ProQuest Congressional
Coverage: Current, and 20th Century, 19th Century, 18th Century
ProQuest Congressional is usually the best place to start when you are looking for full text of U.S. Congressional (that is, Legislative Branch) publications. It has recently been expanded to include Executive Branch documents that were published 1789-1939. This database includes the Congressional Serial Set; Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications; House and Senate Documents; Congressional Research Service Reports; and House and Senate Reports. Please note that House and Senate Hearings are comprehensively covered up through 2013 only in this database. Those hearings with publication dates of 2014 and later that are listed in this database tend to lack full text access. For full text of hearings 2014 to current, use govinfo. For U.S. government documents not found in ProQuest Congressional or govinfo, please Ask a Librarian.
govinfo (United States. Government Printing Office) [open access]
Coverage: Current; and generally going back as far as 1993-1995
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government: the Legislative, Executive, and Judicial. For a list of collections available in govinfo, click here. Generally speaking, most collections go back as far as the early or mid 1990s. Collections are typically updated as electronic versions of the latest relevant documents become available.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Coverage: Current, and 20th Century, 19th Century, 18th Century
ProQuest® legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law. Includes histories for laws passed during the current congress and for laws dating back as far as the first congress. New legislative histories are still being added in 2015. For more on the range of dates covered in Legislative Insight, click here.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) (1992 to present)
One of the divisions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), SAMHSA was established in 1992. "(A predecessor agency, the Alcohol, Drug Abuse and Mental Health Administration, was established in 1974.)" Quoted from: HHS Operating Divisions .
Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) (1988 to present)
"A component of the Executive Office of the President, ONDCP was created by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988. ONDCP advises the President on drug-control issues, coordinates drug-control activities and related funding across the Federal government, and produces the annual National Drug Control Strategy, which outlines Administration efforts to reduce illicit drug use, manufacturing and trafficking, drug-related crime and violence, and drug-related health consequences." Quoted from: About ONDCP .
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) (1974 to present)
"NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction." From About NIDA . In 1974 "NIDA was established as part of Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration (ADAMHA), as the lead Federal agency for conducting basic, clinical, and epidemiological research to improve the understanding, treatment, and prevention of drug abuse and addiction and the health consequences of these behaviors." In 1992 NIDA was transferred to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) from ADAMHA, which was being reorganized. From Important Events in NIDA History. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services. From: About the NIH.
United States. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) (1973 to present)
The Drug Enforcement Administration is an agency of the United States Department of Justice. It "was created by President Richard Nixon through an Executive Order in July 1973 in order to establish a single unified command to combat 'an all-out global war on the drug menace.'" Quoted from: DEA History
The United States Department of Justice (DOJ) (1870 to present)
The DOJ is "the central agency for enforcement of federal laws." From About DOJ . It is a department in the Executive Branch of the United States Government. The DOJ "serves as counsel for the citizens of the United States. It represents them in enforcing the law in the public interest. Through its thousands of lawyers, investigators, and agents, the Department plays the key role in protection against criminals and subversion, ensuring healthy business competition, safeguarding the consumer, and enforcing drug, immigration, and naturalization laws." It "was established by act of June 22, 1870 (28 U.S.C. 501, 503, 509 note), with the Attorney General as its head." From: The United States Government Manual (2013) .
The United States Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Prisons (1930 to present)
"Pursuant to Pub. L. No. 71-218, 46 Stat. 325 (1930), the Bureau of Prisons was established within the Department of Justice and charged with the 'management and regulation of all Federal penal and correctional institutions.'" From: FBOP: Historical Information .
The United States Department of Justice. National Institute of Corrections (1974 to present)
"The National Institute of Corrections (NIC) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons." It provides "training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies." From: NIC: Overview . "The National Institute of Corrections was created in 1974. It first received funding in 1977 as a line item in the Federal Bureau of Prisons budget." From: NIC: History .