Columbia University Archives: Summer Session

University Archives

Butler Library postcardColumbia University Archives
Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Butler Library, 6th Floor
535 West 114th Street
New York, NY 10027

Phone: (212) 854-3786
Fax: (212) 854-1365
E-mail: uarchives@columbia.edu

Map | Hours | Directions

Related Collections

Barnard College
The Barnard Archives and Special Collections serves as the final repository for the historical records of Barnard College, from its founding in 1889 to the present day. For more information, please contact archives@barnard.edu.

Health Sciences Library
The Archives and Special Collections at the Augustus C. Long Health Sciences Library of Columbia University can help you find information about the schools of the Medical Center: College of Physicians & Surgeons, School of Nursing, College of Dental Medicine (formerly the School of Dental & Oral Surgery), Mailman School of Public Health, and the College of Pharmaceutical Sciences. For more information, please contact hslarchives@columbia.edu.

Course Descriptions

Summer Session course descriptions

You can access paper copies of the Summer Schools Bulletins in Rare Book and Manuscript Library Reading Room. First, you will need to register your own Special Collections Research Account before your visit. Then, in the Request page, look towards the bottom of the page for the Manual Request Form. You will need to enter the following information for each volume you would like to request: Title, Call number, Academic Year and Volume Number.

Summer Session Bulletin
Call number: CX7 I

  • 1900 to 1934

Summer Session Bulletin
Call number:
CIB

  • 1935 Series 35 v.1
  • 1936 Series 36 v.1
  • 1937 Series 37 v.1
  • 1938 Series 38 v.1
  • 1939 Series 39 v.1
  • 1940 Series 40 v.1
  • 1941 Series 41 v.1
  • 1942 Series 42 v.1
  • 1943 Series 43 v.1
  • 1944 Series 44 v.1
  • 1945 Series 45 v.1
  • 1946 Series 46 v.1
  • 1947 Series 47 v.1
  • 1948 Series 48 v.1
  • 1949 Series 49 v.1
  • 1950 Series 50 v.1
  • 1951 Series 51 v.1
  • 1952 Series 52 v.1
  • 1953 Series 53 v.1
  • 1954 Series 54 v.1
  • 1955 Series 55 v.1
  • 1956 Series 56 v.1
  • 1957 Series 57 v.1
  • 1958 Series 58 v.1
  • 1959 Series 59 v.1
  • 1960 Series 60 v.1
  • 1961 Series 61 v.1
  • 1962 Series 62 v.1
  • 1963 Series 63 v.1
  • 1964 Series 64 v.1
  • 1965 Series 65 v.1
  • 1966 Series 66 v.1
  • 1967 Series 67 v.1
  • 1968 Series 68 v.3
  • 1969 Series 69 v.3
  • 1970 Series 70 v.3
  • 1971 Series 71 v.3
  • 1972 Series 72 v.3
  • 1973 Series 73 v.3
  • 1974 Series 74 v.3
  • 1975 Series 75 v.3
  • 1976 Series 76 v.3
  • 1977 Volume 11.1
  • 1978 Volume 12.2
  • 1979 to 2007
    (no volume number, available individually per year)

For more information on how to register and how to request materials, please see the Research & Access section of our website. Additional bulletins for the Summer Session programs are also available, including the subject specific guides for the 1930s (Courses in the Social Sciences, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics, and Graduate Courses in Modern Languages). If you have any questions, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

The Columbia University Libraries have been capturing columbia.edu domain websites via the Archive-It service since June 2010. As schools moved course description information from annual published paper catalogues to online-only distribution, we have found that our web archiving efforts often provide the only publicly available access points to old, online course descriptions.

Loading

About the image

Banner above names of Greek and Roman male writers at Butler Library with names of women authors: Sappho, Marie de France, Christine de Pizan, Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz, Bronte, Dickinson, Woolf, 1989 (scan 627). Buildings and Grounds Collection, University Archives, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University in the City of New York. For more information on this project by Laura Brown GS 1989, look for the additional coverage in the Columbia Spectator Digital Archive.