British History: Articles Published 17th through 20th Centuries

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
 

•  British Library Newspapers 
  Full-text access to  over 160 national, regional, and local newspapers published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries. Also fully included and searchable within Gale newsvault 
   
• British Periodicals  (Collections I and II)
  Provides full-text and full-image access to hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.  Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, the social sciences, music, archaeology and architecture.
  For most thorough results, search simultaneously with Periodicals Archive Online . Click on the "Change Databases" link near top of the British Periodicals search screen and choose Periodicals Archive Online from a menu. This will add the second database to your search.
   
• Church Missionary Society Periodicals   (Adam Matthew)
  "From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter."
   
• The Economist historical archive
  Delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2010. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Can be cross-searched with other periodicals and newspapers in Gale NewsVault
   
• Eighteenth century journals : a portal to newspapers and periodicals, c1685-1815  
  Full-text and page-image access to newspapers and periodicals printed between c1685-1815. Contains materials from: the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford; the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas; the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London; the Cambridge University Library; Chetham's Library, Manchester; and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds.
   
• Financial times historical archive 1888-2010
  Delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.  Can be cross-searched with other periodicals and newspapers in Gale NewsVault
   
• Gale Newsvault  ⇔ CROSS-SEARCHABLE PLATFORM ⇔  (Gale Cengage Learning)
  Users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple databases of historical newspaper and/or periodical literature. These include: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Part I; 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Times Digital Archive; and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
   
• Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 
  Focus: American, British, and European, 1543-1945 (most materials are 1880-1920)
  Full-text collection of books and periodicals relating to the history of women, women's rights, and women's suffrage.
   
• Illustrated London News historical archive, 1842-2003 
  Unprecedented online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations. Also fully included and searchable within Gale newsvault
   
• Internet Library of Early Journals: A Digital Library of 18^th and 19^th Century Journals
  Focus: British, 18th and 19th centuries
  Provides digitized page images covering at least twenty consecutive years for six journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine. Search options vary by title, ranging from browse only, to searching by subject headings, to searching full text.
   
• Ireland collection (JSTOR)
  "The Ireland Collection, developed in cooperation with Queen's University Belfast, is an interdisciplinary collection of journals and other materials. It will contain a minimum of 107 journals, including journals with moving walls between 1 and 5 years and ceased journals from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. Over 200 monographs and 2,500 manuscript pages will also be included."
   
• Irish newspaper archives  
  A keyword searchable online archive of Irish newspaper titles. "Contains over 6 million pages in over 500,000 issues of Irish Newspaper publications. With national daily editions such as the Irish Independent, regional weekly editions including the Connacht Tribune, Kerryman and Anglo-Celt and out of print publications such as the Freeman's Journal and The Nation." Coverage varies by title, extending back as far as 1763.
   
• JSTOR
  Focus: American and British, beginning 1665
  Searchable full text, displayed as page images, for more than 600 key scholarly journals beginning with their earliest issue. A “moving wall” (generally ranging from 3 to 5 years) separates the latest issue available in JSTOR from the most recently published issue of the journal.
   
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
  Provides full-text and full-page-image access to 19th century British periodicals.  Periodicals are grouped in cross-searchable topical series. Currently contains Series 1, New Readerships: Women and Children, Sports and Leisure,  Humour and Satire; and Series 2, Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial. Also fully included and searchable within Gale newsvault
   
• Periodicals Archive Online
  Focus: American, British, and European
  Coverage: 1665-2000
  Archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and areas of general popular interest. Each periodical is covered back to its first issue, regardless of when it began publication. International in scope, Periodicals Archive Online covers periodicals in a number of Western languages.
  For most thorough results, search simultaneously with British Periodicals. Click on the "Change Databases" link near top of the Periodicals Archive Online search screen and choose British Periodicals from a menu. This will add the second database to your search.
   
• ProQuest historical newspapers
  Includes:
  The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)
  The Irish Times (1859-2011) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958)
  The Scotsman (1817-1950)
  The Times of India (1838-2003)
   
• Service Newspapers of World War Two (Adam Matthew Digital)
  Collection of newspapers produced by and/or for service members during and immediately after World War II (1939-1948), featuring titles from the major theatres, for both Allied and Axis forces. 
   
• 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
  "The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden." Also fully included and searchable within Gale newsvault
   
• Times Digital Archive
  Focus: British, 18^th, 19^th, and 20^th centuries
  Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for 1785-1985. Also fully included and searchable within Gale newsvault
   
• The TLS historical archive, 1902-2011
  Type of Resource: Full text and full page image Coverage: 1902-2011. A fully searchable resource containing every page of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2011. Also fully included and searchable within Gale newsvault
  NOTE: for full text coverage ot TLS articles published June 4 2010 to present, see Factiva.