British History: New or Expanded Databases 2018-2020
New or Expanded Databases 2018 - 2020
Below is a selective listing of some databases (or database modules) acquired from January 2018 through October of 2019 that may be of interest to researchers in British History.
If you would like to generate a fresh list of ALL databases in CLIO, with the most recently acquired ones listed at the top, please click here.
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale)
has been expanded by the addition of one new module:
Part 3, Sex and sexuality, sixteenth to twentieth century
has been expanded by the addition of one new module:
Part 3, Sex and sexuality, sixteenth to twentieth century
• Churchill Archive (Bloomsbury)
• Colonial America (Adam Matthew)
is now complete with the addition of one final module:
Module 5: Growth, Trade and Development
is now complete with the addition of one final module:
Module 5: Growth, Trade and Development
• East India Company (Adam Matthew)
has been expanded by the addition of one new module:
Module 3: Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East.
Module 3: Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East.
• Food and Drink in History (Adam Matthew Digital)
• LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest) [Resource new to Columbia]
• The Making of the Modern World (Gale)
has been expanded by the addition of one new module:
Part III (1890-1945)
has been expanded by the addition of one new module:
Part III (1890-1945)
• Mass Observation Project, 1981-2009. 
(Adam Matthew)
The Mass Observation Project was launched in 1981 by the University of Sussex as a rebirth of the original 1937 Mass Observation, its founders' aim was to document the social history of Britain by recruiting volunteers to write about their lives and opinions. Still growing, it is one of the most important sources available for qualitative social data in the UK. This collection consists of the directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation in the 1980s and the thousands of responses to them from the hundreds of Mass Observers. The directives and responses from the 1990s and 2000s will follow in 2021 and 2022.
• 19th Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)
has been expanded by the addition of one new module:
Part V: (1746-1950)
• RAI Archive [Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland] (Wiley) [Resource new to Columbia]
has been expanded by the addition of one new module:
Part V: (1746-1950)
• RAI Archive [Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland] (Wiley) [Resource new to Columbia]
• Service Newspapers of World War Two (Adam Matthew Digital)