India: Newspapers/Periodicals
Resources for Indian studies
South Asia Periodicals Guides
- Church Missionary Society periodicals. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter."
- eSocialSciencesOnline multidisciplinary social science portal. Primary focus on social sciences and humanities on (and largely in) India and South Asia
- Guide to the Indexing of South Asian Studies PeriodicalsIdentifies and lists indexed South Asian periodical titles. Hosted by University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
- Ideas of IndiaA searchable index of the contents of historically significant periodicals of India
- Indica et Buddhica Publishers : Materials for Indology and Buddhology.
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Scholiast (a bibliographic database for Asian and Buddhist Studies), Tabulae (journals with Buddhist Studies material), Lexica (definitions from two Sanskrit-Tibetan word lists and a Sanskrit-English dictionary), and Repositorium (materials for Indology and Buddhology). - International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and GazettesInformation on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide, compiled by Irene Joshi
- ISID--Journal and Newspaper SearchesOnline indexes of Indian social sciences journals, Institute for Studies in Industrial Development, requires (free) sign up
Muslim India in British journals by Call Number: Offsite DS479 .M865 2011ISBN: 9789693524055Publication Date: 2011
- NISCAIR Online Periodicals RepositoryFull text articles from research journals published by National Institute of Science Communication and Information Resources, New Delhi, India
- Open Index InitiativeDatabase for Indian social science literature in public domain.
- SALToC: South Asian Language Journals Cooperative Table of Contents ProjectA cooperative project among participating libraries to provide browsable tables of contents of journals in South Asian languages. Hosted and archived with permanent URLs by NYU Libraries.
- Service newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new windowCollection of newspapers produced by and/or for service members during and immediately after World War II (1939-1948), featuring titles from the major theatres, for both Allied and Axis forces.
- South Asian Newspapers at the Library of CongressLists of the Library’s South Asian newspapers available in the Asian Reading Room (South Asian languages) and the Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading Room (English), as well as select titles available through e-resources.
- South Asia Newspapers in Africa regionAfrica's historical newspapers provides full-text access to historical newspapers from Africa. Includes South Asia content such as Indian Opinion and Indian Voice of British East Africa.
- South Asia Research Documentation Services 3 (SARDS3)An electronic database containing bibliographic references to South Asia research articles published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc. Focused on the humanities and social sciences, covering the period of 1797 to 2000. a joint undertaking of the Indological Chairs at the Universities of Bonn, Halle, Munich and the management of the University Library Halle.
- South Asian NewspapersFrom the World Newspaper Archive, in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. Includes titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
- South Asian Periodicals IndexBibliographic citations to periodical literature published in and about South Asia, hosted by University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
- South Asian Union CatalogueAn historical bibliography describing books and periodicals published in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, colonial Burma, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1556 through the present and a union catalogue of holdings.
- TULIP: the universal list of Indian PeriodicalsAuthor: Nagar, Murari Lal; Nagar, Sarla Devi
Indian Newspapers
Other Journalism Guide
See also: Journalism in South Asia
- Gale primary sources. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper and collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple products owned by their institution, including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Parts I and II; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Times Digital Archive 1785-1985; and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005.
Periodical Repositories
- Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
- Church Missionary Society periodicals. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009. Module 1 features publications from the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society between 1804 and 2009. The focus of this second module is on the publications of CMS medical mission auxiliaries, the work of the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society among women in Asia and the Middle East, newsletters from native churches and student missions in China and Japan, and 'home' material including periodicals aimed specifically at women and children subscribers. The longest-running series in this part is India’s Women (and subsequent titles), through which the work of the CEZMS in China and India, from 1880 to 1957, can be studied. CMS medical journals encompass the work of medical missionaries and mission hospitals in all fields, including Africa, the Middle East, India and China. The principal series is Mercy and Truth, which was published from 1897-1940.
- East View Global Press ArchiveEncompassing newspapers in more than 30 languages, GPA will ultimately include thousands of titles from across the globe, all presented in full-image and full-text format optimized for scholarly use.
- Periodicals and Newspapers from BengalThe Hiteshranjan Sanyal Memorial Archive is a huge collection of textual and visual materials mainly focused on colonial Bengal. Starting in 1993, the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta (CSSSC) has undertaken the task of microfilming and digitising a huge amount of textual sources, including all the major journals of colonial Bengal. The textual part of this collection is from now on going to be made available on CrossAsia-Repository.
- ProQuest historical newspapers. Hindustan times This link opens in a new window"This nationalist daily and one of the largest newspapers in India, was founded in 1924 by the leader of the Akali movement, Sunder Singh Lyallpuri. Introduced at the opening ceremony by Mahatma Gandhi and edited by his son, Devdas Gandhi, the Hindustan Times played an essential role in the Indian independence movement. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more. This paper is the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India)."--Publisher information
- South Asia NewspapersGlobal Press Archive (East View). Daily Business Post (Karachi, Pakistan: 1963.08.01 to 1973.02.13); Dainika basumatī (দৈনিক বসুতী) (Kolkata, India: 1962.01.04 to 1992.08.31); Dnyānaprakāśa (ज्ञानप्रकाश : the daily Dnyan Prakash) (Pune, India: 1914.10.05 to 1938.08.27); Eastern Examiner (Chittagong, Bangladesh: 1962.01.18 to 1973.09.27); Kerala Chronicle (Thrissur, India: 1962.01.01 to 1963.12.31); Lahore Chronicle (Lahore, Pakistan: 1850.06.05 to 1868.11.28); Malabar Herald (Kochi, India: 1962.01.06 to 1972.12.23); Pakistan Observer (Dhaka, Bangladesh: 1962.01.01 to 1971.02.28); Payām-i mujāhid (Kabul, Afghanistan: 1997.03.05 to 2010.11.13); Samaja (Lalitpur, Nepal: 1978.06.15 to 1983.12.14)
- ProQuest historical newspapers. Times of India (1838-2002) . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Times of India (1838-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1838-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current).