International & Public Affairs Research Guide: Getting Started
This research guide identifies some of the major databases and library services that support research at the School of International Affairs at Columbia University.
General Information
-
Check hours of our libraries, departments and services.
- Borrowing privileges
- Course Reserves
- Reserve Study Space
- Visitors
Getting Materials
If we don't have a resource you need:
- Borrow Direct. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Borrow Direct is a rapid delivery service that allows patrons from participating libraries to check the availability of and request books from the combined catalogs of Harvard, Princeton, Dartmouth, Cornell, Columbia, Penn, Brown, University of Chicago, and MIT.
- Interlibrary LoanThe service to for getting journal articles and book chapters scanned and emailed to you.
Streaming Videos
See the Streaming Video Research Guide for more resources.
- 60 minutes. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export featore. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more. - PBS video collection. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PBS video collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the Public Broadcasting Service, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, as well as films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
How to Find
Use CLIO, the libraries' primary search interface to find: books, databases, journals, newspapers, and multimedia content.
For guidance about finding scholarly articles go to the "Find Articles" tab. Don't forget that these other catalogs may be helpful for certain subjects
- EDUCAT . This link opens in a new windowEDUCAT is the online catalog of the Milbank Memorial Library of Teachers College.
- Pegasus : catalog of the Arthur W. Diamond Law Library. This link opens in a new windowPegasus is the online catalog of the Arthur W. Diamond Law Library of the Columbia University School of Law. Contains U.S. federal and state law, selected commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections (e.g., the legal literature of Germany, France, Italy and Argentina) and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Republic of China.
- WorldCat. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.
Research Support
- Librarians are available to assist you with research support in person. You can email the librarian any time to schedule a in-person research consultation.
- From 9am to 8pm Monday through Friday you can use the virtual reference Ask a Librarian. A librarian will answer any questions you have in real time!
Other Guides & Tools
- Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War & Peace Studies Research Guide
- Data & Statistics Research Guide
- Environmental & Energy Research Guide
- Gender in Policy & International Affairs Research Guide
- Global Studies Division
- Government Information resources
- International Conflict Resolution, Military Affairs, & Security
- Linked-In Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
- Population, Migration and Refugee Studies
- Sociology Research Guide
- Software and Tools Master List
- Sustainability Policy Studies Research Guide
- Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies Research Guide
Don't Forget
As a Columbia University student you have access to several newspapers:
- Financial times. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides 'real time' access to the Financial Times in six regional editions: Asia, Europe, India, Middle East, UK and US. - New York times. This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street journal. Create an Account This link opens in a new windowThe WSJ.com platform carries 4+ years of articles content comprising of the English, Chinese, and Japanese online editions and English print edition of the Wall Street journal. Additional content includes videos, podcasts, and access to events, experiences, special offers, insights, and more.
And more, check CLIO