Research Guides: International & Public Affairs Research Guide: Find EBooks

EBook Collections at Columbia University

The following list is a good place to start for e-books. The databases tab will provide resources for scholarly articles.

Cambridge books online: Access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
EBSCO eBook collection: Searchable collection of current electronic books from university and commercial publishers and electronic books in the public domain.
Oxford Scholarship: Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books
ProQuest EBook Central: Also called Ebrary. Collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
PsycBOOKS: Full-text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA), including the most recent titles in psychological and behavioral science, plus a substantial backfile of classic and historic works.
ScienceDirect: Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Social Theory: Offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. It features works by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons.
SpringerLink: Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
Wiley online library: Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all the science disciplines.

University Press Collections:

FAQ

How come the book I want isn't available as an Ebook?
- Publishers don't create all books as ebooks. Furthermore, sometimes publishers only produce ebooks for individual purchase--like an Amazon Kindle ebook. You can request the librarian purchase an ebook version of a book using this form, but please understand we cannot control if it is available or not.
Are Ebooks downloadable?
- Some ebooks are and others aren't. This is a feature enabled by a publisher and author. If you cannot download the text, it means you must read the text in the platform.
Can I read ebooks on my phone?
- Some ebooks are available for mobil reading using SimplyE. If a book has a SimplyE option, you will see it in the CLIO record.
- It's worth asking the librarian if there is an ebook you use for class available for the SimplyE platform. We can't always do it, but we will try!