Race, Drugs, and Inequality (HIST-GU4588): Images, Film, and Video
Images, Film, and Video: Selected Key Resources
- 60 Minutes : 1997-2014
(Alexander Street Press)
Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export feature.
- ARTstor
"Provides access to 2.5+ million images of the world’s cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education." All "content comes with reliable metadata from the collection catalogers, curators, institutions, and artists themselves." (from publisher's description)
- American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with thousands of titles. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- Associated Press collections online (Gale, Cengage Learning)
"A publishing program focusing on making varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide." Explores "the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more..." (from publisher's description)
- Associated Press Images (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to "photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text." Representations of events as provided by a major news agency. Coverage is international. Dates back to 1812 and up to last 24 hours.
- The HistoryMakers (HistoryMakers)
Provides streaming access to more than 2,340 "video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements." Interview transcripts are fully searchable. Includes "interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject . . . the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history. Interviews were first conducted in 1993, and continue to the present. The archive continues to grow so that queries saved today may have new results tomorrow based on new interviews added into the archive. Some people in the collection may be interviewed again, so that content for a particular person may grow as well." [From publisher's site.]
- LGBT studies in video (Alexander Street Press)
"LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics."
- The march of time (Alexander Street Press)
From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial film series, The March of Time. This series is now available in online streaming video in a single, cross-searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty, and students.
- Meet the press (Alexander Street Press)
NBC's Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. The collection includes every surviving program
from the show's inception in 1947 through the present day. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts.
- Prelinger Archives (Open access)
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 5,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
-
Socialism on Film : the Cold War and International Propaganda
(Adam Matthew Digital)
"Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitised film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba." - World newsreels online, 1929-1966 (Alexander Street Press)
Searchable database of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection allows users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.