Sustainability Policy Studies: Getting Started

• Library alerts for COVID-19 

• Check the hours of our libraries, departments and services.

• Borrowing privileges 
• Course Reserves
• Reserve Study Space 
• Visitors 

• Borrow Direct enables you to borrow books directly from other university libraries if the book you need is unavailable or is not owned by Columbia University.

• Interlibrary Loan is the service to use for items that are not available through Borrow Direct, such as journal articles.

• Scan & Deliver enables students, faculty and staff to request electronic delivery of articles and book chapters from the general print collections of most Columbia Libraries

• Books from the Health Science Library
• Recommend a title for purchase

Use CLIO, the libraries' primary search interface to find: books, databases, journals, newspapers, and DVDs. For guidance about finding scholarly articles go to the "Find Articles" tab. 

• EDUCAT the online catalog of the Milbank Memorial Library of Teachers College. Contains records for all materials cataloged since 1975, except current periodicals; selected educational materials published between 1900-1960; the Adelaide Nutting History of Nursing Collection; the American Curriculum Collection; the David Eugene Smith Collection in Mathematics Education.
• Pegasus : catalog of the Arthur W. Diamond Law Library. the online catalog of the Arthur W. Diamond Law Library of the Columbia University School of Law. Contains U.S. federal and state law, selected commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections (e.g., the legal literature of Germany, France, Italy and Argentina) and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Republic of China.
• WorldCat. Contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.

• Librarians are available to assist you with research support in person. You can email the librarian any time to schedule an in-person research consultation.
• Use the virtual reference Ask a Librarian. A librarian will answer any questions you have in real time! 

Don't forget, as a Columbia University student you have access to several newspapers:

• Financial Times
• New York Times: We recommend you use the ProQuest for PDFs, and use Factiva for international news, web exclusive topics, morning & evening versions. 
• The New Yorker
• Washington Post 
• Wall Street Journal and Directions in case you get stuck
• and more, check CLIO

• Data & Statistics Research Guide
• Environmental and Energy Policy
• Earth and Environmental Sciences Research Guide
• Linked-In Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
• PBS video collection. 
• Sociology Research Guide
• Software and Tools Master List
• Urban Policy Research Guide
• Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies Research Guide