Japanese Studies Research Guide: Temporary Locations
Locations
Temporary Closure: May 2023-January 2024 (September 5, 2023) webpage also provides information about access to Starr Library collections. Please check the library website, blog, etc. for the most recent updates at https://library.columbia.edu/libraries/eastasian.html.
<C.V. Starr East Asian Library Bookstacks and Collections>
- East Asian Reference (Located at Avery Library): Selected reference collection titles. In-Library use only.
- Avery Reserves (Non-Circulating): Course reserve
- East Asian (Temporary Storage): Other books/journals including Reference Titles from Starr Library. Submit a Pick-up Request. Delivered to Butler Circulation Desk.
Reference Collection Titles retrieved from Temporary Storage are in-library use only. Unfortunately, Location section will not tell you which titles are in Reference Collection. If you suspect it from the keyword such as 目録, 辞書, 事典, etc. in title, add "eax,ref" to your search query. If you still see the title, it means that it is a reference collection title.
Folio and Oversize Material Collection in Skyroom doesn't circulate, either. Please use them in Butler Library.
- Butler Reserves, East Asian (Temporary Storage): Books returned after C.V. Starr East Asian Library temporary closure. Use Pick-up request link for paging.
- Special Collections: Special Collections have moved to offsite storage as well. Please read the Appointment Procedure on the Special Collections website carefully to submit your requests and make an appointment.
<Offisite Collection>
- Offsite Storage: Delivery within 2 business days. You can select a Pick-up location.
To retrieve and page resources from different storage areas, please check the Location section in detail or bibliographic record display screen and use the link under Requests.
Update: 10/5/2023