Race, Drugs, and Inequality (HIST-GU4588): Encyclopedias

In 1971, President Richard M. Nixon declared drugs "public enemy number one" and waged the War on Drug after tests on returning Vietnam War veterans revealed alarming levels of heroin use. Spanning two volumes of approximately 450 articles in an A-to-Z format, the encyclopedia explores this controversial war through the lens of varied disciplines, and a full spectrum of articles explains topics from Colombian cartels and Mexican kingpins to television reportage; from "just say no" advertising to heroin production; from narco-terrorism to over $500 billion in United States government expenditure. These articles, along with a range of pedagogical elements and availablity in both print and electronic formats combine to comprise an outstanding reference source.

Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2009. 1656 pp. 4 vols. 3rd edition.
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Substance abuse is one of the most frequent and serious problems encountered by human service workers, criminal justice professionals, and clinicians. Unfortunately, many professionals in these fields receive little, if any, formal training about this problem. Our planned encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications in A-to-Z format. Rather than create a compendium of specific drugs and drug effects, for which there are any number of fine titles already available, the focus will be upon practical knowledge and skills for pre-service and in-service human service professionals, including substance abuse counselors and prevention specialists.

Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading