foreign and Commonwealth Office files and selected files from the Prime Minister's Office and Defence Intelligence. The resource is in two sections: Cold War in the Pacific, Trade Relations and the Post-Independence Period, 1963-1966, and Foundations of Economic Growth and Industrialisation, 1967-1980.
- Leiden University Libraries Digital CollectionsIncludes substantial Southeast Asia collections, such as Aceh Books, Balinese Narrative Drawings, Sino-Malay Texts, Southeast Asian Pop Music.
- Nikkei Asia
- This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated coverage of business, markets, technology, politics, economics, and culture in East, Southeast, and South Asia
- PAIS Index . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.
- Policy Commons
- This link opens in a new window
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, etc. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries. Use advanced search to filter by country. - Reconceptualizing the Cold War: On-the-ground Experiences in AsiaAn online archive of oral history collections concerning the Cold War and decolonization in Asia, with a particular focus on East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- Refugees, relief and resettlement : forced migration and World War IIArchives of the Central British Fund for World Jewish Relief, 1933-1960 -- Records of the Department of State relating to the problems of relief and refugees in Europe arising from World War II and its aftermath, 1938-1949 -- Refugee files from the records of the Foreign Office, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the general correspondence files of the political departments of the Foreign Office, record group 371, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the public and judicial department collections of the British India Office, 1939-1952 -- Refugee records from the War Cabinet, the Colonial Office, the Home Office and the War Office, 1935-1949.
- Southeast Asia Banking and Finance Web ArchiveFocuses on the role of the government in the banking and financial sectors in Southeast Asia.
- Southeast Asian CollectionLibrary of Congress Research Guide
- Southeast Asia Collection--XasiaStaatsbibliothek zu Berlin (SBB). About 4000 titles of western language material related to East, Southeast, and Central Asia were digitized, including literature from the colonial period: e.g. English titles on Burma or the Malay Peninsula, French titles on Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam as well as Dutch writings about Indonesia.
- Southeast Asia Digital LibraryNorthern Illinois University Libraries. Contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
- Southeast Asian ArtFreer Sackler collections. Browse artworks online.
- Southeast Asian Digital Archive
This link opens in a new window
The UMass Lowell archive is a community-centered archive of cultural heritage materials from Southeast Asian American communities in the greater Lowell, Mass., region. - SouthEast Asian Images & TextsUniversity of Wisconsin Madison Libraries Digital Collections
- Southeast Asian NewspapersAn Open Access collection sponsored by the Center for Research Libraries.
- TROVE: National Library of Australia Collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives.
- U.S. intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991Provides students and researchers with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). Particular emphasis is given to America's principal antagonists in Asia during the Cold War era: the People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveA resource where students, researchers and specialists can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world. Covers Cold War International History Project, North Korea International Documentation Project, and Nuclear Proliferation International History Project.
Guides to Other Southeast Asia Collections
- Southeast Asian Collection: Asian Division Research GuideLibrary of Congress Research Guide
South Asian Studies Librarian
South/Southeast Asian Studies
Columbia South/Southeast Asia Libraries Newsletter
View archived newsletters and subscribe for new issues at this link.