Discovering Chinese Materials: Multimedia & Films
Audio-visual, Multimedia and Films
Basic Reference Titles
Catalogs, bibliographies, indexes, and other reference works, both print and online, are always useful in starting and pursuing research. Examples of reference works of Chinese film studies include：
- An Annotated Bibliography for Chinese Film Studies 《中国电影硏究书目提要》 by Jim Cheng 程 健
PN1993.5.C4 C44 2004g - Quan guo bao kan dian ying wen zhang mu lu suo yin 《国报刊电影文章目录索引》
Z5784.M9 C517 1983; Z5784.M9 C518 1994; Z5784.M9 C518 1995 - Zhongguo dian ying bian nian ji shi 《中国电影编年纪事》
PN1993.5.C6 Z465; PN1993.5.C4 Z464; PN1993.5.C6 Z466 - Zhongguo dian ying da ci dian 《中国电影大辞典》 (China Cinema Encyclopedia)
REF PN1993.45 .C92 1995 - Zhongguo xian dai dian ying qi kan quan mu shu zhi (1921-1949) 《中国现代电影期刊全目书志》
PN1993.5.C4 Z476 2009
These print reference books, and many more print and digital materials of various formats, can be found in CLIO and WorldCat. The updated information at Butler Media Services is also helpful for searching and discovering multimedia materials, particularly materials of film studies.
Collections in Multiple Formats
The library has been actively acquiring Chinese multimedia and film materials, particularly various types of materials of Chinese film studies, through purchase and sometimes, donation. The collections contain early Chinese cinema, feature films, documentary films, independent films, T.V. series and dramas, avant-garde and experimental cinema and others. Besides, the collections cover Peking opera and other schools of Chinese opera, culture and history series, martial arts of various schools, language learning films and videos, LGBT films, video art, and Chinese classic and contemporary music, etc. The multimedia contents are on a variety of formats, ranging from VHS, CD, CD-Rom, VCD, DVD, LaserDisc, to Blue-Ray, and some titles have Digital Betacam or Mini DV Tape copies. The total number of Chinese multimedia and film items is about 10,000, of which several thousands of them are to be processed and cataloged.
Location and Use
After needed multimedia titles are discovered, please pay attention to location, call number, and related information. Most are located in Butler Media Services, and some are in offsite. Some are circulating, which means that you can borrow them. Most titles, actually almost all new DVD film titles, are non-circulating, normally stored in Butler Media Reserves, which means you cannot borrow and take them out of the library. But you can view your needed titles, including titles of Butler Media Reserves, in Butler Media Services.
Butler Media Collections & Usage Policies contains clear information in support of use for teaching, learning and research, including course-related screening.
Digital Video Editing
Digital video editing may be needed by faculty and students for the purposes of study and research. Digital Humanities Center, 305 Butler Library, has six Macintosh stations equipped with a relevant suite of tools, including FinalCut Pro, iMovie, Final Draft, Sound Track Pro, DVDStudio Pro, Avid Media Composer, and Podcast Capture in support of learning and research. Reservation of a machine may be made by contacting (212) 854-7547, dhc@library.columbia.edu.
