Columbia University Archives: Columbia College

University Archives

Butler Library postcardColumbia University Archives
Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Butler Library, 6th Floor
535 West 114th Street
New York, NY 10027

Phone: (212) 854-3786
Fax: (212) 854-1365
E-mail: uarchives@columbia.edu

Map | Hours | Directions

Related Collections

Barnard College
The Barnard Archives and Special Collections serves as the final repository for the historical records of Barnard College, from its founding in 1889 to the present day. For more information, please contact archives@barnard.edu.

Health Sciences Library
The Archives and Special Collections at the Augustus C. Long Health Sciences Library of Columbia University can help you find information about the schools of the Medical Center: College of Physicians & Surgeons, School of Nursing, College of Dental Medicine (formerly the School of Dental & Oral Surgery), Mailman School of Public Health, and the College of Pharmaceutical Sciences. For more information, please contact hslarchives@columbia.edu.

Course Descriptions

Columbia College course descriptions

You can request paper copies of the Columbia College Bulletins for use in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library Reading Room. First, you will need to register your own Special Collections Research Account before your visit. Then, in the New Request page, look towards the bottom of the page for the Manual Request Form. You will need to enter the following information for each volume you would like to request: Title, Call number and Academic Year (and note that some include a volume number).

Columbia College Bulletin
Call number: CTI

  • 1896-1897 to 1956-1957
  • 1959-1960 to 1964-1965
  • 1967-1968 to 1978-1979

Columbia College Bulletin
Call number:
CIB

  • 1957-1958 - Series 57 v.1
  • 1958-1959 - Series 58 v.1
  • 1965-1966 - Series 65 v.1
  • 1966-1967 - Series 66 v.1
  • 1979-1980 to the 2013-2014 (no volume number, available individually per year)
    Please note that after 2005-2006, course descriptions were no longer included in the print copies of the Columbia College Bulletins.  Print copies were discontinued after 2013-2014.

For more information on how to register and how to request materials, please see the Research & Access section of our website. Earlier bulletins for Columbia College, starting from 1896-1897, are also available. Information about early curriculum can also be found in the Archives. For additional information, please contact uarchives@columbia.edu.

For online access to Columbia College Bulletins:

  • You can look up the Bulletins and course descriptions looking at the following archived websites. These sites are available through the Internet Archive's WayBack Machine and the Columbia University Libraries' Archive-It account. (For more information, please visit the University Archives Web Archives page. 

Internet Archive's
WayBack Machine

 

University Archives'
Archive-It

  • Below are the list of Bulletins available for download as PDFs:

Bulletin only:

Bulletin with
course descriptions:

  • Columbia College maintains the last few year’s Bulletins available on their Archived Bulletins website.
Loading ...

About the image

Banner above names of Greek and Roman male writers at Butler Library with names of women authors: Sappho, Marie de France, Christine de Pizan, Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz, Bronte, Dickinson, Woolf, 1989 (scan 627). Buildings and Grounds Collection, University Archives, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University Libraries. For more information on this project by Laura Brown GS 1989, look for the additional coverage in the Columbia Spectator Digital Archive.