Race, Drugs, and Inequality (HIST-GU4588): Articles

Below I have listed full-text databases that are noteworthy either for A.) their extent and breadth of coverage; or B.) their relevance to current known areas of research interest in American history.

• African American historical serials collection    (EBSCO)
  "Includes African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies." (from publisher's description)
   

•  African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 [Series 1 & 2] (Readex)
  ► The above link will take you to America's Historical Newspapers. From the pull down menu, Select this title.
   "Provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles." Based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals.

• African American periodicals, 1825-1995   (Readex)
  "Allows users to search more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995. Created by Readex through a partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals enables researchers to explore African American culture, thought and opinion ranging over more than 150 years of African American life." (from publisher's description)
  ►May be cross-searched with other databases covering similar time periods in Readex AllSearch.
   
• American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (Gale)
  Provides digital access to an extensive collection of American periodicals published between 1681 and 1940. Topics encompass a broad spectrum including agriculture, anthropology, art, archaeology, education, family life, fashion, industrialization, literature, medicine, music, photography, politics, religion, science, sport, and temperance. Over six million pages are presented in searchable digital facsimile. 
   
• American Periodicals  (ProQuest)
  "Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's." Also includes "labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles."
   
• America's historical newspapers     (Readex)
  The bulk of newspapers accessible here fall within the time span of 1690-1922. Selected collections include titles with issues going up as far as late 20th century. Includes: Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922, Series 1 through 15; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Series 1 & 2; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. 
  ►May be cross-searched with other databases covering similar time periods in Readex AllSearch.
   
• Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress) {Open Access}
  Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
   
• Ethnic American newspapers from the Balch collection, 1799-1971 (Readex)
  "Enables users to search more than 130 Ethnic American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries. Created in partnership with the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. . . ." (from publisher's description)
  ►May be cross-searched with other databases covering similar time periods in Readex AllSearch.
   
• Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
  Full-text collection of books and periodicals relating to the history of women, women's rights, and women's suffrage. The bulk of materials fall within 1880-1920.
   
• HarpWeek
  Page images and searchable full text of Harper's Weekly, the popular illustrated American magazine, for the period 1856-1912. Detailed searchable subject index.
   
• Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
  Includes hundreds of Spanish-language or Spanish/English bilingual newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
  ►May be cross-searched with other databases covering similar time periods in Archive of Americana.
   
• Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest)
  A subset of Proquest Historical Newspapers (see listing below). Full-text and full-image access to nine newspapers, including:  Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); and New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993). As a default, all Historical Black Newspapers are included in any search of Proquest Historical Newspapers.
   
• Independent Voices : An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press (Reveal Digital)
  "Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more."
   
• JSTOR
  "JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations." Journals in JSTOR are covered back to their first issues. Recency of coverage varies by title. Some titles are covered up through latest issue; others only up through five years ago, etc.
   

• Magazine Archives (Ebsco)
  Each archive provides indexing, abstracting, full text, and page images for the magazine listed. Coverage begins with the first issue and extends up at least as far as 2000.  Some of the key titles are:
  Architectural Digest Magazine Archive (1922 to 2011)
  Bloomberg Businessweek Archive (1929 to 2000)
  Ebony  (1945-2014)
  Esquire (1933-2014)
  Forbes Magazine Archive (1917 to 2000)
  Fortune Magazine Archive (1930 to 2000)
  Life Magazine Archive (1936 to 2000)
  The New Republic Archive  (1914-2020)
  Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954 to 2000)
  Time Magazine Archive (1923 to 2000)
  NOTE: In order to search any of these magazines in combination with one or more of the others: go to EbscoHost Research Databases; select "Choose Databases"; deselect all; then choose the desired Archive titles.

• Making of America (University of  Michigan and Cornell University) [Open Access]
  A collaborative effort between the University of  Michigan and Cornell University, Making of America (MOA) draws on the depth of primary materials at those universities' libraries. MOA is a thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, focusing on items printed from 1850 to 1877.
   
• 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
  Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers, presented as full page layout as well as single articles. Advertisements and illustrations are included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
  ►May be cross-searched with other databases covering similar time periods in Gale. Primary sources
   
• PAIS Index (ProQuest)
  Coverage:  items published 1915 to the present
  Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
   
• Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)
  "A major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically." Many general interest periodicals are also included. PAO "is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles." Each periodical included is covered back to its first issues. Many periodicals are covered up through 2001.  
   
• Proquest Historical Newspapers

  Full-text and full-image, dating back to their first issues, for more than thirty five newspapers. Some of the key U.S. titles are: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1927); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Hartford Courant (1764-1985); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2006); The New York Tribune (1841-1962); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1992), and The Washington Post (1877-1993). Also includes some newspapers published in Britain--such as The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003).  
  NOTE: To limit your search to one or more of the newspapers: Click on "Select Multiple Databases" in the main search screen; click twice on "Select All" to clear selections; then scroll down to "Proquest Historical Newspapers:" and select titles as desired.