British History: Multimedia
Video, Photographs, Multimedia
- AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
(Accuweather/AP)
Associated Press archive of over 4.6 million photographs from 1826 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.
- Associated Press collections online (Gale, Cengage Learning)
"A publishing program focusing on making varied treasures of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide." Explores "the history and back story of the venerable Associated Press—decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more..." (from publisher's description)
- The march of time (Alexander Street Press)
From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial film series, The March of Time. This series is now available in online streaming video in a single, cross-searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty, and students.
-
Socialism on Film : the Cold War and International Propaganda
(Adam Matthew Digital)
"Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitised film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba." Database presently consists of Module I Wars & Revolutions (Acquired May 2017). Forthcoming: Module II Newsreels & Cinemagazines (2018) and Module III Culture & Society (2019). - World newsreels online, 1929-1966 (Alexander Street Press)
Searchable database of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection allows users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places. (Acquired March 2017)