International & Public Affairs Research Guide: Find Articles

This research guide identifies some of the major databases and library services that support research at the School of International Affairs at Columbia University.

How to start looking for academic articles or studies

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO). Scholarly journals are periodicals in which researchers publish articles on their work. Most often these articles discuss recent research. Journals also publish theoretical discussions and articles that critically review already published work. Scholarly journals are typically peer-reviewed journals.

Some search engines that search for periodical sources identify whether or not the sources are from peer-reviewed publications. On this page you will find a lot of options to start your research, but these are not all of the databases that you have access to as a Columbia University student! Explore the other research guides to find other databases for different disciplines, or make an appointment with a librarian. 

International & Public Affairs students typically use ProQuest the most often. 

Other useful interdisciplinary databases:

  • ​​EBSCO: A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
  • JSTOR: Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
  • Project MUSE: Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa TodayAmerican ImagoContemporary PacificEthnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research.
  • Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
  • Web of science core collection: Consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.

A note on Business Resources: 

Occasionally, students studying International & Public Affairs need business resources. We have a very robust Business Library with a team of librarians. If you need remote Bloomberg access, you must email the Business Library directly. Additionally, this research guide is a good summary of resources. We have newly added some Harvard Business School Case Studies. 

International Databases

  • Africa Wide Information: Coverage of all facets of African studies, dating back to the 16th century.
  • Cairn.info: Full text French language publications in the disciplines of economics, political science, sociology, law, history, and  psychology, education, and more.
  • China Academic Journals: Access to Chinese academic periodicals in social science, economics/politics/law, history/philosophy, and education.
  • Contemporary women's issues: Provides information about women in over 190 countries.
  • Country Studies - Library of Congress: Book-length country profiles previously published in hardcover by the Library of Congress between 1988 and 1998.
  • CountryWatch forecast: A globally integrated 5-year macroeconomic forecast for each country of the world.
  • eHRAF World Cultures: A collection of full-text primary source materials on ca. 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious and national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme.
  • Europa World plus: Provides economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports: This database is a unique online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)'s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. The reports combine detailed statistical information with expert commentary and analysis from the EIU's analysts, providing high quality summaries of political, economic and commercial developments in almost 200 countries

  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.

  • PARLINE Database: Information about parliaments in over 190 countries
  • Women's studies international: Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.

Defense Databases

  • Armed Conflict Database: From the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS). Provides information on armed conflicts including terrorism, refugees/ and returnees, Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), weapons used and their flows, fatalities, costs ($US), historical backgrounds, annual updates and timelines.
  • DSCA Facts Book: Foreign Military Sales, Foreign Military Construction Sales and Military Assistance Facts. 
  • Military Balance Plus: It is an easy-to-use resource, allowing instant access to wide-ranging data and enabling users to customise, view, compare and download data instantly, anywhere, anytime. Data sets are continuously monitored and updated by IISS analysts in the Defence and Military Analysis Programme.
  • The SIPRI Arms Transfers Database: Contains information on all international transfers of seven categories of major conventional weapons from 1950 to the most recent full calendar year. It can be used to generate detailed written reports and statistical data.
  • The SIPRI Military Expenditure Database: Covers 171 countries and contains consistent time series for the period since 1988. The online military expenditure database provides military expenditure data by country in the following three formats: Military expenditure in local currency, at current prices, 1988-present; Military expenditure in US dollars, at constant (2005) prices and exchange rates, 1988-present; Military expenditure as a share (%) of gross domestic product (GDP), 1988-present.

Economic & Political Databases

  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online): A wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
  • EconLit: Comprehensive, indexed bibliography of worldwide literature on economics from over 300 major economics journals, books, and collected volumes. Coverage: 1969-present.
  • EMIS-Emerging Markets Information Service: Provides general news and financial and economic information on emerging market countries. ​
  • FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends): A joint project of SIPRI and the International Relations and Security Network. Contains information covering many areas in the field of international relations and security, such as international organizations, conflicts, arms transfers, and military expenditure.
  • HeinOnline: Contains the full text of numerous legal journals, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.

  • Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI): Articles in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanic Americans.
  • OECD iLibrary: Includes all OECD books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases. Coverage: 1988 to the present, updated weekly.
  • PAIS: Citations and abstracts for publications related to public affairs, 1915 to the present.
  • Peace Research Abstracts: Indexes articles related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • SocINDEX with full text: Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology and its related disciplines, including ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, and, social work.​
  • Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium: TRAC: Digital Intelligence Repository for everything related to political violence and terrorism analysis.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in political science journals. Coverage: 1975 to the pres

Journals

News Databases

  • Alt-PressWatch: Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press.
  • Associated Press collections online: Includes a decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.
  • AP Images: Associated Press archive of over photographs from 1844 to the present.
  • CQ.com: News and analysis service. Tracks legislation before Congress and alerts users to late-breaking news and updated Hill schedules, status of bills, committee coverage with votes and markups, votes analysis, member biographies, daily news wrap-up, comparisons of competing versions of bills, and more. 
  • Factiva: Full-text database providing news sources from around the world. It also provides detailed facts, figures and analyses of companies, industries and financial markets. Coverage varies by source.
  • GlobalSecurity.org - Reliable Security Information: Source for reliable news and security information.
  • Meet the Press:  Includes every surviving program of NBC's Meet the Pressfrom the show's inception in 1947 through the present day.
  • Mideastwire.com: Offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
  • National Journal: A collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal, The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Poll Track, Ad Spotlight, and The Almanac of American Politics. Also provides Congressional markup reports and update reports on key legislation.
  • Television News Archive: Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player.
  • Voxgov: Access to news, media and information direct from U.S. government web locations, including: press releases, speeches, transcripts, Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.
  • World Politics Review: Daily online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals.

Social Science Databases

  • Philosopher's Index: Contains citations to journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including international relations.