Asian Americans: Major Topics

AAAS: Association for Asian American Studies: Advocacy
Statements published by the AAAS on issues of race, ethnicity, solidarity, violence, and discrimination.

Anti-Asian racism (University of California)
The UC Office of the President (UCOP) has compiled resources and statements for the UC community in response to recent incidents of anti-Asian speech and violence taking place across the U.S. UCOP staff will keep this page up to date.

Anti-Racism Resources for the AAPI Community (Cornell University)

Asian Americans Advancing Justice (AAJC)
Advancing Justice | AAJC is the voice for the Asian American community – the fastest-growing population in the U.S. – fighting for our civil rights through education, litigation, and public policy advocacy. We serve to empower our communities by bringing local and national constituencies together and ensuring Asian Americans are able to participate fully in our democracy.

Discrimination Against Asian and Pacific Islander Americans: A Research Guide (Library of Congress)
This guide provides contemporary and historical resources about anti-Asian American discrimination. The variety of sources here include historical photographs, newspapers, manuscripts, books, and websites on the broad topic of institutionalized racism.

This collection of primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera relate to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries. It offers researchers historical context and resources, from both personal and institutional perspectives, to the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more.

"Immigration Politics and Policy in the United States."                                                      
In Oxford Bibliographies Online. An annotated list of resources with brief essayistic contextual introductions.

Migration to new worlds   (Adam Matthew Digital)
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Including collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums, Migration to New Worlds brings together the movement and memories of millions across two centuries of mass migration. The Century of Immigration [Module 1] concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement. The Modern Era [Module 2] begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.

North American immigrant letters, diaries, and oral histories  (ProQuest)
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives.

ProQuest history vault. Immigration: records of the INS, 1880-1930 
Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.

Japanese American internment : records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library (Gale, a Cengage Company)
In an atmosphere of hysteria following U.S. entry into the Second World War, and with the support of officials at all levels of the federal government, President Franklin D. Roosevelt authorized the internment of tens of thousands of American citizens of Japanese ancestry and resident aliens from Japan. Roosevelt's Executive Order 9066, dated February 19, 1942, gave the U.S. military broad powers to ban any citizen from a wide coastal area stretching from the state of Washington to California and extending inland into southern Arizona. The order also authorized transporting these citizens to assembly centers hastily set up and governed by the military in Arizona, California, Oregon, and Washington. This publication consists of the documents from The Papers of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Small Collections, “Japanese American Internment Collections,” in the custody of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, N.Y.

Japanese-American relocation camp newspapers : perspectives on day-to-day life (Gale, a part of Cengage Learning)
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population -- persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.

Personal justice denied : public hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981 ( Gale, Cengage Learning)
The Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians (CWRIC) was established by act of Congress in 1980. Between July and December 1981, the CWRIC held 20 days of public hearings in Seattle, WA; Alaska; Washington, D.C; New York, New York; Chicago, Ill.; Cambridge, MA; and, San Francisco and Los Angeles, CA. This publication consists of the testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals who had studied the subjects of the Commission's inquiry. Many of the transcripts are personal stories of experiences of evacuees. Documents include publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc. related to the hearings.