Discovering Chinese Materials: Journals

Current and Print

Information about periodical holdings, including current issues, is available in CLIO. Current issues of periodicals are housed in the Chinese periodical area in the second alcove on the north side of the main Reading Room. Bound volumes of past issues are shelved together with the rest of the collection in the library stacks, or more likely in off-site for most journals. Due to space limitations, only the periodical titles of most recent time are kept in the library in Kent Hall. Older volumes of most journals are housed off-site. You may request off-site journals bound in volumes to be delivered to the library for use if really needed. Check CLIO and the record shows the information of locations.

Journal Article Databases

Many periodicals are now available online in full text through Columbia's subscription to journal article databases. These databases include, but not limited to, the following:

• China Academic Journals (CAJ or CNKI) 中国学术期刊全文数据库, normally covering from the first issue to current
• CEPS (Chinese Electronic Periodical Services) 中文電子期刊 (Taiwanese, Hong Kong, and Chinese periocials), normally from 2000; a number of important titles such as 《近代史研究所集刊》 (1969- ) and 《中央研究院歷史語言研究所集刊》 (1930- ), however, are from the earliest or very early issues
• Dacheng lao jiu kan quan wen shu ju ku  大成老旧刊全文数据库, pre-1949 journals, magazines, newsletters, and government bulletins, etc.
• Minguo shi qi qi kan quan wen (Chinese Periodical Full-text Database) 民国时期期刊论文, journal articles of Republican Period (1911-1949).
• Taiwan Electronic Periodicals 台灣電子期刊, which is included in CEPS
• Wanfang Data - China Online Journals 万方数据 - 期刊, largely from the late 1990s.
• Wan Qing qi kan quan wen shu ju ku (Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full text Database) (1833-1911) 晚清期刊全文数据库, journal articles of late Qing dynasty.

You may find journal articles through these and many other databases, or use print journals in the library holdings normally via requesting from offsite. However, we suggest that, unless you have a special research need for print volumes, please use databases containing the full texts or full images of the journals for searching and downloading, instead of requesting the print journals or the scanned copies of journal articles to be laboriously delivered from off-site.

Discovery Guide

For more information about electronic journals, please see the Chinese E-Resources Journals listing journal article databases. Besides, there is a step-by-step guide "How to Discover Full-text Journal Articles Online?"