Columbia University Archives: Scanned Images

University Archives

Butler Library postcardColumbia University Archives
Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Butler Library, 6th Floor
535 West 114th Street
New York, NY 10027

Phone: (212) 854-3786
Fax: (212) 854-1365
E-mail: uarchives@columbia.edu

Map | Hours | Directions

Related Collections

Barnard College
The Barnard Archives and Special Collections serves as the final repository for the historical records of Barnard College, from its founding in 1889 to the present day. For more information, please contact archives@barnard.edu.

Health Sciences Library
The Archives and Special Collections at the Augustus C. Long Health Sciences Library of Columbia University can help you find information about the schools of the Medical Center: College of Physicians & Surgeons, School of Nursing, College of Dental Medicine (formerly the School of Dental & Oral Surgery), Mailman School of Public Health, and the College of Pharmaceutical Sciences. For more information, please contact hslarchives@columbia.edu.

Scanned Images

How to find scanned images

Over the years, the University Archives has scanned over 4,000 photographic prints, negatives and slides based on projects, online exhibitions, publication needs, and user requests. Images are normally scanned at 600 dpi for prints and 3200 dpi for 35mm negatives and slide transparencies.

 
To find images already scanned:
  • Search the UA Scanned Images spreadsheet. This document includes an ID or scan number for each item, a description and/or caption, the collection and any iinformation on the photographer or creator of the work.
  • Send an email for uarchives@columbia.edu with the scan numbers you are interested in looking at. We can then send you thumbnail images of those you would like to preview.
 
Reproduction services:

The University Archives provides reproductions of images and documents from our collections upon request as long as the staff determines that copying will not harm the original document(s) or violate current copyright law. If you wish to place an order, please print out the appropriate form from the choices below, fill it out as completely as possible, remembering to sign the copyright statement, and return with appropriate payment. 

All orders must be prepaid and are processed in order of receipt, usually within two to three weeks, if not sooner. Failure to sign the form or return it with your payment will result in a delay in processing your order.

For more information about reproduction services, visit the Use Policies & Services section of our website.

About the images

Top - Color photo of Columbia crew team,1970s. (Scan #3590) Historical Photograph Collection (Box 141, folder 27), University Archives, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University in the City of New York.

Right - Students gathered around Alma Mater statue, May 7, 1968. (Scan #773) Protests, 7 May 1968 (roll 47, print 47C) Office of Public Affairs Photograph Collection. University Archives, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University in the City of New York.