Provides access to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920. India specific resources include an account of Niccolò de Conti's trip to India, Wm. Keelings journall of his 3d voyage to East India, and Regimento de Pilotos e Roteiro da Índia Oriental (a guide for navigators sailing from Portugal to India).
Columbia University Libraries Archival Collections. Ainslie Embree (1921-2017) was a leading scholar of modern South Asian history and notable for his influence on the introduction of the field into United States university curricula. He was Professor of History at Columbia University and Director of the Southern Asia Institute. The collection contains material related to Embree's scholarly work, including teaching, research, and writing and publishing, as well as some personal materials.
Contains correspondence, minutes, reports, resolutions and other documents related to the Congresses, General Council, Working Committee and the Secretariat of the AITUC; regional organizations and affiliates including Assam (AITUC), Andaman (AITUC), Andhra Pradesh, Bihar (AITUC)
Butler microforms, 4 reels. Foreign Office Files relating to the Opium Trade and the United Nations Commission on Narcotic Drugs. The material is truly international with memoranda, papers and correspondence reflecting activity in Burma, Syria, the Lebanon, Cyprus, the Middle East, the Persian Gulf, India and Ceylon, Afghanistan, Ethiopia, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia, the Philippines, North Borneo and Sarawak. See online guide.
"Diplomacy and Political Secrets comprises a compilation of rare China-related historical documents selected from three series within the India Office Records now held at the British Library: the Political and Secret Department Records, the Burma Office records, and the Records of the Military Department. These documents consist of manuscripts and monographs in the form of reports, memoranda, correspondence, pamphlets and official publications, intelligence diaries, accounts of political and scientific expeditions, travel diaries, handbooks and maps.
Microfilm available at CRL and other institutions.
pt. 1. Society for Promoting Female Education (FES) in China, India and the East, 1834-1899 --
pt. 2. India's women and China's daughters, 1880-1939 and Looking east at India's women and China's daughters, 1940-1957 --
pt. 3. Homes of the east, 1910-1948 (including Torchbearer from 1914), Daybreak, 1889, 1893-1894 and 1906-1909, and The Indian female evangelist, 1872-1880. 1896; Preaching and healing, 1900-1906 --
pt. 4. The Indian female evangelist, 1881-1893, continued as The Zenana: or, Woman's work in India, 1893-1935, continued as The Zenana: Women's work in India and Pakistan, 1936-1956 from Interserve, London --
pt. 5. Minutes of the Zenana, Bible and Medical Mission, 1865-1937 and the Annual reports of the Indian Female Normal School and Instruction Society, 1863-1879 from Interserve, London.
Microfilm available at CRL and other institutions.
Part 1. India general, 1811-1815 and North India Mission, 1815-1881 (reel 1-21) --
Part 2. North India Mission, 1844-1886 (reel 22-45) --
Part 3. India General, 1811-1815, and South India Mission, 1815-1884 (reel 46-68) --
Part 4. South India Mission, 1834-1880 (reel 69-92).--
Part 5. South India Mission, 1834-1880 (reel 93-116).--
Part 6. North India Mission, 1817-1880 (reel 117-138) --
Part 7. Madras Mission and Bombay Mission, 1935-1959 (reel 139-160) --
Part 8. India General and Bengal Mission, 1935-1959 (reel 161-182) --
Part 9. Punjab and Sindh Mission, 1935-1959 (reel 183-199).
"From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter."
The Churchill Archive' is a massive resource that brings together online nearly a million documents amassed by Winston Churchill through out his lifetime, including hand-written notes and private letters. It will also offer an expanding range of additional materials - pedagogical resources and secondary materials, video and audio content, and more."Published in October 2012 by Bloomsbury Publishing in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, the Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill's personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders"--Publisher's description.Complementing the core content, the Churchill Archive offers a range of additional materials, including pedagogical resources and secondary materials, plus editorially selected links to other resources, video and audio content, and biographical and bibliographic databases. The original papers for this collection are deposited at Churchill College, Cambridge, UK, with complementary materials sourced from various locations in the UK.
Edited by Michael C. Davis ; guide compiled by Blair Hydrick. 2 microfilm reels.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence.
Author: United States. Department of State. Published: Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Services Administration, 1969. 7 microfilm reels. See Guide for contents.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence.
Author: United States. Consulate (Bombay, India). Published: Washington : National Archives, 1950. 8 reels.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence.
Focused on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994. Includes Gandhi-Luthuli Documentation Centre resources.
Offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.
A collection of full-text primary source materials on ca. 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious and national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme.
Evangelism in India took the form primarily of village itineration where male and female missionaries ministered to the spiritual needs of the populace while simultaneously attending to their medical and educational needs. The collection documents the Board of Foreign Missions' tripartite ministry (Farukhabad, Punjab, and the West Indian missions) in India but also reflects the development of the modern Indian state in a broader sense. Reaction to foreigners generally and Protestant missionaries specifically, discontent with British rule and the development of the Independence movement, and racial and internecine religious warfare between Hindu and Muslim populations are well documented.
Evangelism in India : correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1833-1910.
Material from the British government on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. Includes DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew. Section I, Independence, partition and the Nehru era, 1947-1964 -- Section II, South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1965-71 -- Section III, Afghanistan and the Cold War, emergency rule in India, and the resumption of civilian rule in Pakistan, 1972-80.
Primary sources include 100 volumes of collected works of Gandhi; 82 volumes of Gandhiji no Akshar Deha; and 97 volumes of Sampoorna Gandhi Vangmaya. Other resources include a chronology, Gandhi heritage sites, and related items.
"This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices."
Global commodities : trade, exploration & cultural exchange.
During World War I, Indian nationalists took advantage of Great Britain's preoccupation with the European war by attempting to foment revolution in India to overthrow British rule. Their activities were aided politically and financially by the German Government. Indian nationalists in the United States were active in the independence movement effort through fundraising, arms buying, and propagandizing through the Hindustan Ghadar newspaper published in San Francisco.
Hindu conspiracy cases : activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933.
Independent India's first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.
India from crown rule to republic, 1945-1949 : records of the U.S. State Department.
Reproduces imperial gazetteers (1881, 1885-1887, 1907-1909); provincial gazetteers (1908-1909); and district gazetteers (1822-1945) filmed from the collections of the India Office Library and supplemented by additions from other libraries. 5,932 microfiches. For the microfiches, see Butler Microforms MICFICHE FX3 7292. For a printed guide, see Gazetteers of India in the British period, Leiden, The Netherlands : IDC, 1991 at Butler Microforms (401 Butler) FX3 7292 guide.
Available interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries."Most of the pre-1947 India Legislative Assembly and Council Debates, from the central and the provincial governments." Covers 1854-1947. CRL has cataloged the individual titles, but not the set as a whole. Search individual titles at CRL.
Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.
For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man's land between India and Afghanistan. This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives. This collection is a welcome addition to the new-flourishing literature on the military history of South Asia and the growing field of serious study of the British military experience in India.
Indian Army and colonial warfare on the frontiers of India, 1914-1920 .
The documents in this resource come from the archives of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). Some are true archives, arising from the work of the Society in India; some are manuscripts which cover the period when the Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge (SPCK), founded in 1698 was working with the Royal Danish (Lutheran) Mission, founded in 1705. They chart the history of Anglican Protestant engagement in the region from shortly after the strategic turning point in the fortunes of the East India Company wrought by Colonel Robert Clive in the 1750s, through to the toppling of Tipu Sultan in 1799, the controversial changes to the EIC's charter in 1813, the Sepoy Rebellion of 1856-1857, and on right through to Partition in 1947. As with the Society's missions elsewhere in the world, the documents also trace the gradual shift that began in the early 19th century from a church dependent on English priests to one increasingly led by indigenous clergy. Accompanied by an online guide to the collection by Isobel Pridmore, formerly the archivist at the USPG, whose archives are now held at Rhodes House Library in Oxford.
Indian and Sri Lankan records from colonial missionaries, 1770-1931.
Indian Newspaper Reports constitute an important series to be found in the Record Department Papers of the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library. The reports consist of abstracts taken from Indian newspapers." Covers Bengal, 1874-1903 (27 reels); Bengal, 1904-1916 (26 reels); Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c1868-1896 (29 reels); United Provinces, 1897-1937 (29 reels); Madras, 1876-1921 (32 reels); Bombay, 1874-1898 (18 reels); Bombay, 1901-1921; Punjab 1896-1924; Sind 1936-1939; Burma 1938-1942; Bihar and Orissa 1920.
Columbia does not own this microform collection, but it is available in other Borrow Direct libraries including CRL, Harvard, Princeton, University of Pennsylvania, and Yale. Most of this collection is also available for digital access on the South Asia Open Archives
"The papers of two leading actors in the East India Company in mid-18th century Bengal from the National Library of Wales. Chiefly in English, but with an array of original correspondence with local figures in Indo-Persian and occasionally Bengali, Marathi and Tamil, this collection allows researchers to understand the complex political web in the subcontinent as the power of the Mughal Empire began to wane."
Indian papers of Colonel Clive and Brigadier-General Carnac, 1752-1774 .
"Correspondence and papers of Sir Gilbert Elliot Murray Kynynmound (1751-1814), who succeeded as 4th Bart. in 1777, assumed the additional names of Murray Kynynmound on succeeding to his mother's properties in 1778, and was created Baron Minto in 1797 and Earl of Minto in 1813. He was M.P. for Morpeth, 1776-7, for Roxburghshire, 1777- 1784, for Berwick-upon-Tweed, 1786-90, and for Helston, 1790-5; and served as Civil Commissioner at Toulon, 1793, Minister to the Italian states, 1794, Viceroy of Corsica, 1794-1796, Ambassador at Vienna, 1799-1801, President of the Board of Control, 1806, and Governor-General of India, 1806-1813. These papers are a valuable source for the study of British politics in the late eighteenth century, of war and diplomacy in Europe, 1793-1801, and for events in India and east of the Cape, 1806-1814. The diplomatic and Indian material is especially rich. The papers in this section are used and quoted in Emma Eleanor Elizabeth, Countess of Minto (ed.), Life and Letters of Sir Gilbert Elliot, First Earl of Minto, from 1751 to 1806, 3 vols., London, 1874, and Life and Letters of Sir Gilbert Elliot, First Earl of Minto, from 1807 to 1814, London, 1880. The 1st Earl of Minto is referred to throughout these papers simply as 'the 1st Earl'. His wife, Anna Maria, daughter of Sir George Amyand, 1st Bart., is referred to as 'the Countess of Minto'. Unless otherwise stated, correspondence and papers are of, and letters are addressed to, the 1st Earl."
Indian papers of the 1st Earl of Minto, 1806-1814.
"The papers of Gilbert John Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound, the 4th Earl of Minto, (1845-1914), Viceroy of India between 1905 and 1910, cover a period of dramatic and momentous change in the history of colonial India. The beginning of Minto's tenure in India was marked by unprecedented anti-colonial protests against the partition of Bengal, initiated by Minto's predecessor, Curzon. It ended with the crucial 'Morley-Minto reforms' contained in the Government of India Act and the Indian Councils Act, both of 1909. These two new laws established, among other things, the constitutional principle of separate electorates for India's Muslim communities. This rich, varied and complex collection of documents forms part of a larger archive now held at the National Library of Scotland, and which covers almost the entire Elliot family of Minto. The 4th Earl's great-grandfather was the first family member to build an official connection with the Indian subcontinent, assuming the office of Governor General in 1807. Almost a century later, the 4th Earl was confronted with the sensitive political situation surrounding the partition of Bengal and the rise of radical nationalism in that same province, as well as in Maharashtra and Punjab. A key part of this collection contains weekly reports on the 'political situation', which reflect not only specifically Indian preoccupations, but also their impact on British domestic politics. For example, the correspondence of March and April 1906, between Minto and John Morley, Secretary of State for India, document how the latter had interviewed a deputation of fifty textile workers who were calling for the institution of health and medical inspectors into the Bombay factory system, ostensibly protesting against the 'callous inhumanity to children' working in India, but with one eye on British employers' concerns about Indian competition. There is also material here for the researcher of Indian social and educational history including, for example, detailed discussions on the founding of Aligarh Muslim University and on educational reform. Other parts of the collection move beyond India, to India's empire in Afghanistan and the Persian Gulf, including for example, letters relating to Minto's early personal experience as an officer fighting on the North West Frontier in 1879, as well as correspondence with Cromer in relation to Egypt, Earl Grey in relation to wider colonial and imperial affairs and correspondence with governors of other imperial territories, for example Canada, around wider Indian migration. This collection therefore covers a period in which the confidence of high imperialism in India was facing some its first real challenges, and when the whole basis of British imperial power in its most important possession was being adjusted and reformed in response to changing imperial priorities. A notable inclusion in these documents which provides the context for this, is a full survey of the turn of the century administration of Lord Curzon - Minto's predecessor. Beyond this, the Minto collection offers to the research a unique insight into a formative period of radical Indian nationalism, Muslim separatism and Indian constitutional reform."
Archival collection of intelligence files concerning the monitoring of organisations and individuals considered a threat to British India. Included are surveillance reports and intercepts from MI6, MI5, and the Special Branch, as well as a large number of intelligence summaries and position papers. The main thrust is anti-communist. 624 microfiches. Butler microforms (402 Butler) MICFICHE FX3 8261. Accompanied by a printed guide. Also see online guide.
An interlocking series of historical websites devoted to examining Lachlan Macquarie's travels, experiences, and achievements in the period 1787-1824. These projects include documentary transcripts, photographs, and research findings associated with Australia, India, Sri Lanka, Middle East, Russia, Denmark and Scotland.
A digital and physical repository of materials relating to political conflict and victimization, social and gendered violence and human rights crimes. Beginning in May 2020, the Archive and related digital exhibits will be rendered to the public over time, in fragments.
Focuses on events, groups, movements and personalities relating to broader historical, political and cultural trends in South Asia, with an emphasis on preserving the accounts of marginalized and subaltern groups. Includes partition testimonies, Punjabi literary journals, reports on anti-Ahmadiyyah violence, interactive Lahore historical maps, oral histories of women in public service in Pakistan.
"On 20 March 1929, thirty-one people, suspected of either communist or trades unionist affiliations, were arrested across India, including Bombay, Calcutta and Poona. They were to be shortly followed by a thirty-second person - Hugh Lester Hutchinson - in June of the same year. Collectively, they were charged "under section 121A of the Indian Penal Code, of conspiracy to deprive the King of the sovereignty of British India." Ever since the Bolshevik revolution of October 1917, there grew a ubiquitous fear within the West of the spread of communism via Moscow's chief manifestation, the Comintern (Communist International). Indeed, it had long been suspected by the India Office that the Comintern had instructed the three Britons charged in the trial - Philip Spratt, Ben Bradley and Lester Hutchinson - to travel to India with the specific task of engendering a revolutionary espirit de corps within India's own growing trades union movements. More than this, however, the Meerut trial also demonstrates an indigenous expression of anti-colonialism from which, it could be argued, the British authorities were ultimately unable to counter. Given the highly protracted nature of the trial, public sympathy for the accused and imprisoned grew rapidly and the following documents add weight to this assertion. Collectively drawn from the British Library, Labour History Archive & Study Centre and Working Class Movement Library, the following documents bring together an array of differing, and balanced, perspectives on both the trial itself as well as its consequences for British imperialism as the sun was beginning to set on the Empire."
Brings together original First World War documents from The National Archives, the historical expertise of IWM and the power of the Zooniverse community. The National Archives has digitised the war diaries of the units under the command of the British and Indian cavalry and infantry divisions on the Western Front.
"Oral history online is a landmark index to English language oral histories. Working with archives, repositories and individuals we've indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Our intent is to make it possible to find and explore the voices of more than 300,000 individuals."--Introd.
A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the "Economic Survey," dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and "Dacca Newsletter," dated July 1949. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.
Pakistan from crown rule to republic : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949.
"This nationalist daily and one of the largest newspapers in India, was founded in 1924 by the leader of the Akali movement, Sunder Singh Lyallpuri. Introduced at the opening ceremony by Mahatma Gandhi and edited by his son, Devdas Gandhi, the Hindustan Times played an essential role in the Indian independence movement. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more. This paper is the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India)."--Publisher information
The Times of India (1838-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1838-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current).
ProQuest historical newspapers. Times of India (1838-2002) .
Archives of the Central British Fund for World Jewish Relief, 1933-1960 -- Records of the Department of State relating to the problems of relief and refugees in Europe arising from World War II and its aftermath, 1938-1949 -- Refugee files from the records of the Foreign Office, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the general correspondence files of the political departments of the Foreign Office, record group 371, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the public and judicial department collections of the British India Office, 1939-1952 -- Refugee records from the War Cabinet, the Colonial Office, the Home Office and the War Office, 1935-1949.
Digitized archives of the Royal Geographical Society from 1478 to 1953. Contains a range of primary sources, searchable manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, surveys, data and ephemera produced by the researchers and members of RGS. Highlights include Mount Everest archive.
A rich collection of materials from letters to manuscripts to photographs. Containing over 4000 items, the collection documents the life and career of Sajjad Zaheer and highlights contemporaneous writers, politics and the Zaheer family from Lucknow, India.
Butler Microforms. The material presented here on microfiche was brought to Amsterdam through the good offices of Narayan and of Julius Braunthal (1891-1972), who was secretary general of the Socialist International from 1951 to 1956. The majority of the 130 titles are in the Hindi language, the rest are in English. They cover a wide range of subjects, including traditional crafts, philosophy, Bhoodan, self-management, Sarvodaya, movement conferences, education, spiritual songs, Gandhi, agriculture, economics, and so forth. Many of the works were written by Vinoba Bhave. They date from the 1950s and give a good picture of the concerns of the movement in that period. See online brochure.
Guide to selections from the records held by the India Office library and Records and issued in a microfiche ed. by Inter Documentation Co. Includes Selections from the records of the governments of Bengal, Bombay, Madras, Mysore, North Western Provinces, Oudh, Punjab, Sind, and Travancore. Columbia does not own the microfiches. The microfiches are available in neighboring Borrow Direct libraries including Cornell, Princeton, University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.
The South Asia Archive is a fully searchable digital archive encompassing millions of pages of valuable research and teaching materials, providing online access to documents ranging from 1700 through to 1953. The Archive covers the Indian subcontinent, including India, Pakistan, Burma, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh, and contains both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications. The documents in the Archive are interdisciplinary, reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India in fields such as culture & society, industry & economy, science, technology & medicine, urban planning & administration, and politics & law. Most of the material is in English, about 30% of the documents are in vernacular languages, including Bengali and Sanskrit. Comprising material sourced from collectors and archivists in India by the South Asia Research Foundation (SARF), this Archive brings together a wealth of content relevant to both teaching and research.
A collection of open access materials, for the study of South Asia via the Center for Research Libraries Global Resources Network in partnership with JSTOR. Over 350,000 pages of historical and contemporary content in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and a variety of South Asian languages.
Includes House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes those Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees. Click on "find terms" link for subject delimiters, including an "India, Ceylon, Burma and Afghanistan" expandable subject category.
Collection of 1,129 titles found in 112 bound volumes about India, collected by Charles Lesley Ames and now located in the Ames Library at the University of Minnesota. The works are mostly in English with some in French, German or Indian languages. About half were published in England, the rest in India. Most of works were published during the 19th century, although some are from before 1760 and a few from after 1900. 48 microfilm reels, with a printed guide.
Butler Microforms (401 Butler) MICROFLM F d7410
Collection of approximately 600 books about India, mostly in English with some in Portuguese, French and German published between 1587 and the early 20th century. The majority of the books cover the 19th century. pt. 1. Social life and customs (reel 1-12) pt. 2. Religion (reel 13-22) pt. 3. Land (reel 23-24) pt. 4. Social conditions (reel 25-31)
pt. 5. Politics and government (reel 32-62) pt. 6. Description and travel (reel 63-106).
Butler Microforms MICROFLM F d7365
A resource where students, researchers and specialists can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world. Covers Cold War International History Project, North Korea International Documentation Project, and Nuclear Proliferation International History Project.
"Women and social movements in modern empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women's voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia."
Women and social movements in modern empires since 1820 / edited by Kathryn Sklar and Thomas Dublin.
A cross between a webzine and a blog, the idea is to look at certain aspects of the history and social anthropology of post-colonial and post-partition Bengal in a popular, non-academic setting, and to develop a digital archive of the same. At the center of our focus are the geopolitical regions of undivided Bengal and erstwhile East Pakistan. Among other things, we are interested in archiving experiences of cross-border migration, and exploring human identities that got intertwined, morphed and rebuilt during the turbulent decade of the ’40s, culminating in partition of Bengal and its everlasting aftermath. Having taken off in the August of 2008, the project is relatively young and evolving. Bilingual (Bengali & English)
The site covers books from 1531 to 2015, with full-text copies of hundreds of titles that appeared before 1939 and short critical summaries of the most important items written by international experts. The books published after 1954 included here, all relate back to the period before that year, including to the 267-year period between 1668 and 1954 when the French nation had a trading presence in India. Presenting them in chronological order, this site shows books in history and fascinating recurring tropes in French-language representations of India.
Housed at the Centre for the Study of Culture and Society, Bangalore. This project enables small archives, libraries and private collections in India to place their catalogues online and enter into agreements for resource sharing. It provides access to full text online historical collections contributed by individual researchers.
Duke University Libraries. It is arranged in the following categories by country of publication: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. The largest group houses publications from India (177 boxes), followed by Pakistan (58 boxes). Topics commonly covered in each country series include but are not limited to agriculture, arts, defense, economic development, education, ethnic or cultural conflict, industry and commerce, international relations, politics and government, population issues, religion and philosophy, rural development, tourism, and the status of women.
RMRL has a vast collection that reflects Tamil print heritage and culture, spanning a period of 300 years, and comprising books, journals, newspapers, printed ephemera and audio records. The Library’s notable strengths are its holdings in classical and modern literature, literary criticism, indigenous medicine, religion and philosophy, cinema and the related culture of printed works (such as song books), folklore, material by and about women, metaphysics, Gandhian studies and numerous publications of historical value. The library also holds the personal collections of Gift Siromani, Iravatham Mahadevan, AK Ramanujan, Robert Hardgrave, the Rudolphs, Milton Singer, Mu. Arunachalam, R. Champakalakshmi, Krithika, T. P. Meenakshi Sundaram, T. P. Kamalanathan, Edward Montgomery, Dennis Hudson, Thanjai Prakash, C.S. Narasimhan and several other individuals.
A resource for the study of inscriptions from South and Central Asia, which focuses on the period of the Guptas (circa 320 to 550). The project is based at the British Museum, British Library and the School of Oriental and African Studies.
The South Asians in North America Collection at UC Berkeley, the largest on the Gadar Party in the United States, includes publications from the movement as well as related publications from India and Canada on social and political reform. These items are housed in UC's Bancroft Library.