International & Public Affairs Research Guide: Find Other Resources

This research guide identifies some of the major databases and library services that support research at the School of International Affairs at Columbia University.

Reference Materials

Reference materials provide a good, working knowledge of key issues and sub-topics and provide ideas for other sources to explore. Beyond this list, you should know that all of the following types of materials can be helpful reference material for your research: almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes. 

For guidance on research methodology please consider: 

Directories: 

General Reference

Guides & Handbooks

  • The Almanac of American Politics: Provides a brief political history of each state and Congressional district in the U.S., with profiles of each of the incumbent Governors, Senators and Representatives.
  • Oxford Handbooks Online. Philosophy: Offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
  • The Oxford Handbook of Political Theory: Analysis of historical texts sits alongside more analytical work on the nature and normative grounds of political values.
  • Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
  • Peace Agreements: Chronology and full texts of selected peace accords and processes from around the world, from INCORE.
  • Political Handbook of the world: Contains entries on countries and territories around the world. It covers each country's political parties and includes names of key ambassadors, international memberships, and profiles intergovernmental organizations.
  • Social Theory: Offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.
  • United Nations Peacekeeping Resource Hub: A repository for all official DPKO and DFS training and guidance materials, and provides links to other related UN documents and resources.  It also offers links to real-time news and updates in the United Nations peacekeeping world.
  • World Bank Understanding Poverty 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias