Art History: Resources for Research: 11-Image Indexes & Online Image Sites

Please also see the guide "Image Collections Online."

Bartsch, Adam von. Le Peintre Graveur. 21 vols. (1802-1921) (Online)
Avery Reference NE800 B28

Bartsch The Illustrated Bartsch. (TIB) (1978 to date ) Hundreds of vols.
Images also currently available Online within ArtStor {see below this section}
Illustrations to A. Bartsch's classic catalog of prints listed above.
Avery Reference NE800 B2812

Courtauld Institute Illustration Archive.
Series 1: Cathedrals and monastic buildings in the British Isles; Series 2: 15th and 16th century sculpture in Italy; Series 3: Medieval architecture and sculpture in Europe; Series 4: Late 18th and 19th century sculpture in the British Isles.
Scattered parts at Metropolitan Museum of Art, Watson Library

Hollstein, F. W. H. Dutch and Flemish Etchings, Engravings, Woodcuts, ca. 1450-1700. (1949 to date) and The New Hollstein: Dutch and Flemish... (1993 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts Reference NE662 H72 and NE662 H721

Hollstein, F. W. H. German Engravings, Etchings, Woodcuts, 1400-1700. (1954 to date) and  The New Hollstein: German Engravings... (1996 to date)
Avery-Fine Arts Reference NE651 H72 and NE651 H721

Iconclass indexes: Early Netherlandish painting  [Avery Reference ND635 Ic7] This indexes images from: Early Netherlandish Painting / Max Friedlander (Avery Fine Arts ND635 F9122). {see Iconclass described in Iconography section}

Iconclass indexes: Dutch Prints [Avery Reference NE663 Ic7] This indexes images from Hollstein’s Dutch and Flemish etchings, engravings, and woodcuts, ca. 1450-1700 (Avery Reference NE662 H72) AND New Hollstein Dutch & Flemish etchings, engravings and woodcuts, 1450-1700  (Avery Reference  NE662 H721) AND The Illustrated Bartsch (Avery Reference NE800 B2812). {see Iconclass described in Iconography section}

Iconclass indexes: early German prints [Avery Reference  NE651 Ic7] This indexes images from The Illustrated Bartsch (Avery Reference NE800 B2812) AND Der deutsche Einblatt-Holzschnitt in der ersten Hälfte des XVI. Jahrhunderts / Max Giesberg (Avery Offsite NE1235 G27 F)  ALSO AS The German single-leaf woodcut, 1500-1550 / Max Geisberg (Avery Fine Arts NE1235 G272 Q) AND The German single-leaf woodcut, 1550-1600  / by Walter L. Strauss (Avery Fine Arts NE1000 G31) AND The German single-leaf woodcut, 1600-1700 / Dorothy Alexander (Avery Fine Arts NE1000 G313). {see Iconclass described in Iconography section}

Iconclass indexes: Italian prints [Avery Reference NE659 Ic7] This indexes images from The Illustrated Bartsch (Avery Reference NE800 B2812) AND Early Italian engraving / Arthur Hind (Avery Reference NE659 H58). {see Iconclass described in Iconography section}

Iconclass indexes: Rembrandt and his school [Avery Reference ND653 R28 L35] This indexes images from: Gemälde der Rembrandt-Schüler / Werner Sumowski (Avery Fine Arts ND646 G28) AND The drawings of Rembrandt  / by Otto Benesch (Avery Fine Arts ND653 R28 B4331) AND  The complete edition of the paintings [of] Rembrandt / A Bredius, rev by H. Gerson (Avery Fine Arts ND653 R28 R28351) {see Iconclass described in Iconography section}