Art History: Resources for Research: 12-Geographical, Topographical Sources, Cultural Heritage & Guides
Library
Librarian
12-Geographical, Topographical Sources, Cultural Heritage & Guides
Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Atlases and Gazetteers
Ancient World Mapping Center. (Online)
"The Ancient World Mapping Center exists to promote cartography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies. The Home page communicates knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, its subject." With support from the National Endowment for the Humanities (2006-2007), the Ancient World Mapping Center has undertaken a major initiative to develop a functioning, international community of scholars, teachers, students and enthusiasts to collaborate in the updating and expansion of the spatial and historical reference information assembled by the Classical Atlas Project. To underpin these efforts, the Center is developing a web-based, multi-lingual, spatially-enabled community support system, built using open-source software and made freely available for reuse by other projects.
Atlas of world archaeology ed. by Paul G. Bahn (2000)
Avery-Fine Arts N5315 At65 (copies available in multiple locations)
Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world
ed. by Richard J.A. Talbert. (2000)
Avery Reference AA260 B27 (copies available in multiple locations). Double Folio (FF), CD-ROM in Microform Cabinet
1 vol. atlas, 2 vol. directory, and CD-ROM ed. Richard J.A. Talbert, 3 vol. (1383 p.) (2000)
Created by the Classical Atlas Project (now, the Ancient World Mapping Center), Barrington atlas should be useful to anyone with an interest in ancient Greeks and Romans, the lands they penetrated, and the peoples and cultures they encountered in Europe, North Africa and Western Asia.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World. (Online)
Names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
New York City Atlases and Landbooks. (Online:within Columbia Library's website)
A chronologically arranged bibliographic list of Atlases and Landbooks from 1852 to date.
Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World. Comprehensive 11th ed. (2003)
Avery AA948 T48113 FFF (copies available in multiple locations)
United Nations Geospatial Information Section. (Online)
Maps and geographic data.
Timelines, Guides & Guidebooks
Artnet news. (Online)
"artnet News is the world's first dedicated 24-hour global art market newswire. Our mission is to inform, engage, and connect to daily art world news and expert commentary."
Artslant. (Online)
"ARTSLANT, is a contemporary art network, which has comprehensive calendars for openings, exhibits and events, a worldwide community of professional artists, and local city editions for the art lover."
Artsy. (Online)
Artsy features the world's leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. Our growing database of 200,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 25,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art. Artsy is used by art lovers, museum-goers, patrons, collectors, students, and educators to discover, learn about, and collect art.
Baedeker's Handbook[s] for Travellers.
Avail. in Paper, many online via CLIO and also Offsite Microfiche FX3 1378
Guidebooks for cities, regions & countries prior to W. W. II.
(Search in CLIO: "Baedeker*" as keyword -- include asterisk)
Heilbrunn timeline of art history. (Online)
The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. Authored by The Met’s experts, the digital publication is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. The Timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, close to 7,600 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
Hyperallergic. (Online)
Hyperallergic is a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art and culture in the world today.
Touring Club Italiano. Guida d'Italia.
(Search in CLIO: "Guida d'Italia" as keyword)
An example of currently published guidebooks to cities, regions and countries after World War II.
Universes in universe--worlds of art. (Online)
"Universes in Universe is an essential resource for multipliers who shape public opinion, among them art critics, journalists, curators, heads and employees of cultural institutions, gallerists, artists, art collectors, patrons, as well as friends of the arts from all over the world."
Topographical Inventories
Dehio, Georg. Handbuch der Deutschen Kunstdenkmäler. many vols. (1964 to date)
Example of a currently published topographical inventory of man-made monuments.
Avery-Offsite AA 1061 D361...
NYC Public Art Map and Guide. (Online)
Produced by the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation.
Pevsner, Nicolas. Buildings of England. many vols. (1951 to date)
Avery and Avery offsite AA 964 to AA 969
(Look in card catalog and CLIO under this series title.)
Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites (Online) ed. Richard Stillwell, 1019 p. (1976).
Summaries of excavation results with references to full reports. Europe, Middle East, and Africa. Glossary, maps, map indexes, illustrations.
Society of Architectural Historians. Buildings of the United States. (1993 to date)
Inspired by Pevsner's series, the U.S. is now publishing a North American equivalent, state by state.
(Search in CLIO "Buildings of the United States" as keyword-include quotation marks)
Traulos, Joannes N. Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens. (1971)
Avery AA280 T69 (copies available in multiple locations)
Topographical Indexes
Orbis Latinus: Lexikon Lateinischer Geographischer Namen. (1971)
Avery Reference N29 Latin (on language dictionary shelves)
Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae (1993-2000)and Supplementum (2004 to date) and Suburbium (2001 to date). Ed. by Eva Margareta Steinby.
Avery AA320 L59 and AA 320 L593 and AA320 L594
Cultural Property & Cultural Heritage
International Cultural Property Protection. (Online)
(URL: http://exchanges.state.gov/heritage/culprop.html)
United States State Department, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Links to U.S. and international laws affecting issues of national cultural heritage.
UNESCO. World Heritage List. (Online)
The World Heritage List includes 890 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the World Heritage Committee considers as having outstanding universal value. Nodes are organized on a world map, or they may be reached through the individual site pages of the list itself. Includes OTVR tours.