Columbia University Archives: General Studies

University Archives

Butler Library postcardColumbia University Archives
Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Butler Library, 6th Floor
535 West 114th Street
New York, NY 10027

Phone: (212) 854-3786
Fax: (212) 854-1365
E-mail: uarchives@columbia.edu

Map | Hours | Directions

Related Collections

Barnard College
The Barnard Archives and Special Collections serves as the final repository for the historical records of Barnard College, from its founding in 1889 to the present day. For more information, please contact archives@barnard.edu.

Health Sciences Library
The Archives and Special Collections at the Augustus C. Long Health Sciences Library of Columbia University can help you find information about the schools of the Medical Center: College of Physicians & Surgeons, School of Nursing, College of Dental Medicine (formerly the School of Dental & Oral Surgery), Mailman School of Public Health, and the College of Pharmaceutical Sciences. For more information, please contact hslarchives@columbia.edu.

Course Descriptions

General Studies course descriptions

You can request the paper copies of the General Studies Bulletins for use in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library Reading Room. First, you will need to register your own Special Collections Research Account before your visit. Then, in the New Request page, look towards the bottom of the page for the Manual Request Form. You will need to enter the following information for each volume you would like to request: Title, Call number and Academic Year (and note that some include a volume number).

University Extension Bulletin
Call number: CX6 I

  • 1904-1905 to 1934-1935

University Extension Bulletin - Spring Supplement
Call number:
CX6 I2

  • 1911 Spring to 1931 Spring
  • 1933 Spring
  • 1935 Spring
  • 1936 Spring
  • 1938 Spring

University Extension Bulletin - Spring Supplement
Call number:
CIB

  • 1932 Spring Series 32 v.1
  • 1934 Spring Series 34 v.1
  • 1937 Spring Series 37 v.1

University Extension Bulletin
Call number:
CIB

  • 1935-1936 Series 35 v.2
  • 1936-1937 Series 36 v.1
  • 1937-1938 Series 37 v.2
  • 1938-1939 Series 38 v.2
  • 1939-1940 Series 39 v.2
  • 1940-1941 Series 40 v.2
  • 1941-1942 Series 41 v.2
  • 1942-1943 Series 42 v.2
  • 1943-1944 Series 43 v.2
  • 1944-1945 Series 44 v.2
  • 1945-1946 Series 45 v.2
  • 1946-1947 Series 46 v.2

Afternoon, Evening, and Saturday Classes Bulletin
Call number:
CIB

  • 1947-1948 Series 47 v.1
  • 1948-1949 Series 48 v.2

General Studies Bulletin
Call number: CIB

  • 1949-1950 Series 49 v.3  
  • 1950-1951 Series 50 v.3  
  • 1951-1952 Series 51 v.3
  • 1952-1953 Series 52 v.3
  • 1953-1954 Series 53 v.2  
  • 1954-1955 Series 54 v.2
  • 1955-1956 Series 55 v.2  
  • 1956-1957 Series 56 v.2
  • 1957-1958 Series 57 v.2  
  • 1958-1959 Series 58 v.2  
  • 1959-1960 Series 59 v.1  
  • 1960-1961 Series 60 v.2  
  • 1961-1962 Series 61 v.1
  • 1962-1963 Series 62 v.1  
  • 1963-1964 Series 63 v.1  
  • 1964-1965 Series 64 v.1  
  • 1966-1967 Series 66 v.2  
  • 1967-1968 Series 67 v.3  
  • 1968-1969 Series 68 v.3  
  • 1969-1970 Series 69 v.3  
  • 1970-1971 Series 70 v.3
  • 1971-1972 Series 71 v.3
  • 1972-1973 Series 72 v.3
  • 1973-1974 Series 73 v.3  
  • 1974-1975 Series 74 v.3  
  • 1975-1976 Series 75 v.3
  • 1976-1977 Series 76 v.2  
  • 1977-1978
  • 1978-1980 (Part I) Program
  • 1978-1979 (Part II) Course Offering
  • 1979-1980 (Part II) Course Offering
  • 1980-1982 (Part I) Program
  • 1980-1981 (Part II) Course Offering
  • 1981-1982 (Part II) Course Offering
  • 1982-1984 (Part I) Program
  • 1982-1983 (Part II) Course Offering
  • 1983-1984 (Part II) Course Offering
  • 1984-1985 to 2006-2007
    (no volume number, available individually per year)
 

For more information on how to register and how to request materials, please see the Research & Access section of our website. Additional bulletins for the University Extension or the School of General Studies programs are also available, including the American Language Program, Secretarial Studies, Home Study, Special Courses in Writing, Courses in Spoken Language and Library Economy. For additional information, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

The Columbia University Libraries have been capturing Columbia.edu domain websites via the Archive-It service since June 2010. As schools moved course description information from annual published paper catalogues to online-only distribution, we have found that our web archiving efforts often provide the only publicly available access points to old, online course descriptions.

Loading

About the image

Banner above names of Greek and Roman male writers at Butler Library with names of women authors: Sappho, Marie de France, Christine de Pizan, Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz, Bronte, Dickinson, Woolf, 1989 (scan 627). Buildings and Grounds Collection, University Archives, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University in the City of New York. For more information on this project by Laura Brown GS 1989, look for the additional coverage in the Columbia Spectator Digital Archive.