Columbia University Archives: Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

University Archives

Butler Library postcardColumbia University Archives
Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Butler Library, 6th Floor
535 West 114th Street
New York, NY 10027

Phone: (212) 854-3786
Fax: (212) 854-1365
E-mail: uarchives@columbia.edu

Map | Hours | Directions

Related Collections

Barnard College
The Barnard Archives and Special Collections serves as the final repository for the historical records of Barnard College, from its founding in 1889 to the present day. For more information, please contact archives@barnard.edu.

Health Sciences Library
The Archives and Special Collections at the Augustus C. Long Health Sciences Library of Columbia University can help you find information about the schools of the Medical Center: College of Physicians & Surgeons, School of Nursing, College of Dental Medicine (formerly the School of Dental & Oral Surgery), Mailman School of Public Health, and the College of Pharmaceutical Sciences. For more information, please contact hslarchives@columbia.edu.

Course Descriptions

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS) course descriptions

You can request paper copies of the Graduate Faculties and later Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS) Bulletins for use in Rare Book and Manuscript Library Reading Room. First, you will need to register your own Special Collections Research Account before your visit. Then, in the Request page, look towards the bottom of the page for the Manual Request Form. You will need to enter the following information for each volume you would like to request: Title, Call number, Academic Year and Volume Number.

Graduate Faculties Bulletin
Call number:
CIB

  • 1957-1958 - Series 57 v.1
  • 1958-1959 - Series 58 v.1
  • 1959-1960 - Series 59 v.2
  • 1960-1961 - Series 60 v.1
  • 1961-1962 - Series 61 v.1
  • 1962-1963 - Series 62 v.1
  • 1963-1964 - Series 63 v.1
  • 1964-1965 - Series 64 v.2
  • 1965-1966 - Series 65 v.1
  • 1966-1967 - Series 66 v.1
  • 1967-1968 - Series 67 v.1
  • 1968-1969 - Series 68 v.2
  • 1969-1970 - Series 69 v.2

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Bulletin
Call number:
CIB

  • 1970-1971 - Series 70 v.2
  • 1971-1972 - Series 71 v.2
  • 1972-1973 - Series 72 v.2
  • 1973-1974 - Series 73 v.2
  • 1974-1975 - Series 74 v.2
  • 1975-1976 - Series 75 v.1
  • 1976-1977 - Series 76 v.1
  • 1977-1978 - Series 77 v.2
  • 1978-1979 - Series 78 v.1
  • 1979-1980 to 2003-2005
    (no volume number, available individually per year)
 

Course bulletins before 1957-1958 were divided by the different Faculties: Political Science, Philosophy and Pure Science. Please review the faculty descriptions in the next tabs to see which academic department were part of which faculty. For more information about graduate courses, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

Before 1957, the Graduate Faculty bulletins were divided by Faculty. Courses taught by the Faculty of Political Science included the following disciplines: Anthropology (starting in 1946-1947, before that it was part of the Faculty of Philosophy), Economics, History, Mathematical Statistics, Public Law and Government, and Sociology.

You can request paper copies of the Bulletins or Announcements for use in Rare Book and Manuscript Library Reading Room. First, you will need to register your own Special Collections Research Account before your visit. Then, in the Request page, look towards the bottom of the page for the Manual Request Form. You will need to enter the following information for each volume you would like to request: Title, Call number, Academic Year and Volume Number.

  • History, Economics, and Public Law Announcements
    Call number: CWI
    Academic Years: 1914-1915 to 1942-1943, 1944-1945 to 1946-1947
     
    • History, Economics, and Public Law Announcements
      Call number: CI B
      Academic Year: 1943-1944 Series 43 v.2
       
  • Faculty of Political Science Announcements
    Call number: CWI
    Academic Years: 1947-1948 to 1956-1957

For more information on how to register and how to request materials, please see the Research & Access section of our website. Earlier bulletins for the Faculty of Political Science are available. For additional information, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

   

Before 1957, the Graduate Faculty bulletins were divided by Faculty. Courses taught by the Faculty of Philosophy included the following disciplines: Anthropology (until 1946, when it moved to the Faculty of Political Science), Classical Philology, Chinese, English and Comparative Literature, Germanic Languages, Indo-Iranian Languages, Japanese, Linguistics, Philosophy, Psychology (until 1947, when it moved to the Faculty of Pure Science), Religion, Romance Languages, Semitic Languages, and Slavic Languages.

You can request paper copies of the Bulletins or Announcements for use in Rare Book and Manuscript Library Reading Room. First, you will need to register your own Special Collections Research Account before your visit. Then, in the Request page, look towards the bottom of the page for the Manual Request Form. You will need to enter the following information for each volume you would like to request: Title, Call number, Academic Year and Volume Number.

  • Division of Modern Languages and Literature
    Call number:  CXI M
    Academic Years: 1904-1905 to 1938-1939, 1940-1941 to 1946-1947*
     
    • Division of Modern Languages and Literature
      Call number:
        CI B
      Academic Year: 1939-1940 Series 39 v.2
       
  • Division of Ancient and Oriental Languages
    Call number: CXI O
    Academic Years: 1910-1911 to 1946-1947
     
  • Division of Philosophy, Psychology and Anthropology
    Call number:  CXI P
    Academic Years: 1915-1916 to 1946-1947
     
  • Faculty of Philosophy
    Call number:
    CI B
    Academic Years:
    • 1947-1948 - Series 47 v.2
    • 1948-1949 - Series 48 v.3
    • 1949-1950 - Series 49 v.2
    • 1950-1951 - Series 50 v.2
    • 1951-1952 - Series 51 v.2
    • 1952-1953 - Series 52 v.2
    • 1953-1954 - Series 53 v.2
    • 1954-1955 - Series 54 v.2
    • 1955-1956 - Series 55 v.2
    • 1956-1957 - Series 56 v.1

For more information on how to register and how to request materials, please see the Research & Access section of our website. Earlier bulletins for the Faculty of Philosophy are available. For additional information, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

Before 1957, the Graduate Faculty bulletins were divided by Faculty. Courses taught by the Faculty of Pure Science included the following disciplines: Astronomy, Botany, Geology, Geography, Mineralogy (up to 1939), Mathematics, Physics, Psychology (starting in 1947), and Zoology. You can request paper copies of the Faculty of Pure Science Division Bulletins or Announcements for use in Rare Book and Manuscript Library Reading Room. First, you will need to register your own Special Collections Research Account before your visit. Then, in the Request page, look towards the bottom of the page for the Manual Request Form. You will need to enter the following information for each volume you would like to request: Title, Call number, Academic Year and, for some, Volume Number.

  • Division of Biology Announcements
    (including Anatomy, Bacteriology, Biochemistry, Botany, Pathology, Physiology, Zoology)
    Call number:  CZI B
    Academic Years:  1899-1900 to 1942-1943
     
  • Division of Biology Announcements
    (including Anatomy, Bacteriology, Biochemistry, Botany, Pathology, Physiology, Zoology)
    Call number:  CI B
    Academic Years:
    • 1943-1944 - Series 43 v.1
    • 1944-1945 - Series 44 v.1
    • 1945-1946 - Series 45 v.1
    • 1946-1947 - Series 46 v.1
       
  • Division of Geology, Geography, and Mineralogy Announcements
    Call number:  CZI G
    Academic Years: 1905-1906 to 1941-1942
     
  • Division of Geology, Geography, and Mineralogy Announcements
    Call number:  CI B
    Academic Years:

    • 1942-1943 - Series 42 v.1
    • 1943-1944 - Series 43 v.1
    • 1944-1945 - Series 44 v.1
    • 1945-1946 - Series 45 v.1
    • 1946-1947 - Series 46 v.1
       
  • Division of Mathematical and Physical Sciences Announcements (including Astronomy)
    Call number:  CZI M
    Academic Years:  1904-1906 to 1934-1935
     
  • Division of Mathematical and Physical Sciences Announcements (including Astronomy)
    Call number:  CI B
    Academic Years:
    • 1935-1936 - Series 35 v.2
    • 1936-1937 - Series 36 v.2
    • 1937-1938 - Series 37 v.1
    • 1938-1939 - Series 38 v.3
    • 1939-1940 - Series 39 v.1
    • 1940-1941 - Series 40 v.1
    • 1941-1942 - Series 41 v.1
    • 1942-1943 - Series 42 v.1
    • 1943-1944 - Series 43 v.1
    • 1944-1945 - Series 44 v.1
    • 1945-1946 - Series 45 v.1
    • 1946-1947 - Series 46 v.1
       
  • Faculty of Pure Science Announcements
    Call Number: CI B
    Academic Years:
    • 1947-1948 - Series 47 v.2
    • 1948-1949 - Series 48 v.3
    • 1949-1950 - Series 49 v.2
    • 1950-1951 - Series 50 v.2
    • 1951-1952 - Series 51 v.2
    • 1952-1953 - Series 52 v.2
    • 1953-1954 - Series 53 v.1
    • 1954-1955 - Series 54 v.1
    • 1955-1956 - Series 55 v.1
    • 1956-1957 - Series 56 v.1

For more information on how to register and how to request materials, please see the Research & Access section of our website. Earlier bulletins for the Faculty of Pure Science are available. For additional information, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

The Columbia University Libraries have been capturing Columbia.edu domain websites via the Archive-It service since June 2010. As schools moved course description information from annual published paper catalogues to online-only distribution, we have found that our web archiving efforts often provide the only publicly available access points to old, online course descriptions.

Loading

About the image

Banner above names of Greek and Roman male writers at Butler Library with names of women authors: Sappho, Marie de France, Christine de Pizan, Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz, Bronte, Dickinson, Woolf, 1989 (scan 627). Buildings and Grounds Collection, University Archives, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University in the City of New York. For more information on this project by Laura Brown GS 1989, look for the additional coverage in the Columbia Spectator Digital Archive.