Art History: Resources for Research: 6-Specialized Subject Bibliographies & Websites

Here is a brief list of sources for non-western arts. 
Be sure to look within the Columbia University Libraries website under the "Research Support" dropdown menu to "Research Guides" where all subject guides are located including individual geographic area subject specialist's guides. E.g. African, East Asian, Latin American, etc.

ABIA Index. (Online: 1990 to date)
Bibliographic database on South & Southeast Asian art and archaeology, compiled by International Institute for Asian Studies, covering articles, monographs, grey literature published 1990 to present.

Access to Mideast and Islamic resources / Charles E. Jones & Peter Magierski. (Online: 2010 to date)
Assembles information on open access materials relating to the Middle East. This blog includes a continuously updated list of open access journals in Middle Eastern studies and digitized Islamic manuscripts collections.

The ancient arts of western and central Asia: a guide to the literature.
[Avery-Fine Arts N35 G556]  by Bernard Goldman, 303 p., (1991).
Classified annotated bibliography (books, journal articles, exhibition catalogs, archaeological reports, etc.) on the arts of those who lived anywhere from the eastern shores of the Mediterranean to the eastern borders of Chinese Turkestan and from the Ukraine and southern Soviet Asia to Pakistan and the Arabian peninsula. Chronologically arranged from Neolithic to the coming of Islam.

Asia Art Archive. (Online)
Provides comprehensive resource material on contemporary Asian visual art from the region of mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macau. The searchable on-line catalog includes art-related exhibition catalogues, monographs, periodicals, leaflets, invitations, clippings, DVDs, CD-ROMS and videos. Site also available in Chinese and Japanese.

Banerjea, Jitendra Nath. The Development of Hindu Iconography. (1985)
[Avery-LC  N8195 I62 1985]

Bibliographie der Deutschsprachigen Arabistik und Islamkunde: von den Anfängen bis 1986 nebst Literatur über die arabischen Länder der Gegenwart and 1987-1994 und Nachträge. ed. Fuat Sezgin.
Butler Reference R016.95 B47 and R016.95 .R472
Classified unannotated bibliographies of German-language literature on the Islamic and Arabic world. Includes materials published up to 1986.

Bibliography of Asian Studies. (Online: 1971 to date)
Online version contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since.

Critical collective. (Online)
"Critical Collective is an initiative by art curator and critic Gayatri Sinha. Critical Collective works towards building knowledge in the arts in India. Since its inception in 2011, it has collaborated closely with institutions in India and abroad to create exhibitions and seminars on art. In order to take is activities on a larger scale; Critical Collective created criticalcollective.in. This website is intended to fill in the lacuna caused by an absence of publishing in the arts, a lack of reprints and a shortage of institutional infrastructure to support knowledge in the domain of the arts."

C.V. Starr East Asian Library. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
One of the premiere East Asian Libraries in the country, here at Columbia University.

Digital South Asia Library. (Online)
A collaborative effort to make South Asian resources available to the international community. Has bibliography section.

Eastview Universal Databases. (Online)
Provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Encyclopedia of diasporas : immigrant and refugee cultures around the world. (Online).
Contents: v. 1. Overviews and topics; v. 2. Diaspora communities.  "Published in conjunction with the Human Relataions Area Files (HRAF) at Yale University."

Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture / Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair. (Online: Part of  Oxford Islamic Studies Online )
[Avery AA380 G89]
“Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more."

Gu gong qi kan tu wen zi liao ku : Databases of articles and images from the National Palace Museum's periodicals. (Online)
Provides searchable full text access to four periodicals published by Taiwan Palace Museum: Gugong wen wu yue kan; Gugong ji kan; Gugong xue shu ji kan; Ying wen ban yue kan (or ban nian kan).

* Index Islamicus. (Proquest: Online vendor: 1906-to date)
Indexes material on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world from periodicals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, book reviews, websites, and other materials in European languages, Turkish, Malay and Bahasa Indonesia.

India, Raj & Empire. (Online)
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.

Journal of Asian Studies. (Online) Association of Asian Studies (1941 to date) (Print only from 1941-1955)
[Offsite DS 335.J6 & Starr East Asian DS 501.J82]
Each September issue has a classified current bibliography.

Kotar. (Online)
A collaboration of leading Israeli publishers, Kotar is a large collection of reference materials, scholarly books, biographies, and other materials related to Israeli and Jewish topics. Kotar aims to provide students, teachers, and scholars with the best sources of information published over the last 50 years in Hebrew, along with an online work environment. Kotar resources span Israel studies; Israeli culture, literature, history, education, and sociology; and other selected topics in the humanities and social sciences.

Middle East and Islamic Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Middle Eastern and Islamic studies available on the Internet.

Modern Chinese Art Websites =  Jin xian dai Zhongguo yi shu wang.  (Online)
A website devoted to creating modern Chinese artist websites. Thus far, containing websites for: Sanyu, Ding Yanyong, Pan Yuliang, Xiong Bingming and Liu Kuosung.

Online museum resources on Asian art. (Online)
OMuRAA (Online Museum Resources on Asian Art) is an initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University. It's purpose is to make the visual materials now available on the websites of many museums and arts-related educational institutions better known.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. (Pub.2001;released Online:2005)
Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors, tracing its history through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE, with the focus on dynastic Egypt. Treats all branches of Egyptology: archaeology, anthropology, architecture, linguistics, literary studies, epigraphy, papyrology, history, art history, religion, economics, ecology, geomorphology, and the life sciences.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
Ed. by John L. Esposito. Offers more than 5,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the first online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Primary source documents with editorial introductions. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context. Images provide useful visual perspectives on Islam. Users can refine the rich array of content to search and browse by era, topic, and geographic region, filter to view a specific type of content, and make use of a variety of search forms to set criteria for locating biographical entries, bibliographic references, primary sources, terms in the Qur'an and Concordance, and much more.

Russian, Eurasian & East European Studies. (Online:within Columbia University Libraries Website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Russian, Eurasian & Eastern European studies available on the Internet.

South and Southeast Asian Studies. (Online:within Columbia Library’s website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on South and Southeast Asia available on the internet.

Vanderstappen, Harrie A. The T.L. Yuan Bibliography of Western Writings on Chinese Art & Archaeology. (1975)
Avery-Fine Arts N7341 Av28

African Diaspora & African Literatures (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Africa available on the Internet. Organized, in part, by region and country, organization, and topic.

Berlo, Janet Catherine, ed. Early Years of Native American Art History: the Politics of Scholarship and Collecting. (1992) (Online)
A substantial bibliography follows each chapter.
Avery-Fine Arts N6501 Ea76 (copies available in multiple locations)

Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art: a digital archive and publications project at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. (Online)
Provides access to primary sources and documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. The uploading of documents to the archive is an ongoing process.

Encyclopedia of diasporas : immigrant and refugee cultures around the world. (Online).
Contents: v. 1. Overviews and topics; v. 2. Diaspora communities.  "Published in conjunction with the Human Relataions Area Files (HRAF) at Yale University."

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online. (Online: 1970 to date)
Citations to journal articles on Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics.

HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies Online) (Online: 1936 to date)
Both an index and print bibliography, humanities volume published every other year with section on art & architecture, organized by country. (Online version has poor interface.)

Latin American & Iberian Studies and Latin American and Iberian Cultures. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
Produced within Columbia University Libraries, this provides access to online scholarly documents and electronic resources on Latin America, Spain and Portugal available on the Internet.

Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC). (Online: 1940 to date)
Searchable tables of contents to over 500 journals published in Latin America in all subjects, most of which are not indexed by HAPI.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. . (Print pub:2001; released Online:2006)
Ed. by David Carrasco. Chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.