What follows is a list of groups, institutions, or projects that have made it their focus to collect materials related to Asian American and/or Pacific Islander life or history. Each features a certain amount of accessible online content.
- AAPI Data
AAPI Data is a nationally recognized publisher of demographic data and policy research on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, with hundreds of news mentions in national and local outlets.
- Chinese Historical Society of America
The Chinese Historical Society of America collects, preserves, and illuminates the history of Chinese in America by serving as a center for research, scholarship and learning to inspire a greater appreciation for, and knowledge of, their collective experience through exhibitions, public programs, and any other means for reaching the widest audience.
- Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project at Stanford University
The Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project seeks to give a voice to the Chinese migrants whose labor on the Transcontinental Railroad helped to shape the physical and social landscape of the American West. The Project coordinates research in North America and Asia in order to publish new findings in print and digital formats, support new and scholarly informed school curriculum, and participate in conferences and public events. Includes oral history interviews with 40+ descendants of Chinese who participated in building the CPRR as well as several other significant individuals.
- Discover Nikkei (A Project of the Japanese American National Museum, JANM)
This is a community website about Nikkei identity, history and experiences. The site points out that Nikkei people are "Japanese emigrants and their descendants who have created communities throughout the world," and that "The term Nikkei has multiple and diverse meanings depending on situations, places, and environments. Nikkei also include people of mixed racial descent who identify themselves as Nikkei. Native Japanese also use the term Nikkei for the emigrants and their descendants who return to Japan."
- Filipino American National Historical Society (FANHS)
The Filipino American National Historical Society (FANHS) is truly a community-based organization whose mission is “…to preserve, document, and present Filipino American history and to support scholarly research and artistic works which reflect that rich past…”
- Japanese American National Museum (JANM)
The over 150,000 objects that comprise the JANM permanent collection chronicle the Japanese American experience in its entirety from early immigration to the present. Artifacts related to early immigration to the United States at the turn of the 20th century, early life in Japanese American communities, and the World War II incarceration experience and military service are strengths of the collection. Includes online access to a range of Featured Collections.
- Japanese American Veterans Collection (University of Hawai'i at Manoa, Library)
Documents the rich heritage of Hawaiʻi‘s Japanese American veterans and their families.
- Korean American Digital Archive (USC Digital Library)
The documentary record of the Korean experience in America remains dispersed and difficult to access. The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
- National Japanese American Historical Society
A membership-supported institution dedicated to the collection, preservation, authentic interpretation and sharing of historical information of the Japanese American experience for the diverse, broader national and global community.
- The Pluralism Project (Harvard University)
"A two decade-long research project that engages students in studying the new religious diversity in the United States. We explore particularly the communities and religious traditions of Asia and the Middle East that have become woven into the religious fabric of the United States in the past twenty-five years."
- Research Our Records: Chinese Heritage (National Archives)
- Research Our Records: Japanese Heritage (National Archives)
- Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center
"From our establishment in 1997 as an initiative critical to the mission of the Smithsonian until today, the vision for the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center has been to enrich the American Story with the voices of Asian Pacific Americans." It is "a migratory museum that brings history, art and culture to you through innovative community-focused experiences."
- South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.
- Southeast Asian Digital Archive (UMass Lowell)
"The Southeast Asian Digital Archive seeks to collect, preserve, and share historical materials related to Southeast Asians in the Greater Lowell area, with particular focus on refugee resettlement and community building from the 1970s to the present."